We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally pleasing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grunts

Grunts
409 Caroline St, Key West, FL
3052948280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 356 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A beautiful brick courtyard, surrounded by bamboos trees and palm trees.Located in old town but it feels like miles away.Grunts specializes on fresh seafood and a relax atmosphere.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Totally pleasing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Nicely spaced outdoor tables. Friendly and attentive server. Appetizer fish tacos more than big enough for a meal. A particularly light and delicate Key lime pie for dessert. They only serve beer and wine which is a shock in a town where every business serves hard liquor. It appears everything is grilled outdoors. Call to confirm hours as they are a bit "flexible."

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    413
    115
    30
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fab food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We made a note of this restaurant prior to our trip to Key West, based on trip advisor reviews. We tried to visit the first night we arrived, but they do not serve dinner on a Monday - worth noting!
However, we did visit the following night and loved it. It was a really cold and breezy night (coldest recorded since the 60's for the time of year apparantley!) but on arrival we were offered fleece blankets to keep warm which worked a treat. We shared the lobster mac and cheese as a starter, which was really good, and then both had fish dishes which the waiter had recommended - and we're both excellent. We were really full, but couldn't not try the whiskey soaked bread pudding - really pleased we did, it was wonderful.
We went back for a second dinner during our stay, and food again was amazing. That was a much warmer night post, and they had a band on in the bar which made it even better!
Definitely recommended, best meals that we had in Key West, very chilled and lovely place for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They Think of Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Key West has a lot of places to choose from, but up at the north end of Duval, some of them can be very tourista. This place is on Caroline St at the corner of Whitehead, so a few steps off the beaten path. It is perfect before going to the Waterfront Theater, or after celebrating sunset at Mallory Square. And it is also perfect for a relaxing dinner on its own.

Grunts has a long-established indoor bar, and this year, it has added a new dinner service in its lovely outdoor garden. The garden tables are nicely spaced, so it is not at all noisy. The palms are beautifully lit. The music adds to the relaxing and charming tropical atmosphere. The wine list is well-curated and the food is delicious: we have eaten here 3 times already! The Lobster Mac & Cheese and the Fish Tacos are to die for. The Key Lime pie is among the very best we have ever had.

And, for Key West, it as been chilly here this March. So on cool evenings, they provide fleece blankets at the tables! You don't even need to ask. They think of everything!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a great find in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Based on reviews we read in tripadvisor we went to Grunts. We were not disappointed. Just off Duval Street, easy to find. Beautiful outdoor seating and a fun and lively band playing inside on a Friday night. We had snapper with shrimp and strip steak with lobster tail. All were so pleased with the entrees. Attentive service. We didn't want to leave, just say back and enjoyed the music and atmosphere. An ideal place to have dinner. Would definitely recommend and go back on next visit to Key West.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Close but not quite. Good not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Everything you have read about the Mac and Cheese is true. May be one of the best single bites ever. The rest of the meal was above average but not stellar. The conch ceviche is too much salad and not enough ceviche. The snapper and grouper were well prepared but would not call them memorable or taken to next level

Splitting main course for just extra $4 is great deal and more than enough. If temp under 65 it can be a bit uncomfortable outside which is only seating avail. Wine by glass list a bit boring and overpriced for the value

All in all worth a visit but you won't be blown away.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunts also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Grunts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grunts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.