We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grunts

Grunts
409 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-8280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 366 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A beautiful brick courtyard and relaxed surroundings with bamboo and palm trees. Located in old town but it feels like miles away. Wifi available.
Fraser, Colorado
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Nice patio setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Yummy mac and cheese! Loved the setting here on the patio. Food was good and nice wines. Had a burger but probably should have opted for seafood as the waitress recommended. Fish tacos were good but Hogfish's were better. This is a nice place and quiet just off of Duval.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    134
    33
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I've been to KW numerous times. My experience at Grunts is hands down the best I've ever had in KW. There are so many things "right" about his place, there's very little wrong. It's off Duval, the prices are reasonable, they have a beautiful patio space, the service is terrific, and the food is second to none. I have to mention that the Lobster mac and cheese is superb. The only down side (if at all) is that they only serve beer and wine - no liquor. i would highly recommend Grunts to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were sitting outside in the lovely, quiet garden, after waiting for a short time at the bar for a table.The owners offered a friendly and quick service.
And we had one of the best dinners ever in the US!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I literally stumbled upon Grunts as we were walking around on the side streets off Duval. Beautiful at night as you sit outside under the stars. Lobster Mac and Cheese was so good we ordered a second helping and came back the next night for more. Very friendly staff who allows you to enjoy your dinner without being pushy to turn tables. It is amazing the food this place is able to produce in such a small space. A must if you are in Key West.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Loved the decor and the setting. Came across this place just by wandering off the beaten path. Really friendly owners, neat collection of Key West and other trivia on display. Beer, wine and sangria only. Tried their grilled shrimp dish - delicious. Will definitely go back. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunts also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Grunts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grunts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.