We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Windward Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Windward Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 hotels in Key West
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice place in a quiet location but has its drawbacks. We chose not to rent a car. We walked from the airport to the resort--about a quarter mile. Easy to do with little luggage and no small children. Resort offers transport to a handful of locations for $5 per person. Hours are limited unless you reserve 24 hours in advance. Will drop you at grocery store but you must find a taxi to get you back. There are no grocery stores, liquor stores or convenience stores near the resort and just two dinner only restaurants next door. We ended up eating out more than usual. The walk to Duval St is pleasant but long. We enjoyed finding things along the way that we would have missed with a car or a hotel in town.
Staff was very pleasant but not terribly helpful. Concierge seemed to be new to island.
Not much in the way of activities at the resort and were glad we didn't have kids with us.
The resort is quite small but seemed bigger or at least more spread out than the one at Sunset. It had a great view of the ocean and a constant wind to keep us cool.
If I were to go back to Key West I think I'd try a different place but this wasn't bad.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    116
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
163
117
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Windward Pointe is a very relaxing condo-style hotel, with a great staff, pool, and beds to die for! Main problem is no real sit down restaurant on-site and it is quite a cab ride to town. spent abt 17 - 20 each way each time we had to go somewhere. Jets overhead slight distraction, as the key west airport is very close bye, but our room was overlooking the ocean and who could ask for more! We had no internet connectivity while here due to high interference the whole time. Staff had no problem connecting in the office though. I would return but without expectation of internet. Very nice pool and snack bar!

Room Tip: facing the ocean straight on and you will not get the setting sun across your balcony! No nice resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Overall the place was really nice. When we got to the facility the parking lot had a bunch of used condoms all over. I informed the staff and they took care of it right away. Then we got issued a dirty room and had to go back to the front desk to get re-issued a room. We had a few other minor issues but they were resolved right away. The endless pool was really nice and the property was quite nice. I loved the sitting areas and the iguanas everywhere. Since we had some negative experiences the hotel made up for it and gave us a gift card to the sister hotels restaurant the Shor which ended up having the best food and service we have ever experienced. Despite the little issues we came across we found the staff to be welcoming and nice, our room was great and we had a nice time in Key West. We would come back to this property although we would like to try the one closer in town next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We did love this place for our kids and the location however it is a house that we moved into for the weekend and as such, we left behind a bag. We left our room in impeccable order and notice the bag was left behind right away. We called the front desk who was "looking into it" and never called back, bag was never found. Very disspainted in the lack of effort to go to the room look for the very big bag left behind and communicate back to us. Our stuff was obviously stolen and for that, we were left disheartened :(

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We love this place!!!! The rooms are large and clean. The property is beautiful. The staff is professiona and engaging. The view is fantastic. The pool bar is a huge plus. It is a car ride/cab ride away from Duval, but it is so relaxing it is well worth it!!! It is also a great value for so a large place. I've paid the same for a TINY room on Duval. That ISN'T worth it. Fun for the WHOLE family!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Personally, I prefer the Hyatt Beach House (mostly because of the zero-entry pool), but Hyatt is also great! Nice pool, shuffleboard, overlooks Atlantic Ocean. 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo style rooms with full kitchen and w/d. Internet was down while we were here, except for in the lobby - very disappointing. Great view to see the jets practice and there's a small pool bar with food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed at several places in Key West. We own at the Hyatt Beach House, and this was our first time at Windward Pointe. We loved it! The view was gorgeous, the property is beautiful, and the pool is so much fun! We really enjoyed being on the quiet side of the island too, made it much more relaxing. We will go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Windward Pointe

Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Windward Pointe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Windward Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.