We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!! Wonderful relaxing honeymoon spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
The Gardens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #6 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!! Wonderful relaxing honeymoon spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My new husband and I stayed at The Gardens June 21-28 for our honeymoon!!! We had heard amazing things and they were all true!!!!

The rooms were fabulous and so comfy! Perfect for a relaxing vacation! The beds were huge and so comfortable. I seriously did not want to get out of bed in the morning.

The breakfast was wonderful! The fresh fruit and muffins and juice were a perfect light start to the day on Key West!

The staff were so wonderful and friendly and would do anything to help you out and make your stay better! Bartender Billy is fabulous! We did not get to go out on the boat with him but we for sure will next time we go! He always had wonderful dinner suggestions and made an amazing mojito!!

Kate was the sweetest person! and her place is amazing! We will for sure be going back there!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    98
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
35
862
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Gardens Hotel for a mini weekend getaway to Key West for our 2 year anniversary. The staff of the hotel was friendly, the hotel grounds relaxing and beautiful, the pool cozy and refreshing after a long day of walking in the sun, and the breakfast was great. Overall it was a wonderful stay but I think it was overpriced considering it is not a full-service hotel and only provides one meal (breakfast) for the money you spend. I would probably go back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is my second time staying at the Gardens Hotel and I recommend to eveyone traveling to Key West! We went to the Gardens for a week on our "Mini-Honeymoon" after our Wedding in Delray Beach. We stayed in the "Cottage" which is very quaint and private. Between the beautiful gardens, friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast every morning you feel you are in a tropical paradise. You can truly feel relaxed and away from the night life of Duval. The Gardens is in a perfect location on the Island, just 1 block off Duval and right in the middle of southernmost and the pier. This is a great place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

The Gardens Hotel is a well kept, beautiful hotel. The staff is very friendly. Upon arrival we got welcomed with a glas of champagne, which is always nice. The parking lot is really crampy, but it's free. The swimming pool is nice, but kind of small. Breakfast however is REALLY GOOD and is included in the room price! Our room was really nice decorated. Too bad they don't have elevators, because my suitcase was so damn heavy. But then again, an elevator would ruin the charm of the hotel. The location of the hotel is good, but I do recommend to rent a bike, not only to cruise around the island, but also to go to Mallory Square, because it's a 20 min. walk or so. Although we had a great stay at this hotel, I would not go back, just because it was way overpriced!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

From the moment you check in, the hotel feels so welcoming. The grounds are surprisingly spacious (land is such a premium in Key West), with private garden paths, swimming and sunning areas, and even a pen for the giant tortoises. Once behind the brick walls, the busy-ness of Duval Street really melts away. This was our first trip to Key West, so we were anxious to explore. The concierge made several excellent recommendations and arranged reservations for us. In the evenings, we would stroll through the gardens and had that truly tropical feeling that you don't necessarily experience in other parts of Key West. We had a garden room. It was a bit on the small side, but you really don't spend much time in the room. Although the hotel seemed quite full, you don't feel crowded out by the other guests. And the family pets completed the laid back and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

My wife and I have been forced to spend many months over our last several years apart due to our military service deployment schedules. The relaxation afforded by our week-long stay at The Gardens Hotel after her recent return from overseas definitely facilitated our ability to get reacquainted.

Our experience with the entire staff at The Gardens was nothing but wonderful. Everyone was extremely personable and happily give us their own personal recommendations on things to do and places to eat. None of which were poor choices!

We also had great interactions with several other guests, sharing travel stories and even having dinner with several other couples during our stay.

The Gardens Hotel is small and intimate, just what we were looking for. It was a bit pricey, but well worth the time we spent in Key West. We stayed in one of the upper Garden rooms, which we found quite nice. The only minor drawback to room was the noise created by walking on the hardwood floors, which definitely carries through to the other guest rooms. If you don't mind hearing other guests coming and going to their rooms or hearing other guests' bed bouncing off the adjoining wall, then you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed at The Gardens Hotel for 3 nights in late May. The staff are most welcoming and enthusiastically provided any info we needed, including booking us onto a day trip and supplying towels to take out. The grounds are wonderfully secluded and planted with a clean pool and ample sunbeds by the outdoor bar. Continental breakfast is much better than others I have had as it is served at your garden table and there are menu specials each morning. Our room was spacious and nicely traditionally decorated with all usual facilities and a well-stocked bathroom. WiFi was available at no charge and there is also a free PC in the residents' lounge for those handy research moments! The photos are an honest representation. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#30 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pier House Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 23 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.