We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Windward Pointe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Windward Pointe
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 hotels in Key West
Devon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great rooms and pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife, a family friend and I stayed here from 9 to 14 Oct 2012.
On first impressions the room was fantastic, later we discovered that the room, floor etc were not as clean as we would have wished for. We only had our towels changed and room service on the 3rd day.
The air con was very quiet and effective, the beds were fantastic, the best we had when in America.
The kitchen area was well equipped, but there was no kettle to boil water so it meant putting cups in the microwave. The Americans are coffee drinkers so there is a coffee maker but that will not heat water to boiling for the English cup of tea that my wife wanted.

The room had a lovely view over the pool and out to sea, there was a good balcony with a table and chairs, great for breakfast in the sun. A really nice touch was the telescope for us to use.

The pool area was perfect and nicely kept.

The Hotel is at least 4 miles from Key West centre so a car is required. The Hotel do run a complementary mini bus but its $5 per person each way so would mount up. A taxi is $20 into town so it's best to drive in and pay $10-$15 per day to park.

The worse thing about the Hotel is the noise from the airport. I love planes and have stayed at Hotels close to Airports before with no problems. But this airport not only operates the passenger jets but also lots of small single engine planes that operate trips etc. These little planes made more noise than any of the bigger jets and were a lot more frequent. Also there is a Navy base close by and each day fighter jets would scream overhead on training flights.

I think the Hyatt was very good but I would probably spend that little more to stay at the Hyatt Resort and Spa in Key West Centre which has no problems with the plane noise and you would not have to drive into town.

Room Tip: There is no Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    119
    39
    16
    7
See reviews for
155
117
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We traded our Boston Custom House for a week here in Key West. The Windward Pointe resort is clean, fairly new, has friendly staff and is a very nice place to stay. You'll hear complaints about the airport, and yes, it's a busy place. We're accustomed to it and it didn't bother us; as a matter of fact it was kinda fun watching the planes taking off from the runway just behind us. Navy jets from the base a little further north in Boca Chica fly by daily as well.
When we arrived, they moved us to a third floor room with a better view-- without us even asking. The amenities were very good with free Wi-Fi, a full kitchen, laundry facility, jacuzzi tub in room and a large patio/deck with table and chairs. Their outdoor pool was nice and there was a jacuzzi pool there too. Well kept grounds made it a pleasure. Although we had a car, the Old Town Trolley tour we took over a two-day period had a stop at the Best Western next door.
Also within walking distance were La Trattoria and Benihana's. If you have an opportunity to get here, by all means I would recommend it.

Room Tip: No restaurant associated with the resort except the pool bar/snack shack Abbey Road. Higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent a long weekend here in a two bedroom suite with a ocean view. The room was great, full kitchen, two bedrooms, master bath, jacuzzi tub, three tvs, super ocean view. lots of fancy tile and wood.

The infinity pool was warm and clean. They do have a snack/outside bar with a limited drink and food menu. Great front desk staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are looking to relax. We had 2 couples in a 2 bedroom and there was more than enough room.

There were maids by everyday to exchange towels ( This does not happen in most time shares so this was nice) and by mid week for a clean.

I think they should switch over to gas bbq.s, although I understand why they wanted to do big charcoal ones they are hard to manage and too hot to cook anything on and you have to wait to get them lit up.

This was a nice relaxing trip although key west is definitely a sleepy place if you are looking for a family vacation I would suggest Miami.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean we stayed in 5222 which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband, myself and another couple just spent a week at this wonderful resort. There are not many places you visit that look exactly like the photos.. This resort lives up to that and more. From the complimentary champagne on check in, your are treated like royality..The front desk is extremely helpful, housekeeping attentive to your needs. The location to us was a plus. Yes, transportation to Duval street is pricey, however, the peace and quiet away from Duval was worth it.. The pool area is amazing. The view is out of this world. the airport was a non issue. The units are well kept and stocked which made it nice for some great eat in dinners and lunches.. The staff will even fire up the grills for you to cook your dinner on!! We would return to this resort in a hearbeat!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Windward Pointe, probably as good as it gets in Key West but if you're use to Florida Panhandle Beaches, forget the Keys! The sea grass is never cleaned up and it spells terrible. I hope the Keys beaches are not our testiment to the GREAT BEACHES of Florida. Many of the Gulf Coast Beaches have issues of various kinds, as i have found in our travels over 30 years and i still come back to Panama City Beach and the whole Pan Handle east and west. It's a must see.

Room Tip: WE always want ocean front view, wasn't available, they said they hadn't been cleaned, we ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt Windward Pointe during the Key West Food and Wine Festival in January of this year. Our accomodations were a two bedroom condo style with a view of the ocean across the street. Even though it's located next to the airport the noise from the planes was not a factor because the condo was quite. There are two nice resturants within a very short walking distance of the property. We didn't need a rental car because the Hyatt runs a shuttle to downtown Key West approximately every 15 minutes and from 8:00 am to 11:00 pm. There is a five dollar charge for using the shuttle, but for us it was less expensive than a rental car and we were able to walk from the airport to the property. The condo was well appointed, clean, and comfortable. The staff at the property are very friendly and at your service. We had friends with us and this spacious condo was just right for us. We look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: When you reserve your room ask for a room with a full-view of the ocean otherwise you may get only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Windward Pointe

Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Windward Pointe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Windward Pointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.