We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will never want to leave once you reach the Gardens Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
The Gardens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #5 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“You will never want to leave once you reach the Gardens Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

My husband and I were married in Key West and spent the entire week at The Gardens. The hospitality was amazing, right down to the gardener who gave us a tour of the grounds and showed us the house tortoises, Thelma and Louise. The Gardens truly is an experience you will never forget and will crave again. It is conveniently located so that you are close to Duval Street and all the action, but set back just enough to provide peace and quiet. It is by far the best place we have ever stayed and the only hotel that would make us want to go to Key West just so we can stay at the Gardens Hotel again. Worth every single penny!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    84
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
35
775
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

I am actually writing this review from my lovely room at The Gardens Key West. From the moment you arrive you understand what people are trying to convey about this place. The smile that greets you, the glass of champagne after a long day's travel and the tour of the property on the way to your guest room.

Yes, the gardens have suffered some damage from the 3 hurricanes that passed this way in 05, but even though they lost over 100 trees, its still an oasis.

The first day I just couldnt understand why there were so many people sitting around the veranda or poolside when there was so much waiting for them outside these beautiful golden walls of the compound. Day two, now I understand that The Gardens is all about shutting down from those phones and computers (all though I did see a few laptops in the Wireless zone). Its about unwinding after a difficult year of work, its about the birds, the little lizards, a rooster or two and enjoying the surrounds.

I can personally recommend this place after many years of visits to other so called high end hotels in Key West. This place is nearly impossible to get in )only 15 rooms) so start your quest early. Don't recomment the Eyebrow cottage as its right on Simonton Street and very noisy. The Garden Rooms currently going for $295 US per night are simply wonderful.

By the way, all calls, stamps and postcards etc are all complimentary, as is the beautiful breakfast each morning. Wow, do I have to go home???

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

Spent only 2 nights at this perfect romantic get away.
My wife and I will always cherish our stay. Romantic
beautiful hotel with incredible service and attention
to detail.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week holiday over Christmas in Florida. We visited Key West, Naples and welcomed the New Year in lively South Beach, but the bit we most enjoyed was our stay at the Gardens Hotel in Key West. Thanks to my husband's work in the hotel industry, we are frequent, 'hard-to-please' travellers and stay at a variety of hotels from luxury resorts to more basic budget accomodation. Without a doubt, the Gardens Hotel is one of the most perfect hotel experiences we have ever had. From the moment we checked in, we relaxed entirely. This had something to do with the beautiful grounds, gorgeous architecture and soothing decor of the hotel, not to mention the quirky, laid-back nature of Key West itself, but our blissed-out state was also due in large part to the staff at the Gardens. The team at the hotel are friendly, over-the-top helpful and go out of their way to ensure their guests are happy. All this without being at all in-your-face or sales-y. They are just genuinely nice people, well-trained and good at what they do. We spent 3 nights in one of the hotel's most 'basic' rooms (which is still lovely and comfortable) and as a birthday treat, spent 2 nights in the top suite; what a room it is, complete with private balcony, sitting room, huge master bathroom, sauna and all so beautifully, simply done. Thanks so much, Kate and all at Gardens - you have created a very special place which deserves to be visited again and again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

From the time we checked in until departure we kept saying,"we should book this again for next year." Kate, the owner, greeted us with champagne upon check in. She then covered a wide assortment (their recommendations) as to what to see and where to dine. She took time to answer questions and get us headed in a fun direction.

THere was a small cozy bar by the pool. I'm not a "Bar" type guy but the bartender was so intriguing and fun we stopped for a couple of drinks each night to "shoot the breeze" and catch up on local lore. The ambiance was terrific. Not many places in Key West can boost an acre of tropical gardens; kind of a land of enchantment including the outdoor bar.

The rooms were terrific: new beds, sparkly clean, and comfortable. We're going back

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

My husband and I almost never return to the same place twice - but this is an exception. We have just returned from our second trip to the Gardens Hotel and we plan many more.

Just steps away from the lively activity of Key West's main street, the Garden Hotel is an oasis of beauty and serenity. You find yourself in a group of whitewashed buildings surrounded by lush tropical foliage. The rooms are beautiful and very user friendly. The staff is wonderful, friendly and eager to be of help. When we arrived late because of travel difficulties, we found a bottle of champagne waiting to help relieve the "stress" of the journey.

This small 17 room hotel is a gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

My wife and I recentlyreturned from our 10th trip to Key West where we stayed, for the first time, at The Gardens Hotel. It was by far the best place that we have stayed in KW. We are sesoned travelers and tend to be somewhat critical of our accomodation; but there is absolutely nothing to criticize about this wonderful place. The rooms are beautiful and well kept; the free breakfasts are delicious; and the grounds are magnificent. While it is real close to the action on Duval St. it is an amazingly quiet place. The best part, however, is the wonderful stall who cannot do enough for you. They know absolutely everyting about KW and are always anxious to advise and assist. We are looking forward to our next stay at The Gardens. P.S. We even liked the two cats.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 17 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.