We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Irish Comfort Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McConnell's Irish Pub

McConnell's Irish Pub
900 Duvall Street, Key West, FL 33040
305.296.0815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Basic Irish Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good place if you want a break from Key West seafood. We can't speak to the bar since we ate on the covered patio. Very pleasant since there was a shower that cooled things off . Good Irish comfort food like corned beef and cabbage, shepard's pie, and fish and chips in case you don't want that seaford break. We split a bowl of potato and leek soup that was top notch. Their pricing makes for a very good value. You won't leave hungry, that's for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    75
    27
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fish & Chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped into McConnell's for lunch on our last day in Key West. I had the Fish & Chips and my friend had the Corned Beef & Cabbage! Both were perfect! Service wasn’t all that good for a Friday afternoon, but the food more than made up for it. The place itself was very clean and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you like authentic Irish cuisine! Prices were reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice but unattentive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We actually stopped in twice for cocktails. On both occasions the bartenders were more interested in talking to other customers(which were not many) than serving a new one. The drinks were fine but I would anticipate that from a Irish bar. The female bartender that waited on us(thought she was an owner) seemed put out to wait on us and was so deeply involved in conversation she didn't notice us at the bar. She was also kind of short with us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A taste of the old sod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nothing better than a cool stop with a draft Harp on a ninety degree day. Spent time with owner/prop Jerry, and his Old English Sheepdog. A great hour on Duval. And a bartender with a sweet authentic brogue. What could be better!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stumbled upon this place after visiting the Butterfly Conservatory. It's on Duval, but not really on the main hang out. We visited twice. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly-especially the bartender from Ireland-I'm sorry I don't remember her name! We didn't eat either time, but the menu had numerous choices, including your typical Irish pub fare. They served my favorite drink I had the whole time I was in Key West-I believe it's a Key Lime Spritzer. It's made with Key Lime Vodka and Sprite and is absolutey amazing. If you like Irish whiskey, this is the place to go as they have a great variety. The prices were typical of Key West (cocktails and beers in the $4-$6ish range and food in the $10ish and up range). I will say (as with most of the places we visited in Key West) they pour a strong drink!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McConnell's Irish Pub also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to McConnell's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McConnell's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.