We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, so-so rooms and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl's Key West

Save Saved
You added Pearl's Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl's Key West
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Rainbow Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, so-so rooms and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We chose Pearls because of a nice ad in Dameron's made it seam it was a good gay resort. Well...it was mostly straight when we were there. While I have no issue with straight people, I was REALLY hoping for a gay resort. I agree with other reviewers that the pricing was a bit high for the shape of rooms/beds and the service. Our bed's mattress was worn out making the bed way too soft. On the positive the location was fantastic and there are 2 heated pools and 2 hot tubs. Breakfast was not included and semi pricey. They should include breakfast with the rates they are charging.

Room Tip: Choose room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    108
    52
    39
    25
See reviews for
7
275
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First of all, I am pretty easy to impress. I love vacations and tourist areas and generally give every hotel I stay at, at least an average rating unless it is really really bad. Ironically, the three worst reviews I have ever written all took place in the Florida Keys. This trip, it was right here at Pearl's Key West. I have never ever been talked to the way someone by the name of Simona (sp?) treated me upon my arrival. I entered alone while my husband tried to figure out where to park and she was nothing but rude, cold, and condescending. I have never felt so unwelcome at a hotel, especially in such a hardcore tourist destination. Her attitude was all about the parking situation. I asked nicely where he is supposed to park and if they validate. She looked at me like I was the dumbest person alive and said,"Didn't you read our website??" I said,"Yes, I did, but it doesn't hurt to ask..." I wanted nothing more than to be across the street at the Southernmost Hotel where we stayed last time, but it was booked when I made reservations several months ago. In any case, I was so turned off to this property right away and to make matters worse, we were put on third floor. I have a knee injury so those super steep steps really sucked, and there was no AC in our room. It was very warm up there. Also, if you are tall, don't stay on third floor, my husband couldn't stand up all the way due to the slanted ceiling. I will say some positive things were the hot tub and heated pool. No one was ever in either of them so it felt like we had it to ourselves. One night there were some couples in the hot tub and we ended up becoming friends. The bar tender was very nice to us, but I could not get passed how rudely I was treated upon my arrival. As we spoke about this to waiters, bar tenders, and other travelers that night, it turns out this hotel was known for only liking women and discriminating married couples and men...I know they say they are "straight friendly"...but I could not help but wonder if I was treated rudely because of my sexual orientation. I am hoping that didn't have anything to do with it, but the rumor around the island is that it did. I don't think I would stay here again,, the shower was filthy with mold and everything! The entire room felt like it had a layer of dirt on it...but the location is excellent if you want to be in the old town area. We walked everywhere. Even to Fort Zachary Taylor. After I had a few drinks and got over the whole check in thing, it ended up being just fine...just don't stay here if you can't easily do steep steps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first and only trip to Pearls. It was located in a quiet end of Duval street and was convenient to several attractions. The verbage on their website "Bed and Breakfast rate" lead me to believe it was a B&B, which we love to stay in. No it wasn't. Breakfast was not included and when you spend almost $270 per night, that was a disappointment. I should have read the reviews a little closer because some complained about the size of the room. Boy were they right! Only room for a dresser, queen bed and 1 night stand. Not that we expected more room but between that and the small (and I mean small) bathroom you felt a little claustrophobic. The bathroom had a very small shower (modular shower with a shower liner not a curtain) and a pedestal sink. One person at a time bathroom. Our room was up against a fence so the room was very dark at all times of the day. Walls were pretty thin and had to listen to the guy next door snore all night! On the plus side, the pool area was very nice. As were the 2 hot tubs. Folks that worked there were very nice and helpful. But that being said, we were very disappointed in the overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would give this place a higher review except for a few things. The first and most would be Brenda the bartender at Pearls Patio. She was horrible, rude, and overall unfriendly! My friend and I were there for a friends wedding I think she thought we were spring breakers (we are 27 & 30) or something because she was so rude to us. Mind you we were never drunk while at her bar and were overly polite to see if she would change (she didn't). Other then that the breakfast was amazing and the male bartender the first day we were there was fantastic! Rooms were a little run down but the grounds made up for it. Overall I would suggest this place most of the staff was friendly, the grounds were well kept, and location was pretty good.

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't on the top floor it's in an old house so it's like an attic. I am 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a beautiful resort with very friendly staff and in the perfect location. Although we were expecting more lesbians we discovered that the resort is welcome to all adults. This was not a problem for us because we knew that we were in a safe welcoming environment and well protected by the staff. We would stay at Pearls again and highly recommend it to any adult that is not homophopic.

Room Tip: The economy rooms are very small with a tilted ceiling. If this is a problem do not stay in the econ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first time to Key West and we enjoyed staying at Pearls. It is located very conveniently within walking distance of many attractions such as the Hemingway House, the Southernmost Point and Fort Zachary State Park and beach. We could also walk to the restaurants and bars on Duval St. Our room at Pearls was small with a slanted ceiling and we had to walk up three flights of stairs to get to it but it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed Happy Hour at their bar. They have a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch but with so many other restaurants around the corner we never got around to eating there. It is not a luxury B & B but we had fun and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Let them know if you can't climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We did not stay at Pearls, but some friends of ours did. We joined them for breakfast the first morning. It was wonderful. We ate there the next two mornings, even after our friends had checked out and gone home. The prices are good and the food is excellent. If you are in Key West... this is the best place for breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pearl's Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl's Key West

Address: 525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Rainbow Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pearl's Key West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just off Duval and two blocks from the ocean, award-winning Pearl’s Key West provides guesthouse ambiance and resort amenities. Our collection of historic buildings amid lush landscaping offers 38 rooms and suites (all with private bath), 2 pools, 2 spas, free wireless internet, Pearl’s Patio bar and grill, and The Strand restaurant serving complimentary breakfast every day. It’s not cookie-cutter. It’s historic, a little funky, and all-welcoming. It’s what makes Key West Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pearl's Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl`s Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl's Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.