We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westwinds Inn to your Saves list
Westwinds Inn
914 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Cannes
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A cosy hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Convenient position, comfortable and friendly, we loved it. Good homemade breakfasts and helpful staff, plus a clean pleasant room. We found it quiet and relaxing and would definitely stay there again. The building has character and a small, cosy feel, plus we heard no traffic noise at night. Easy walking distance to the main shopping area and harbour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    113
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
41
190
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providenciales
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a very well kept hotel situated 10 min walk from Duval street and easy access to the water front, the room was small, but clean and offered all that you would need, the garden was a nice surprise and the two small pools hidden in the garden were clean and quiet. In all a great little place to stay, centrally located and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room or garden view, the rooms in the house can be a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This B&B?? Hotel?? Not sure what to call it, but it is exactly what we were looking for. It's within walking distance of all the fun on Duvall Street, yet tucked away and quiet (we did have a room in the back). The staff were friendly and helpful. There's a place to rent bikes right next door, but we brought our bikes from home. You can safely park your bikes inside the property's gate. Bikes are the way to go in Key West: you can get anywhere quite easily in a reasonable amount of time. We never used our car or wasted time looking for parking, but didn't walk ourselves to death either. Glad we stayed here and not in one of the pricier resorts, which are too removed from the fun, the sites, and the old Key West "feel”. This place isn't the Ritz, but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a comfortable, convenient place to stay while you enjoy all the historic town has to offer. It's also quite affordable considering the excellent location. Children under twelve are not allowed, so if you're looking for a quiet, ”kid-free” experience, this is it. Breakfast is pretty lame, but gets the job done, and the shady pool-side setting is lovely. Our room was clean, comfortable, roomy enough for two. We listened to another reviewer here who commented on the flimsy towels, and brought our own towels from home. Our bed seemed to be tilted to one side, but it was comfortable enough, so we chalked that up to ”part of the charm”. The in-window ac unit made us comfortable, and the mini fridge was nice to have. The only thing I really didn't like was the cold hard tile floor.

Apparently September isn't a great time to come to Key West. Many things are closed, including the bakery other reviewers were raving about!

I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and recommended it to young and young-at-heart couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage in the back. Room 204 looked the most private, but we didn't stay in that one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked a standard room being sure they would have given us a cottage ground floor but once there what a bad surprise: they gave us a dirty and very small room placed in the central building ( right above reception) .. AWFUL! A narrow room with small bed and smallest bathroom EVER full of ants! We asked for a switch and they accepted.. The cottage room honestly was a better and right in front if the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

After extensive research before our trip to Key West I decided on Westwinds Inn. I chose it because of the price and location and we could not have been happier. The room was large enough and clean with comfortable beds. The a/c was a little loud but not bad enough to make me complain. There are two pools: one heated, one not. The continental breakfast was more then enough to fill you up. It is walking distance to Duval st and the wharf to catch any tour boats you may be taking unlike other hotels at southernmost point. I really have nothing bad to say and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

For our first visit to Key West, we greatly appreciated a place to stay within walking distance of the old town areas. We had reserved queen bed rooms at a value rate, and were upgraded to pool side rooms at the same price. The staff people were very friendly and helpful. Having a pool to drop into at the end of a hot day of walking around Key West is real bonus. We were able to find free on street parking within two blocks in our mid-week stay. We plan to recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: If pool side is important, you can select from two small pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Okay I have worked at a few hotels Hampton Inn, Marriott, Hyatt, and a place called the Somerset Hills which was owned by the same company that owns Hotel Indigo. The Westinds Inn I have to say I am completely disappointed inn, I am on a road trip through out florida and found this place on line and decided to give Key West a look see, and booked them for two days. My arrival was fine the guy at the front desk was friendly. I got to my room and it was okay but nothing special it is small and for the price they are charging I really think they need to review it and charge less. THERE IS NO PARKING you have to park on the street ( which you don't find out until you get there.. so pack light ) When I entered the room I found it a bit LOW GRADE AND OFFENSIVE that an envelope is left out asking to tip the cleaning people. WHO NEVER CLEANED ONCE, but i figured its no big deal I am only here for two days, but to leave a envelope to expect a tip is just preposterous! I also FOUND HAIR IN MY BED which yes i know hair falls out and thats fine but after finding a rather large number of strand's I think the cleaning staff needs to be RETRAINED ON WHAT CLEAN MEANS. The BREAKFAST IS WORTHLESS, just store bought pastry items that might as well come from a gas station or a store brand bakery ( they dont even amount to stale 5 day old entenmann's or little debbys ) I pretty much felt like i could have gone to a gas station and got the same type of "breakfast" and even though its a "free breakfast" lets face it, its included in the price.

Room Tip: Just dont stay here I really wish I choose a Days Inn or even some cheap cheap place like a Travel L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Inn

Address: 914 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, tranquil compound, charming architecture, lush gardens - Historic seaport district of Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Hotel Key West
Key West Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Key West Fl
Key West West Winds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwinds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.