We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southernmost Inn to your Saves list
Southernmost Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special Promo
Ranked #68 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Dallas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pearl's just after New Years and were all-around very impressed. Our room happened to be right on United Street and it got a bit noisy at times (especially when a loud trash truck woke us up at 3am one night!), but the B&B itself was really great. The rooms are basic, no more or less than you really need, but the breakfast is the perfect start to the day. Coffee, great food, juices, a great selection of foods... The staff is so helpful and accomodating! And just a block or two from the Southernmost Point and so convenient to Duval.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    126
    61
    42
    27
See reviews for
10
302
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been vacationing at Pearl's since the 1980's (Ellie's Nest days). This recent trip was my first since the transition to straight people. While I understand the economic reasons for this, it was still quite a shock. The ambiance is gone. We met several very nice straight couples, but there were some that were very unfriendly and acted like we were infringing on their territory just be being there. I've always loved vacationing at Pearl's but not sure about future plans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel looked very promising when I read the reviews. Yes, the location was great, staff was nice etc, but the rooms, oh boy... The room was so tiny for 2 adults it almost made us laugh. I mean it was too small to fit a small table to put your laptop on. Last time we stayed in a different hotel we had a 2-bedroom room with an own kitchen for the same price. If the price was under 100 dollars, I wouldn't complain, for this price I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Pearls for 2 nights... probably the worst 2 nights we have ever spent anywhere. Basic necessities, such as, a comfortable room and a/c fell by the waist side. We woke up numerous times in the middle of the night sweating because the a/c unit, which is controlled via 1 zone unit, shared among the rest of the floor, was either turned up to 78 degrees or just not working well. We were on the 3rd floor, which made it worse because heat rises. The room we had was less than inviting, looked and felt more like an attic space. There were a number of times where we hit our heads on the slanted ceiling
( we are both 5"4) a first for everything I guess. The mattress seemed old and worn, we both kept falling into the center.
Overall, I would NEVER return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had 4 couples in our group. All bikers. We were welcomed and treated with utmost kindness and courtesy. We really enjoyed the staff and the bar. Everyone there was accommodating and friendly to the point we looked forward to just going back to Pearl's to hang out rather than deal with the madness of Duval Street.

The room was fine. Plenty spacious for us. My wife thought the bed was perfect. Me, not so much. I thought it was mediocre at best. BUT ... Pearl's is located in a quiet area which was well appreciated when it came time to catch up on a little rest.

The pools were clean and well cared for. We spent one heck of a night in one of them! Out of 8 of us, it was a unanimous decision. It's Pearl's every time we go to the keys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I visited Key West for the 1st time, end of December 2012. We chose Pearls because the price was decent for a guest house in down town. I loved how it was tucked away in a quiter area, the staff was wonderful even made friends with the pool guy Brian! Super clean, loved having a bar right there. Frenchies Cafe next door, was our favorite. We plan to come back and stay at Pearls, not even searching for another guest house!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I found this on Expedia's B&B listings and cross referenced it with TripAdvisor's reviews, as I always do. Some of the reviews are a bit silly, I think "joyless" is ridiculous. The front desk people tend to be serious in their effort to be efficient. But they are very helpful dealing with issues we had, calling cabs, storing luggage, making change, etc. Our breakfast (great) was included. For joy visit the pool and the bar. Here friendly and happy is everyone's mantra. Formerly a women only spot, it is gay friendly but straight friendly too for couples like me (guy) and my wife (gal). There were also two kitchens for use by guests at either end of the property and a coin operated washer and dryer! Rooms are a bit small, bed a bit soft but other than that a really, really nice place at the quiet end of town 2 blocks from the southern most point in the US.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Inn

Address: 525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southernmost Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Key West charm and hospitality set in a historic cigar factory in old town. Southernmost Inn is only a few steps from the southernmost point in the US and the ocean. Our guests enjoy free WiFi, 2 pools, a jacuzzi, free continental breakfast and a full bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl`s Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;