We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Spacious Accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Windward Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Windward Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Clean and Spacious Accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Resort is all 2 bedroom condos. Most have view or partial view of the ocean (it is across the street) Very very clean grounds and units. Front desk staff are about the best we have ever experienced. Our unit was big and spacious and very modern-granite, stainless, flat screen TVs etc. Very nice sized balcony's on each unit with quality wicker furniture. Pool area is uncrowded and has good quality loungers. Snack bar by the pool is nice but pricey! Only a couple of negatives: Location is adjacent to the airport, so there is steady noise from planes coming and going. Also it has US1 running right in front so there is also heavy traffic noise. For a 5-star resort the wireless internet is horrible. Cuts in and out and sometimes non-existent. We spoke with an owner who said they have been promised and upgrade but no schedule for this. We did not bite on the sales presentation-weeks started at $35,000.......no thanks. There are 4 Hyatt properties in Key West and I think I would stay in the other 3 next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the end units with the circular balconies-these give you a little more room and bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    118
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
169
117
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Was heading back to Miami but decided to stay in Key West one more night to enjoy the town and stopped randomly here. It turned out to be the best hotel or resort i've ever stayed in. The receptionist was very friendly. The room (or should I say rooms) my wife and I stayed in was HUGE, well furnished and clean. It literally was like staying in a large condo or apartment. There were two bathrooms, two bedrooms, a kitchen and living area with a washer and dryer machine inside.The patio in our room faced the ocean and in the early morning it is gorgeous. I could've stayed on the patio for the entire day just reading and drinking coffee. The only drawback is the price. We checked in late at night and they graciously gave us the room for half price but it was still about $280 with taxes so if you're cost conscious look elsewhere. Also if you don't have a car it's pretty hard to get to attractions since it's in a more remote area of Key West and right near the airport but if you're looking for a quiet area this would be a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family was looking to take a vacation and decided upon Key West in January. With 4 adults, we were needing 2 rooms or 2 bedrooms at least. The Hyatt Hotel and Resort was offering a room at $500/night (needed 2) or Windward Pointe was $289 for a 2 bedroom with sofabed and full kitchen. Tough choice to make there...

The resort is located in the southeastern part of the island next to the airport. This resort is RIGHT NEXT TO the airport. Most taxi's charge $6/person so if you are able to carry everything, it is a 5 minute walk from the airport exit to the Hyatt front desk. Each staff member was nice and helpful, and talk to Lynn the concierge about planning activities. We were able to receive 20% off spa/food at the Hyatt Resort (note that massages have an additional 20% tip added on, so the fees you see is what you would pay with the tip inclusion). We also booked the ultimate adventure package with Fury through Lynn, and she was able to get us a 10% discount as well as a free sunset sail for any night you are in town. For around $450 total for 4 adults, we were able to parasail, jet ski, snorkel, eat good food and see an awesome sunset.

Now back to the resort. Windward Pointe exceeded my expectations when we walked in. You have a small guestroom with a queen bed and small LCD TV when you walk in. You have a nice kitchenette with stove / microwave / large fridge / dishwasher. Each unit also comes with a washer and dryer. The main living area has a large LCD tv with a BLU-RAY sound system. However (and this could maybe have been just our individual unit) but there was no HDMI chord and just regular colored ones so whatever blu-ray movies we brought were not the full HD picture. You then have the main master bathroom with a king size bed and it's own large LCD tv, a large soaking tub for 2 people and a separate shower area. Our unit was in great condition and clean and enjoyable and we loved spending evenings on the back deck with the fan going on overhead (it is a humid place all the time if you are not use to constant humidity).

The property itself looks great and each day we always saw grounds workers around the property. You have the infinity pool with separate hot tub that looks out over the Gulf, a sand volleyball court, Abbey Road for food/drinks by the pool, ping pong, shuffleboard, and one comfortable hammack. Even in January, the pool is warm so pack the bathing suit even if just for the pool and no other activities around the island.

All in all, we were very happy we booked with Windward Pointe and I was able to collect Hyatt points as well. Some things to quickly note in regards to other posts: we had spotty housekeeping service and sometimes it required us to go out to seek towels / toilet paper / trash bags. Although you can actually see the airport runaway and airplanes as they take off, there was limited flights during the day that you hardly noticed and none at all at night. Windward Pointe is located at the southeastern part of the island and the main tourist areas is in northwestern part of the island. You can either rent a car at the airport or use the shuttle ($5/person one way, has 5 scheduled times between the morning and late afternoon or you can schedule your own pickup if done outside of 24 hours). If you rent a car, there are 2 Publix's on US-1. However, as of this post, US-1 is only one direction as they work on it so you have to do a circle to get back if you go that direction.

Take a visit here, eat some key lime pie, and keep your eyes open in the trees or perhaps running across the pool area for some local natives...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. It has a great pool area‚ nice rooms, and very good service. However, it is in the middle of nowhere. The airpor is right nexted. Door meaning planes fly overhead a lot. Be warned, there I no where to et in the morning except a poolside shak selling questionable meals. The area is great for jogging though otherrs areas are fartherer from the airport and closer to the beach. The staff are great, always smiling, and vry helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We exchanged out timeshare to Hyatt Windward Pointe and had a great time. Resort is beautifully landscaped and rooms are clean and well equiped. Pool is heated and warm in December (when sea is cold). There is some aircraft noise during the day but not at night. Our sleep sofa was damaged and that made it difficult to pull out. Service is hit and miss for changing towels and emptying trash - if they appear don't ask them to come back as they wont. However these were minor points and did not detract from a great vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms have large balconies onto the pool area. There is also a low power telescope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We used our deeded week in November to spend an amazing, delightful time at Windward Pointe. As usual the resort is beautifully maintained. we were well treated. Our place was lovely. We enjoyed a laid back week. Used the shuttle service few times into town and was so convenient and $5 a person is reasonable. Makes for stress free visiting in downtown. Parking is either non exient or so expensive. So glad that shuttle service is an option. Thanks to a great staff and nice shuttle drivers. Awesome week! 2 great restaurants footsteps away beside Abbey road pool side cafe.

Room Tip: We were ocean front but noise from road annoying. I think one of the rooms that are set back maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a perfect family Thanksgiving week. We had 5 adults, and 3 kids, and the two 2 bedroom units were more than ample space. The rooms were both clean, modern and well furnished, and the kitchens were amply stocked with the necessities to cook and eat in.
The facilities are beautiful. Readers must keep in mind that this is NOT a full service resort, but with a large group like mine, the 10 minute trip to Publix for breakfast and lunch food is a great cost cutter anyway. The pool area is wonderful. Always enough lounges, so there isn't that horrible run at sunrise to claim chaise lounges with your towels. There were a lot of great family groups there for the week, so my kids had a terrific time making friends in the pool, and at the volleyball, ping pong, and shuffleboard areas (all complimentary). And we believe that the pool here is so much mover than the one at the 'mother ship' resort and spa in town-there's no comparison!
It's also worth mentioning the concierge service. Lynn in the front office is a great resource for recommending restaurants, activities, boat trips, fishing charters- you name it! And she can hook you up for a lot of these things with discounts!
This was our second Thanksgiving week in a row at Windward Pointe, and we must say the second time was even better than the first. We may have started a tradition that will last for a long time

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Windward Pointe

Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Windward Pointe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Windward Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;