We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grunts fine dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grunts

Grunts
409 Caroline St, Key West, FL
3052948280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 356 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A beautiful brick courtyard, surrounded by bamboos trees and palm trees.Located in old town but it feels like miles away.Grunts specializes on fresh seafood and a relax atmosphere.
Olmsted Twp., OH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grunts fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent ten days in Key West, ate at many a fine dining establishment. Grunts was down the street and across from Kelley's, which by the way, has one fine happy hour, but back to Grunts. The fish tacos with chimichiri sauce were the best I have had. The wine selection, minimal, but of good quality, wine and beer only. If you sit at the bar, it is cash only, sit at one of their outdoor tables, under the palms and tiki light and credit cards are accepted. Way cool vibe, mellow music and friendly wait staff and bartenders, felt at home and welcome. On my last night in KW I had the Grouper with a mango salsa, rice and zuchini done to perfection. I like off Duval st. eateries, this one is my favorite. The atmosphere on the patio is very tropical, the food is great and not over priced. Enjoy my friends, I shall return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    413
    115
    30
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The night before, a great local couple we met out and about told us to stop by this place, that it was their favorite! It's simple and hidden off the beaten path, right on Key West's historic Caroline ST! The food was amazing! The service was great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very simple, the food was great. The red snapper and shrimp and lobster macaroni and cheese was scrumptious! This place was sweet, romantic, and an all around good vibe, especially perfect for the occasion, my anniversary! The location could not be anymore convenient being right off of Duval and the staff was just lovely. I cannot wait to come back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing! Great Food &Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Off the beaten path... We come down every year and always stop by for a drink at the bar. Last year we had noticed that they were selling food. So this year we decided to eat as one of our group nights out. The atmosphere is quaint and romantic but great for groups of couples. The food was so flavorful and fresh, you can't go wrong. And the staff was on point and accommodating to our larger group. Great find! We will definitely be goin back

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sweet and funky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a drink at the bar inside, which is really a small house. Welcomed immediately. Great atmosphere, beautiful wood and funky decor with a working antique Coca-Cola machine. Wine and beer only, varied draught selections. Some locals ready to talk on our side. All very friendly. Had the avocado caprese salad and the bread pudding as a late bite. Do not miss either if these if you stop in. Incredibly delicious. Returned following night for dinner outside. Very pleased with waitstaff, especially server Tina, a conch. Dolphin and scallops dinner with Spanish rice was scrumptious. Had the bread pudding again. This is a must stop.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunts also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Grunts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grunts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.