We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at a Reasonable Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hyatt Windward Pointe to your Saves list
Hyatt Windward Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxury at a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week between March 9-16 - Spring Break for many US and Canadian schools. The resort was great and the staff was very helpful. Best of all, even though the resort was full, it did not feel crowded even at this very busy time.

Best: The units at this resort are beautifully appointed. We had a two bedroom suite in building 2 on the top floor (5231). It was close to the front of the complex overlooking both the ocean and pool. Sitting out on the large balcony (table with 6 chairs) with coffee each morning was spectacular. The master bedroom has a king bed, large flat screen TV and beautiful full bathroom. The 2nd bedroom has a double or queen bed with adjacent bathroom. The kitchen is smallish but has a stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and fridge. Everything seemed quite new. The living room was spacious. All of the furniture was in excellent shape and in perfect working order. One of the great things was that we got daily service on our unit - beds made, bathrooms cleaned etc which in my experience is not typical at many condo-style resorts.

The pool and hot tub area was very nice, surrounded by palm trees and many tropical plants. The grounds are immaculate and kept that way through daily maintenance. There were half-price happy hour drinks every day at the pool bar. The lounge chairs were comfortable and plentiful. We had no trouble getting chairs in either sun or shade even when we rambled down at 11 am each morning.

The staff was very helpful. There was a weekly information session with complementary full breakfast to listen to tour groups describe jet skiing, snorkel, sunset trips. The resort offers discounted pricing (ie. $99 for a jet ski tour for 2 people vs normal $120-150 rate). Best of all there was never any pressure to buy. There was also a wine tasting one evening. One night when we had our dinner reservation canceled due to weather the desk staff scrambled to find us a reservation that night with a sunset view. All in all I was very impressed with the professionalism of the staff at this resort.

Considerations: The resort is next door to the airport so the noise of a few planes taking off might bother some during the day (no flights seem to occur between about 8pm-8am or so). It didn't bother us at all. In fact, one bonus is that you can walk to the resort from the airport in less than 10 minutes and save a few dollars on the shuttle or taxi ride.

Another consideration is that the resort is at the opposite end of the key from Duval St. and the harbour where many restaurants and shopping are located. The good thing about this is that the resort is quite peaceful (other than the odd plane taking off). However you will need to take a shuttle ($5 pp each way), taxi (~$20 each way) or drive to Duval St or go to a grocery store if desired. I would recommend either the shuttle or taxi. Parking can be very expensive (some lots are $20 for the day) if you can find it.

Room Tip: We had room 5231 (Building 2, third floor) which had lots of morning sun and overlooked the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    129
    50
    19
    7
See reviews for
205
135
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We own at this resort and have been coming for 1-2 weeks per year since it opened in 2002. The rooms and grounds are maintained at the highest levels, and the resort is beautiful. A 10 minute ride to the Duval St. craziness, and a short walk to Smathers Beach, if you choose to relax and enjoy the great weather, the pool at this resort provides all the sun and fun you need. The staff is very friendly and helpful in making restaurant reservations or arranging for cruises, watersports, etc. The concierge, Lynn, is especially helpful and will go to great lengths to make your stay enjoyable. We've stayed at other Key West resorts, and continue to come back here because we enjoy it so much. Some road and airport noise during the day, but very quiet after 6pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and had a fabulous time. The rooms were spacious, beautiful and had plenty of creature comforts. The rooms even had the added bonus of a washer and dryer with a full kitchen. The pool area was beautifully landscaped in a relaxing setting. We just loved the porch outside our room with a wonderful view of the ocean. We liked being away from the hustle and bustle of Duvall Street. The front desk was very helpful in finding a wheelchair for one of our family members. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I was so lucky that the regular hotels in town were sold out. I've previously stayed at the Sheraton and Westin but I have a new love. This property offered a quiet room with kitchen stainless steel appliances granite countertops washer dryer with soap furnished jetted tub.......balcony with telescope. What more can I say. The only down side for some will be that it's too far away to crawl home from duval street, but you can't have everything. I'll be staying here from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesrock
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very nice resort. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. A little far off the strip. Airplanes can be a little loud if you sleep in. The pool area is nice and well kept. Housekeeping did not clean the room daily, chips left on the floor for 2 days. The rooms were great for families or 2 couples.

Room Tip: Closest to the ocean has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our first trip to key west and first with our baby. I agree it is a little far out of town but for a couple with a young baby it was perfect as we needed quiet, a kitchen and separate rooms so we could have an evening while baby slept.

Rooms are great, view is lovely over the ocean.

Best tip: do the old town trolley tour (orange one). It is $29 pp and stops next door at the best western. You can ride on 2 consecutive days on this. The hyatt shuttle is £5pp each way so would have cost us $20pp per day to get down there anyway and with this we got a lovely tour.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very relaxed ambience somewhat marred by airport and road traffic. Quiet at night when these sounds diminish. Good ocean views and away from the hubbub of town but road repairs make the ride in somewhat difficult. Don't bother with the pool cafe food. Only restaurants nearbye (Benihana, Trattoria) open at 5pm. Gee, this isn't sounding very good, is it. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed and the staff is wonderful.

Room Tip: Maybe not road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.8 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
1.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Windward Pointe

Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Windward Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hyatt Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Windward Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.