We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grunts

Grunts
409 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-8280
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A beautiful brick courtyard and relaxed surroundings with bamboo and palm trees. Located in old town but it feels like miles away. Wifi available.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I saw great reviews for this restaurant on trip advisor so I was determined to eat here for my Key West visit. I was not disappointed! It was a little pricey and we were not extremely hungry so my mom and I shared the lobster mac and cheese and shrimp scampi apps. They were to die for. I literally licked my plate clean. I will go here every time I visit Key West!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    134
    33
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Totally pleasing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Nicely spaced outdoor tables. Friendly and attentive server. Appetizer fish tacos more than big enough for a meal. A particularly light and delicate Key lime pie for dessert. They only serve beer and wine which is a shock in a town where every business serves hard liquor. It appears everything is grilled outdoors. Call to confirm hours as they are a bit "flexible."

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fab food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We made a note of this restaurant prior to our trip to Key West, based on trip advisor reviews. We tried to visit the first night we arrived, but they do not serve dinner on a Monday - worth noting!
However, we did visit the following night and loved it. It was a really cold and breezy night (coldest recorded since the 60's for the time of year apparantley!) but on arrival we were offered fleece blankets to keep warm which worked a treat. We shared the lobster mac and cheese as a starter, which was really good, and then both had fish dishes which the waiter had recommended - and we're both excellent. We were really full, but couldn't not try the whiskey soaked bread pudding - really pleased we did, it was wonderful.
We went back for a second dinner during our stay, and food again was amazing. That was a much warmer night post, and they had a band on in the bar which made it even better!
Definitely recommended, best meals that we had in Key West, very chilled and lovely place for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They Think of Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Key West has a lot of places to choose from, but up at the north end of Duval, some of them can be very tourista. This place is on Caroline St at the corner of Whitehead, so a few steps off the beaten path. It is perfect before going to the Waterfront Theater, or after celebrating sunset at Mallory Square. And it is also perfect for a relaxing dinner on its own.

Grunts has a long-established indoor bar, and this year, it has added a new dinner service in its lovely outdoor garden. The garden tables are nicely spaced, so it is not at all noisy. The palms are beautifully lit. The music adds to the relaxing and charming tropical atmosphere. The wine list is well-curated and the food is delicious: we have eaten here 3 times already! The Lobster Mac & Cheese and the Fish Tacos are to die for. The Key Lime pie is among the very best we have ever had.

And, for Key West, it as been chilly here this March. So on cool evenings, they provide fleece blankets at the tables! You don't even need to ask. They think of everything!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a great find in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Based on reviews we read in tripadvisor we went to Grunts. We were not disappointed. Just off Duval Street, easy to find. Beautiful outdoor seating and a fun and lively band playing inside on a Friday night. We had snapper with shrimp and strip steak with lobster tail. All were so pleased with the entrees. Attentive service. We didn't want to leave, just say back and enjoyed the music and atmosphere. An ideal place to have dinner. Would definitely recommend and go back on next visit to Key West.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunts also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Grunts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grunts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.