We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TripAdvisor was right...great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaya Island Eats

Kaya Island Eats
3100 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-896-2450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 365 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Pacific Rim, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“TripAdvisor was right...great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food was great and the service, even better! We went for lunch, the place is tastefully decorated, open, airy and bright! Must have the Hula Girl Pie!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    61
    24
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Now On Our Can't Miss List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Scott Taylor brought his passion for food, service and a good time from his years as the manager at Blue Heaven to his own place. Eating great, interesting food in a great location (right off US 1, oceanside with terrific views) by people who care about and enjoy what they are doing, is tough to beat and well worth the drive to mile marker 15. Congratulations Scott and Gabriela. We travel to Key West regularly and have for many years. We have our favorites and do not easily or often add to our list of places to eat at least once every time there but we just did.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Food, Great Service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Located about 16 miles from Key West on the south side of US1, this restaurant, almost a year old, has continued to get better and better. The food is excellent with on-going new creations and presentations. The service is excellent and the ambience is delightful with views of the ocean on two sides. It is open for lunch and dinner - both are excellent choices. The owner is extremly knowledgeable, caring and deeply involved in all aspects of the restaurant. We are going back very soon!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudjoe Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Kaya for a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came back to Kaya after a year (which was too long) and it's just as good, if not better. The location is right on US1 oceanside south of Sugerloaf Key, and is a nicely decorated with covered parking.

The dining room is off to the side of the bar area, and both are tastefully decorated with a bit of Hawaiian flair. It can get pretty noisy inside, but this is slow season and the windows are open to soften the noise/echos


The service is friendly and good, from the moment you walk in, you know they are really trying to please you. The food is really good - great assortment of fish, pork, salads, pasta, etc. The do have a good wine list, drink menu, and even a children's menu.

We had a good time, the portions were good and everything was just as we ordered. It's a great place and heartily recommended

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best wings of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Just moved back to Key West for second time. I moved two minutes away so I figured why not try place. It's MM 15. I was blown away by food, service, and atmosphere! It is a must if you are visiting or local! Happy Hour 5-7! Owner was extremely polite and talked with every customer! It will get a lot of my business!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaya Island Eats also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Kaya Island Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaya Island Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.