We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made it right with us.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Bayside Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Key West Bayside Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Key West Bayside Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3444 N Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Travelodge & Suites Key West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 41 hotels in Key West
Fremont, Ohio
1 review
“Made it right with us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I just have to say a big THANK YOU to Travelodge Corporation, even though we did not get the chance to stay at this location.
We made reservations for 4 nights (5 couples) at the Travelodge Key West right after New Years 2013.
There were some language issues with Travelodge nationwide reservations. Several days later when we looked at the confirmation email we discovered our reservations we not what we wanted. After contacting Travelodge they advised us they were sold out of the rooms we were looking at. Sue, in consumer services helped us and made the situating right with our group.
Thanks again for going above and beyond what we expected.

Room Tip: Check over the conformation as soon as you receive it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    108
    95
    37
    45
See reviews for
69
162
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Travelodge is about 3 miles from Duval Street in Key West and currently is suffering from extensive road works to the main road outside. The hotel is somewhat dated, but still provides good accommodation. All prices in Key West are expensive and the Travelodge is no different and it might pay to shop around for somewhere cheaper, including b&b's. We rented a suite at the hotel and it was very large - in fact probably the largest room that we have rented anywhere in the world. The 'free' breakfast provides a very basic continental meal with an additional option of waffles. However, 'Publix' supermarket is close by, and with a full kitchen in a suite, it is possible to cook meals as require. The swimming pool is nice and clean, albeit close to the road works, and it also has the facility of a hot jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Select a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed one night in January because family members had booked for a wedding on the beach followed by a cruise honeymoon.

The room was tired, musty ...a throwback to the 60's type layout when we traveled down to Florida and spent a couple of nights at motels on the way to our ultimate destinations in Clearwater or Treasure Island.

The bed (smallest double ever) was uncomfortable and sagging. The air conditioning was rattling and the room was freezing while on and stuffy when you turned off for a few minutes.

It was not convenient to the center of Duval Street -- a typical cab fare of $20 if you didn't want to drive for the evening. The one-way traffic had you going way out of your way if you did venture out.

My brother, a world traveler, was complaining about the accommodations. We had a good laugh about this one because he is notorioius for staying at places where livestock -- chickens, goats, etc., wander the hallways and main street is a dirt road.

After a wonderful wedding on the beach and a kiss to seal the ceremony, someone yelled out: "Get a room!" I handed him a wedding card and retorted: "Get a BETTER room." Everyone had a good laugh out of that one.

Thank goodness the accommodation was for one night. The next day we were booked at a beautiful, B&B, a five minute walk to Duval Street, and the kicker....it was only $30 more a night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We made a reservation here based on Trip Advisor recommendations. It was really expensive, but this is Key West. When we arrived the sign out front boasted that this Travelodge has the best ocean view in town, so we were enthused. However, when we got to the room we found that there was no view and it was a broom closet – the room measured about 12’ x 14’ and was stuffed with oversized furniture. Hardly enough room to turn around. We phoned the desk and were told that only the suites get ocean views and that would be much more expensive. It seems that there are only two types of rooms to choose from in this hotel – a suite that looks like an apartment, complete with a large kitchen and an upstairs loft, or a small, cramped room that is uncomfortable and dark.
The bottom of our window was about 6’ high, so we had no view. The room was clean, but was last redecorated in the 1980s and looked shabby (but not chic). We expect much more than this for $150 a night, and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a normal hotel room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in early Jan 2013 for vacation. Two adults, no children. Booked Hotwire so I didn't know where I was going until after I made a non refundable purchase. The travelodge was a safe, comfortable, place to live for about a week while I wandered the Keys and generally thawed out from Minnesota.

The first night I didn't get to check in until 4 am since my flight to Key West had to land in Miami...but the staff at the travelodge were just as friendly to me.

There is road construction going on on the road Roosevelt outside the property. I heard a tour guide say the Florida DOT is 6 months into a 2 year project. Anyway, right now the road outside of the hotel is a one way street which can make for some annoying times until you learn backroads and/or find the map showing construction routes.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Bayside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Bayside Inn & Suites

Address: 3444 N Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Travelodge & Suites Key West)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Key West Bayside Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Motor Inn with modern facilities; located across from Florida Bay, one mile from Key West EYW airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Key West Bayside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge And Suites Key West
Travelodge & Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Travelodge Hotel Key West
Travel Lodge Key West
Travelodge Key West
Key West Travel Lodge
Key West Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Bayside Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.