We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southernmost Inn to your Saves list
Southernmost Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special Promo
Ranked #69 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. The 2 pools, 2 hot tubs and the patio bar all added to the excellent beds and quality food available at Pearl's. The beds were very comfortable and everything was clean and the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms while at Pearl's, one a top notch room with a King and kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    126
    61
    42
    27
See reviews for
10
302
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location is good, walking distance to a lot. However, I did not like the following: website l used leads you to believe that breakfast is included. Is not. Blinds did not function in a room making balcony almost unusable. When I asked for blankets (the room was very cold), I was told that they RUN OUT OF BLANKETS. The towels in the bathroom were not washed. Stains from mascara and other make up were clearly evident. Disgusting. High price should come with great service and clean facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at pearls for our 10 year anniversary. We had the best time and had a blast just hanging out at the hotel more than we did walking the streets of duval. Great atmosphere around the pool and patio bar area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I caveat this review with the fact that I have not stayed anywhere else in Key West. This was my one and only overnight in Key West. First off the staff were great during check in/out as that was my only interaction with them. The tiny pool and poolside music seemed nice but I didn't spend any time there. What you are paying for is location. It is at the top of Duval street with cafe's, bar's and restaurants very close by. You are only a block or so away from the Southern most point of the USA which seems to be a bit of a tourist spot for photo's etc. The issue I had is the room and the bed. The room was very dated and worn out. The bathroom is tiny and past it's prime. I typically like staying in B&B or Inn type places as they have more character and am willing to let a lot go. I doesn't have to be modern just clean and functional.

There are lots of places to stay in Key West and I will try something else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from Key West. We enjoyed our stay at Pearls. The room (as mentioned in other posts) was basic but enough. The room and all areas of the B&B were clean. Decent work out room. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Had the breakfast plan. It really was a good deal and very tasty. Two suggestions for Pearls. One is to update your airconditioners. The one in our room worked but is was so loud that it was distracting. And, get rid of the carpet in the rooms that used to be the motel. They are dated. Put tile down and it would make the rooms appear larger and easier to clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pearl's just after New Years and were all-around very impressed. Our room happened to be right on United Street and it got a bit noisy at times (especially when a loud trash truck woke us up at 3am one night!), but the B&B itself was really great. The rooms are basic, no more or less than you really need, but the breakfast is the perfect start to the day. Coffee, great food, juices, a great selection of foods... The staff is so helpful and accomodating! And just a block or two from the Southernmost Point and so convenient to Duval.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been vacationing at Pearl's since the 1980's (Ellie's Nest days). This recent trip was my first since the transition to straight people. While I understand the economic reasons for this, it was still quite a shock. The ambiance is gone. We met several very nice straight couples, but there were some that were very unfriendly and acted like we were infringing on their territory just be being there. I've always loved vacationing at Pearl's but not sure about future plans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Inn

Address: 525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southernmost Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Key West charm and hospitality set in a historic cigar factory in old town. Southernmost Inn is only a few steps from the southernmost point in the US and the ocean. Our guests enjoy free WiFi, 2 pools, a jacuzzi, free continental breakfast and a full bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl`s Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.