We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
The Gardens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our second stay at The Gardens. It's so beautiful and there is a great staff! Robin was so helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and activities. We enjoyed some time at the bar getting acquainted with other guests and laughing with Billy and Scott. The grounds, birds and especially the turtles were delightful. Every aspect of The Gardens is elegant, comfortable and pristine. We hope we will visit again in 2014!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tree Top. Very comfortable and we enjoyed our outdoor sitting area.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Gardens has a strong commitment to the environment.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We hope you will soon as well! Thank you for the review! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    82
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
35
773
27
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Gardens Hotel is teh most beautiful facility I have stayed at in my numerous stays in the FL Keys. Very unique, comfortable, Victorian style rooms - friendly staff - great intimate bar, wine serving area. I would highly recommend to couples - not a good location for children. Very close to the happenings of Duval Street.

Room Tip: Rooms over the courtyard are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in the master suite for our anniversary. It was perfect with a huge bedroom, living room, balcony and two spacious bathrooms! Even better was the oh so comfortable bed and great air conditioning. We loved everything about this place, the location, the common areas, the pool, the wine bar and the friendly staff. We really enjoyed talking with the both bartenders who went above and beyond to delight us with their special drinks of the day. The happy hour and music in the afternoons allowed us to meet others staying at the hotel as well as many locals who stopped by to see the charming and informative owner. Such fun! After a long day at all the stops along Duval St., we found ourselves locked out of the building upon our return at around 2:00 a.m. There was something wrong with the locks and poor, gracious Jim got out bed to let us in without a complaint (at least to us!). Thanks for a perfect time, we love Key West but love The Gardens even more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
I am glad you had a fabulous time with us! I will let the crew know! 2am isn't that bad really! Smiles! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Gardens Hotel in Key West, FL is absolutely one of our most favorite destinations. We come with our two best friends every year and stay in the same two rooms. We enjoy relaxing on the common porch these two rooms share after a fun day roaming the streets of Key West. Very centrally located and one block from Duval, The Gardens provides the perfect setting with exceptional personnel. From the moment we check in until the time we check out, we feel truly spoiled! The rooms are top shelf and the grounds beautifully maintained. It is a must do for us every year. And year in and year out our expectations are exceeded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are so happy you and your friends all had a great time! We look forward to seeing you soon! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lush with the gardens , beautifully kept, staff & service amazing & location prime. If your looking for a short getaway or longer in Key West this is where you must stay...at least once in your life. Go enjoy & see for yourself...you
WON'T regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! Did you know we are in the book 1001 things to do before you die? Please try to come visit again! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Exquisite furnishings, impeccable grounds, friendly and capable staff, and only a half-block from everything happening on Duval Street and equi-distant from the Gulf and the Atlantic. This was a little piece of heaven for me--I was only at The Gardens overnight, but the hotel staff treated me as if I were staying for 2 months in the master suite. From Scott at the pool bar, to the amazing D'Vine Wine Gallery (where I tasted 3 different wines for less than $10 total, then decided on a full glass of high-end wine for only $13), to the airy gazebo after a refreshing swim in the gorgeous pool--every amenity was pristine, and personal. Breakfast this morning included a hot entree (today it was moist, freshly prepared scrambled eggs with prosciutto and cheddar) in addition to the Gardens' usual selection of breads, muffins, cereals, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, and fresh-squeezed orange juice. I am relaxed and refreshed, and feel treated like a queen. Thank you, Kate Miano and the entire staff of The Gardens for a lovely, lovely getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are so glad you had a wonderful experience with us! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Key West and The Gardens Hotel was the perfect setting to relax and unwind in a destination filled with fun and silliness. Our room was perfect. It was a comfortable and classy at the same time. It seemed to rain each day we were there (mid-September) so we grabbed a book and hung out in the gazebo with friends who were also staying there. The wine bar was a great touch, especially on those rainy days. The breakfasts were a little light for my meat and potatoes husband, so he made his way down the street to Dennys. It's a shame, because the variety and quality of the food was more than satisfying. The gardens really do provide the feeling of a retreat from all that Duval Street has to offer. Stay here.You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Our room was near the pool, but it didn't pose a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
I am glad you found us and had a great time! Rain makes Key West even more fun as you can stop in to a place you never have seen before, make new friends or relax and read a book in our gazebo! I hope to see you soon! Jim Marquardt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 17 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.