We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tranquil!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
The Gardens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #6 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very tranquil!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in April. It's such a beautiful place and the perfect location, a very short walk to Duval Street! Everyone is very helpful and friendly. Upon arrival they greet you with a glass of Prosecco, nice. The room was well appointed, comfortable and very clean. Crisp, clean linens and lush, oversized towels. They supply soaps, loofah, shampoo, conditioner, sunscreen, Q-tips, cotton balls and face wipes, robes and free wi-fi. We had a private veranda with 2 comfy chairs and a table overlooking the garden and pool. The grounds are lovely, peaceful and tranquil. The pool, gazebo, and pool bar area have many chairs and tables making it comfortable with a place for everyone. There are paths around the property with bird cages and other whimsicale items spread throughout. They supply sunscreen at the pool too! I can go on and on about this place, it's great. The only thing that I would suggest (even though we had NO issues) is to request an upstairs room. The rooms are hardwood and if the people above you were early risers or go to bed late, you might hear them walking around but like I said, we were not disturbed. Oh yeah, their signature drink is the Gardinia, delicious! We did not try the wine bar. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and your room tips. We are in the process of adding new area rugs to all of our rooms. Again, thank you for your tip and review!

Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    96
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
849
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visited the Gardens for the first time recently and couldn't believe how wonderful it was! The innkeepers were very hospitable and our room was extremely comfortable. We stayed in the main house and completely enjoyed sitting on the porch in the morning - totally relaxing. Breakfast was included and was very good with different choices every morning. The grounds are beautiful and the pool and spa were well maintained. The location is very convenient to Duvall St. and we never moved our car the entire time we were there. We will definitely be back the next time we visit Key West!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delafield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed 4/15-4/20. I stayed a previous time when Kate just took over the hotel in 04 and I must say, it has only gotten better since then. You cannot find a better place in Key West (my opinion of course) than The Gardens. We stayed in a courtyard room and it was lovely. If I had to find 1 thing negative about amenities would be the outdated hair dryer. Other than that it had everything you could need, including a wide variety of sunscreen by the pool! The breakfast provided daily was great & just enough, although we only took advantage of it 1 time, as I had my favorites I needed to get back to during my visit :)) I highly recommend taking the 1/2 day boat trip with Billie the Bartender. He took us out for an afternoon/sunset trip and we had a fantastic time with him, despite the lack of fish caught due to waves. The company alone was worth it!! The staff at the Gardens were extremely friendly & seemed to take pride in taking care of the property with an emphasis on attention to detail everywhere. We cannot say enought great things about it and look forward to a return trip in the future.

p.s. Tell Kate good luck with her foot and we wish her the best in her recovery!

Dr. Dan & Chris

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! I will pass your comments along to our crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I can't imagine finding any better hotel accommodations, location, and service than my experience at The Gardens Hotel in Key West. The garden walkways thread through lush tropical foliage, fanciful sculptures, and happily singing birds. The pool is maintained at just the right temperature and is replete with personal flotation cushions. A poolside bar, luxurious lounge chairs, tables, and cooling fans offer the perfect environment for total relaxation. The hotel and guest room interior furnishing, accessories, and decor are top notch in every way. The staff is amazingly friendly, helpful, and virtually prescient. They know their guests and are incredibly responsive to their needs. I am reluctant to mention names as they were all so good. I would however like to thank Jim in particular for his assistance with my reservations. And, of course, Kate for creating, coordinating, and staffing such a wonderful place to enjoy in the heart of Key West!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the most amazing hotel, the best in Key West in our opinion. This was our first visit to the Keys and we used the Chamber of Commerce offices to find accommodation as we toured about. This was recommended as ' the place I would take my Mom' by the young lady in the office and it certainly lived up to that. Although it was only minutes walk from Duval Street, it was quiet, an oasis. When we arrived we had to wait while another guest was checked in but we were taken to a beautiful lounge and given a glass of Preseco then Joseph checked us in and gave us the tour of the hotel and its grounds, including the wine cellar!! We were just in time for the Sunday Jazz performance (lovely bluesy type music) Breakfast was very tasty with the option to phone the kitchen for a hot dish of the day. We sat on the veranda in the sunshine and enjoyed it all. Joseph was also very knowledgeable about the various attractions and the best restaurants to eat at. Everything was just marvellous. Well done the Garden Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been coming to Key West for twenty plus years and this is our first time staying at The Gardens Hotel. I call it "our little oasis off of Duvall."

Sunday night jazz poolside, which can be enjoyed by anyone, is a treat. Jim and Joe couldn't be more guest focused if they had to be. The breakfast was just enough, giving daily "specials" aside from the usual breads, fruit and yogurt. Poolside was quiet and relaxing...no screaming kids or parents. The rooms are impeccable. The entire staff is cheerful. We had a minor "glitch" with our doorknob...it was taken care of immediately without any inconvenience to us. Hmmmmm, what else can I say....other than I expect us to continue to return to and recommend The Gardens Hotel in Key West.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans, La.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Gardens Hotel and we were just as impressed as the first. My wife and I were in KW celebrating our one year wedding anniversary. The Garden Hotel is one of the nicest hotels you will find in KW. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are very quite. The location is awesome, one block from Duval St. and in walking distant to everything. The place itself is beautiful and the staff is the most fun loving and friendliest people you have ever been around. Billy the bartender is a blast; he is funny and has all the information you need about KW, from fishing to great places to eat. Alicia was wonderful as well, always willing to help and as friendly as can be. We can’t imagine going to KW and not staying at the Gardens Hotel, its well worth the money.
Thanks again to the entire staff for making our anniversary that much more special. Looking forward to coming back next year.

Joey B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 23 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.