We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Inn

Save Saved
You added Southernmost Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southernmost Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special Promo
Ranked #69 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
central NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from Key West. We enjoyed our stay at Pearls. The room (as mentioned in other posts) was basic but enough. The room and all areas of the B&B were clean. Decent work out room. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Had the breakfast plan. It really was a good deal and very tasty. Two suggestions for Pearls. One is to update your airconditioners. The one in our room worked but is was so loud that it was distracting. And, get rid of the carpet in the rooms that used to be the motel. They are dated. Put tile down and it would make the rooms appear larger and easier to clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    125
    61
    41
    27
See reviews for
10
301
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pearl's just after New Years and were all-around very impressed. Our room happened to be right on United Street and it got a bit noisy at times (especially when a loud trash truck woke us up at 3am one night!), but the B&B itself was really great. The rooms are basic, no more or less than you really need, but the breakfast is the perfect start to the day. Coffee, great food, juices, a great selection of foods... The staff is so helpful and accomodating! And just a block or two from the Southernmost Point and so convenient to Duval.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been vacationing at Pearl's since the 1980's (Ellie's Nest days). This recent trip was my first since the transition to straight people. While I understand the economic reasons for this, it was still quite a shock. The ambiance is gone. We met several very nice straight couples, but there were some that were very unfriendly and acted like we were infringing on their territory just be being there. I've always loved vacationing at Pearl's but not sure about future plans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel looked very promising when I read the reviews. Yes, the location was great, staff was nice etc, but the rooms, oh boy... The room was so tiny for 2 adults it almost made us laugh. I mean it was too small to fit a small table to put your laptop on. Last time we stayed in a different hotel we had a 2-bedroom room with an own kitchen for the same price. If the price was under 100 dollars, I wouldn't complain, for this price I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Pearls for 2 nights... probably the worst 2 nights we have ever spent anywhere. Basic necessities, such as, a comfortable room and a/c fell by the waist side. We woke up numerous times in the middle of the night sweating because the a/c unit, which is controlled via 1 zone unit, shared among the rest of the floor, was either turned up to 78 degrees or just not working well. We were on the 3rd floor, which made it worse because heat rises. The room we had was less than inviting, looked and felt more like an attic space. There were a number of times where we hit our heads on the slanted ceiling
( we are both 5"4) a first for everything I guess. The mattress seemed old and worn, we both kept falling into the center.
Overall, I would NEVER return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had 4 couples in our group. All bikers. We were welcomed and treated with utmost kindness and courtesy. We really enjoyed the staff and the bar. Everyone there was accommodating and friendly to the point we looked forward to just going back to Pearl's to hang out rather than deal with the madness of Duval Street.

The room was fine. Plenty spacious for us. My wife thought the bed was perfect. Me, not so much. I thought it was mediocre at best. BUT ... Pearl's is located in a quiet area which was well appreciated when it came time to catch up on a little rest.

The pools were clean and well cared for. We spent one heck of a night in one of them! Out of 8 of us, it was a unanimous decision. It's Pearl's every time we go to the keys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I visited Key West for the 1st time, end of December 2012. We chose Pearls because the price was decent for a guest house in down town. I loved how it was tucked away in a quiter area, the staff was wonderful even made friends with the pool guy Brian! Super clean, loved having a bar right there. Frenchies Cafe next door, was our favorite. We plan to come back and stay at Pearls, not even searching for another guest house!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Inn

Address: 525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southernmost Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Key West charm and hospitality set in a historic cigar factory in old town. Southernmost Inn is only a few steps from the southernmost point in the US and the ocean. Our guests enjoy free WiFi, 2 pools, a jacuzzi, free continental breakfast and a full bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Southernmost Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl`s Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.