We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with no parking!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl's Key West

Save Saved
You added Pearl's Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl's Key West
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Rainbow Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with no parking!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice place to stay. Good location, good customer service. Brenda at the Bar makes good drinks. Pool in courtyard is a nice addition. One major draw back. Had to park across town in a parking garage for $20/night. Hotel has ZERO parking available. They tell you to park at he meters (which have to be fer every 10 hours (at $2/hour). Consider this expense/inconvenience when making your hotel reservation. Hotel should consider arranging parking accommodations with a neighboring business/garage.

Room Tip: Small rooms, but very suitable for Key West
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl's Key West, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. Yes, our parking is very limited. Luckily, our guests find parking on the residential streets to the east of us, which are free spaces for as long as you like. We are sorry you were unable to find parking there. We hope you will consider Pearl's again the next time you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    112
    53
    40
    25
See reviews for
7
271
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have been to Key West many times, as it is a close drive from my home in Miami Beach, but this is the first time I have stayed in a hotel in Old Town. When we arrived, our host Jill gave us a tour of the property and told us some interesting history it. She and everybody else were super-nice during our stay. Although I only booked one day prior, we got a fabulous large room with porch access in the cigar-factory part (main building) of the hotel overlooking the swimming pool. (I've read negative reviews on here about the "old" style of the rooms and bathrooms--please! Go stay in a family-style, boring, corporate chain hotel if you want something like everywhere else.)

I am not sure how the other rooms are, but ours was full of character, spacious, and much better than I was expecting for the low price we paid (about $120 for one night.) The bed itself was comfortable and roomy. The only issue we encountered was with the A/C, and a friendly service call took care of that--even at midnight. We were allowed an extra hour at checkout for the inconvenience. I did not know prior that Pearl's was a predominately lesbian guesthouse, but we (2 gay men) did not encounter any issues and found our stay to be very welcoming, relaxing and pleasant. Pearl's exceeded our expectations. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl's Key West, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property. Since your in Miami we expect to see you boys down here more often!! We hope you'll return to Pearl's next time you're in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First time stay at Pearl's and loved it!! Staff was extremely nice and helpful. The pool / patio area is very tropical with beautiful magnolia tree and very nice landscaping. Loved relaxing in the pool with the great floats. I appreciated that this was an adult only hotel. Room was a little small and parking was limited, but the location is great. Who wants to be in the room when in Key West especailly when there is such a great pool area? Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl's Key West, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property. We hope you will stay with us again when you are next in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

"Do you realise you have booked us into a gay hotel?" said my wife ... I had been concentrating on the on street car charges! As a straight couple we were made very welcome and the hotel is lovely - beautifully decorated and very homely. And lots of free parking nearby!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl's Key West, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review of our property!! I had to laugh when I read it. We are not exactly a gay hotel, but at one time we were and a lot of our guests and employees still are. The important thing for us is that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will spend some time with us again when you are next in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights. The hotel is clean, nice swimming pool and bar. There are beautiful rooms facing the pool, however we have been placed in the studio facing the main street so it was obviously a bit noisy. The staff is friendly and the facilities not particularly new but nice as well. Negative aspects: there is no parking, the beach is far away (there is a small and ugly beach just two blocks away but the only proper beach is in the Natural park 15 minutes by bike) and the breakfast a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl's Key West, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. Your input is so helpful in making our guests' stay more enjoyable. We hope you will come and see us again when you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights here. Staff was always friendly. Room was small, but clean. (didnt spend much time in room anyway) The property is nice and our room location was upstairs over looking the pool and was nice and quite. They entire property could definitely use a facelift and rooms could be updated. It definitely was a good value for the area and I thought the location was great (close to Duvalls shops and restaurants, southernmost point), but in a quiet location. Had breakfast here one day and it was pretty good. Parking at the place is very limited but there is street parking within a block, and we always found a spot. Drinks at the bar were mediocre. Ordered off their drink menu and the bartender had to look at the menu in order to make it. I would think at a minimum the bartender should know how to make what's on the menu. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if ever in Key West!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl's Key West, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse on Tripadvisor...your input is always helpful in making our guests' stay more enjoyable. I think we change our drink specials so much the bartenders have to learn new recipes too quickly! We hope you will spend some time with us again the nest time you visit Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited pearls a few weeks ago. As we were just visiting key west for a few days we checked into a hotel for our first night. The day after arrival learning about pearls we thought we'd go check it out , with the view of perhaps booking in for a few days if we liked the place. We found the place easily enough it's close enough to duval st and some interesting points of interest. We followed the signs at the side of the property to get into the bar at pearls- from the outset it seemed really nice, secluded - a real nice place to just sit and be. Unfortunately our first impressions were quickly quashed and not by anything other than the bar staff or specifically Brenda! Oh my god ! The rudest individual I have ever come across in the hospitality industry . She could have not been more unwelcoming, unhelpful and just downright rude if she tried. What should have been a pleasant evening was totally destroyed by this person and her attitude. After one drink we left , on our way out we met a lovely couple who had just checked in, chatting briefly they described their room, their check in experience , all i might add which were positive - their only complaint was again the lovely brenda! To the owners of pearls, please take the time to review my comments and then read through the other comments re Brenda- and then please make a decision for your business and send her on a customer service course. You have a beautiful property full of promise but will lose business if this issue is not adressed

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl's Key West, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of our property on Trip Advisor. We regret you had such a terrible experience with Brenda. Something we will look into, as the bar is the center of the social scene here at Pearl's and everyone should be comfortable and well taken care of! We hope you will consider visiting us again when you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pearl's Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl's Key West

Address: 525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Rainbow Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pearl's Key West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just off Duval and two blocks from the ocean, award-winning Pearl’s Key West provides guesthouse ambiance and resort amenities. Our collection of historic buildings amid lush landscaping offers 38 rooms and suites (all with private bath), 2 pools, 2 spas, free wireless internet, Pearl’s Patio bar and grill, and The Strand restaurant serving complimentary breakfast every day. It’s not cookie-cutter. It’s historic, a little funky, and all-welcoming. It’s what makes Key West Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pearl's Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl`s Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl's Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.