We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Tidy with lovely grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Westwinds Inn to your Saves list
Westwinds Inn
914 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Deepest Sussex
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Clean, Tidy with lovely grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This inn is well situated bout 10minutes walk from the action. We loved the gardens and having breakfast surrounded by them. Couple of small things, our room was small ,clean and inviting but as it was on the front was quite noisy the first night we were there. Also we found it hard to park, completely misunderstanding that there is garaging available nearby. We think the inn could make this option clearer. Nevertheless this is a good place to stay in Key West.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    105
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
40
179
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brunswick
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Historic inn 2 blocks from high-speed ferries to Dry Tortugas NP and Naples and 4 blocks from Duval St., off the high-traffic streets. Beautiful garden for daily breakfast and quiet reading, 2 pools, laundry facilities. Gen Mgr is very welcoming and helpful; nice staff. Property is older, but well kept.

The garden is colorful with lots of lush plantings and sheltered by palms -- perfect for getting away from it all.

My visit was with a small group tour from Road Scholar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Westwinds resort was a very nice place to stay. Rooms were small but clean. The pool / breakfast area was beautiful and relaxing. The location was close to the Express Ferry and close enough to Duval to make walking enjoyable. It was far enough away to be quiet at night but easily enough to get to all of the activity. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at end of jan. good location excellent room, clean and tidy. Staff helpful and continental breakfast very adequate. Would recommend as its far enough away from noise but easily accessible, near harbour restaurants and nice area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had 2 nights to soak up the Key West vibe after the amazing drive through the Florida Keys. There's no getting away from it, this place is expensive, but The Westwinds Inn was a nice place to stay, and only about a 5 minute walk to Duval St, where most of the action is.
There is no onsite parking, but the streets around the Inn are free to park on. (Make sure you are facing the same direction as the traffic on your side of the street-it's a State Law. Thanks to the guy on reception who spotted me parked the wrong way).
We had 2 comfortable single beds and had 2 good nights sleep. The room is best described as compact but met our needs. Flat screen HD tv in the room. Toilet/shower room were small but adequate. Had to shave at a sink in the bedroom though.
Breakfast was the usual basic continental buffet style but in a fantastic location by the pool and amongst the palm trees. Luckily it was undercover as there was a downpour on our second morning. The reception person kindly lent us an umbrella.
Key West is a fantastic place to visit with many great sights and food options. We had a beer on the quay at Mallory Square and walked to the other end of Duval St to the small pier at South Beach where we watched the birds diving for fish. Westwinds is a reasonably priced (for Key West) and pleasant option near the heart of the action with efficient and friendly staff on hand to assist.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Was in Key West for the 1/2 marathron, was able to back two nights. ( most places want 3 Night min on holiday weekend)
We had a deluxe king room, very quite, no street noise and it was right on Eaton St.
Heated pool was great, nice little breakfast with coffee, danish, bagels.
Clean and close to everything.
Will for sure stay again......alot of different room styles.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed our one-night stay. Our queen bed took up most of the space in our room, but since we spent most of our time away from the room, this worked. We soon discovered why other TA contributors advised that rooms toward the street should be avoided as it was impossible not to hear sirens, loud trucks, and a 6:30 a.m. garbage truck pickup from our street-facing room. Even so, we slept and enjoyed our stay. The setting was beautiful and a nice breakfast was provided in the pool area. The breakfast highlight, without question, was the serving of piping hot guava turnovers. Mmmmm. The lady at the reception desk was both pleasant and helpful. Parking is not available at the Inn, but can be found on nearby streets or at a nearby parking garage. A 10-15 minute walk will get you to the heart of Key West activities.

Room Tip: Expect rooms facing the street to be noisy. It is what it is . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Inn

Address: 914 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, tranquil compound, charming architecture, lush gardens - Historic seaport district of Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Westwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Hotel Key West
Key West Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Key West Fl
Key West West Winds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwinds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.