We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Carribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bien

Bien
1000 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-517-6740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 345 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Latin, Fusion, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Carribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This little spot is located in the old Paradise Sandwich Shop space. I thought I would miss those huge sandwiches until we checked out Paseo. Execellent Carribbean food at very reasonable prices. Either eat in or take out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoxChapelTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't Let The Seating Shortage Stop You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This cute little restaurant has three tables and a large bench area outdoors as its only seating area, but the food is very good. I had the best corn on the cob I have ever had here. The scallops were delicious and you can choose how spicy you want your food prepared which was perfect for us since I love it spicy and my husband and daughter were not in the mood for burning mouths!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nistone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We Went Back For More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Paseo is only open Wednesday through Sunday. You order at the counter and can take away or eat at the tables outside. We first ate here on a Wednesday and came back the next day. I think that says a lot. I'd love to continue sampling the menu. We enjoyed the bowl of beans and rice with pork, the pork sandwich, the scallop sandwich, and the corn on the cob. Everything was muy delicioso.

Helpful?
Thank Summerfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Layers of Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Paseo came highly recommended at Trip Advisor and we sought it out when we visited Key West. It entailed a bit of a hike to get there but we were rewarded. Paseo offers food items you won't get anywhere else. However, unique dishes must taste good which is the most important. I had the Caribbean Wrap. Essentially a pulled pork burrito, each ingredient was herbed and spiced adding a layer of flavor into one harmonious whole. Overall, the effect was very West Indian style. My wife had the Scallop sandwich which she loved. We shared their grilled cob of corn.

A warning, we ordered way too much food. The portion sizes are way above ample. Sad to say but couples should share unless they are really big eaters.

As other reviews noted, seating is limited.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TervurenTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Seared scallop sandwich was amazing! Scallops tasted so fresh! Definitely must try! Great food! : )))

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lpaul76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bien also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Bien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing