We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
The Gardens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #5 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Winchester, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our first trip to The Gardens. We were greeted with a glass of champagne which was a very nice touch. Nice little bar out by the pool where a very interesting mix of guests gather to share their Key West experiences. Delicious breakfast served by the pool. Just one block from Duval Street. You can leave the craziness of Duval Street, come back to serenity of The Gardens, re-group and head off for more fun. Staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. A room on the second floor is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    84
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
35
775
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our favorite place to stay in the Keys! We highly recommend this property. This was our third trip to The Gardens and we will return hopefully many more times. The service is beyond compare, with the friendly staff going out of their way to make guests more comfortable, without ever being intrusive. By the end of your stay, you feel as though they are 'family'.
Walking into the beautiful lobby immediately melts away the stress of traveling. We were greeted with a wonderful drink and a tour of this gorgeous property. The gardens are a tropical gift to behold! Peaceful and gorgeous. You'd never know you are just a few steps from all the action on Duval. Centrally located, so you can walk anywhere.
The rooms are beautifully furnished, immaculate and have all the little luxuries you like; comfy robes, bottled water, refrigerator and a full set of bathroom amenities.
And ah, the wine bar! You must try the d'vine wine gallery...your own personal winery! The finest selection of domestic & international wines.
One of our favorite perks; complimentary breakfast! And not just a continental breakfast. Every morning a new hot dish is offered in addition to cereal, pastries, yogurt, bagels, etc., and the offerings are delicious!
Jazz in the Gardens every Sunday is not to be missed! Chill with a glass of wine and be entertained with some great music.
In short, the service is awesome, and the surroundings are lush! Rooms are spacious and comfy, food is amazing, and location is great. Go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our 3rd trip to the Gardens! When we plan our annual trip to Key West we always say we will never stay anywhere else. The staff are so friendly and welcoming it almost feels like home. We love to sit on our veranda in the morning and enjoy coffee and plan our day. The breakfasts are wonderful! While we there they had french toast casserole which was amazing and quiche loraine. We enjoyed our afternoons by the pool and having drinks at the pool bar! This is by far heaven on earth. We enjoyed the Jazz in the Gardens on Sunday evening when we returned from dinner. The Gardens is perfectly located, so close to Duval but you do not even realize it because it is so quiet. We will be back next year.. we are already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We got upgraded to the Master Suite and it was heaven! We had a huge bedroom, a living room, and a private huge balcony with two lounge chairs with a small table and two chairs. We also had two separate bathrooms. The master bathroom had a big jacuzzi tub, it's own sauna, and two sinks and a bidet. It was done in Marble tile. It had every luxury you can think off. The bed was a beautiful four poster King bed. Fabrics and decor were beautiful. Lovely hardwood floors, beautiful desk and big comfortable chairs in the bedroom. The staff were all so friendly and very helpful. They added to our enjoyment! The pool was warm and beautiful so when you swam at night it was like swimming in moonlight. The gardens are wonderful, a true tropical paradise. The other great part is the location! Right on the heart of downtown Key West. We could walk everywhere! Which is good because parking is hard to find and expensive. They also have a whirlpool next to the main pool, which is great, too! Resident exotic birds, tortoises, and very sweet cats! Great coffee and yummy breakfast. We ordered the hot dish special (eggs dishes) everyday and it was always good! They have live music in the gardens on the weekends. You will love staying here no matter what room you stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimandNorman, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for the time you took to review our Hotel. We love it when you are so happy! I will let our crew know your comments!

(This signature is still signing from my personal account merged with the Hotel. TA has not fixed this part yet!) Jim Marquardt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first stay at the Gardens and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were lovely, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was absolutely delightful. Be sure to stay over a sunday night so that you can enjoy the jazz in the garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

And I don't wanna go home!

We had the best experience at The Gardens Hotel. We stayed at the Eyebrow Cottage for our honeymoon and we were greeted by the fabulous Jim. Just Jim. It was great as he regaled us of stories of Key West while we sipped on Prosecco. Great first step into our vacation.

As we toured the grounds with Jim and my new Husband, I could almost hear the soundtrack of some rom-com adventure movie, as the cameras sweep up to see Dylan and I in a paradise of beautiful flowers, pools, fountains, turtles, lizards and the cutest cottages. We were even greeted by an old cat named Little Girl. Jim told us that sometimes she likes vodka and Dylan says she looked a little like Judi Dench. I knew I was at home.

It was nice to be off of my diet and eat the cute breakfasts they provided poolside. And the wine tasting machines in the main house were so much fun. I'd recommend just staying in one night and trying all the wines, stumble back to your room and enjoy the most comfortable beds I've ever been on.

The staff was so nice and also friendly, but not in a "it's my pleasure" sort of way, more like your favorite Aunt who knows what you like and will do whatever it takes to make you comfortable, but with some sass and a wink. Jim, Erika, Tippy, Alicia, Joel are now friends. That doesn't happen at the Marriott.

Overall, it was an amazing experience for the close proximity, the friendliness of the team, the cleanliness and comfort and the one thing you can't recreate at any other hotel: the energy of the people and the magic in the air.

Room Tip: The Eyebrow Cottage is secluded and quaint. We also stayed at the Master Suite for one night and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

People make the difference, and at the Gardens Hotel ALL the staff made a big difference in our feeling welcome and in our being well taken care of. This includes office staff, housekeeping, as well as the breakfast staff (a nice plus.....breakfast is included in the price.)

Our room was beautiful, but we really enjoyed sitting in the comfortable chairs outside on the private deck, where we could watch the rich foliage of the trees and shrubs moving in the breezes. Even though there were other people moving about the grounds (it is a small hotel, more like a bed and breakfast), it felt like we were in the backyard of someone's house.

And since the hotel is less than a block from the main street in Key West (Duval Street), it made for an easy walk to get to restaurants and tourists spots.

It is the kind of hotel that makes you want to return to it repeatedly!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 17 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.