We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Key West!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
El Centro, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best place to stay in Key West!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We got upgraded to the Master Suite and it was heaven! We had a huge bedroom, a living room, and a private huge balcony with two lounge chairs with a small table and two chairs. We also had two separate bathrooms. The master bathroom had a big jacuzzi tub, it's own sauna, and two sinks and a bidet. It was done in Marble tile. It had every luxury you can think off. The bed was a beautiful four poster King bed. Fabrics and decor were beautiful. Lovely hardwood floors, beautiful desk and big comfortable chairs in the bedroom. The staff were all so friendly and very helpful. They added to our enjoyment! The pool was warm and beautiful so when you swam at night it was like swimming in moonlight. The gardens are wonderful, a true tropical paradise. The other great part is the location! Right on the heart of downtown Key West. We could walk everywhere! Which is good because parking is hard to find and expensive. They also have a whirlpool next to the main pool, which is great, too! Resident exotic birds, tortoises, and very sweet cats! Great coffee and yummy breakfast. We ordered the hot dish special (eggs dishes) everyday and it was always good! They have live music in the gardens on the weekends. You will love staying here no matter what room you stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimandNorman, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for the time you took to review our Hotel. We love it when you are so happy! I will let our crew know your comments!

(This signature is still signing from my personal account merged with the Hotel. TA has not fixed this part yet!) Jim Marquardt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    972
    78
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
730
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first stay at the Gardens and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were lovely, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was absolutely delightful. Be sure to stay over a sunday night so that you can enjoy the jazz in the garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

And I don't wanna go home!

We had the best experience at The Gardens Hotel. We stayed at the Eyebrow Cottage for our honeymoon and we were greeted by the fabulous Jim. Just Jim. It was great as he regaled us of stories of Key West while we sipped on Prosecco. Great first step into our vacation.

As we toured the grounds with Jim and my new Husband, I could almost hear the soundtrack of some rom-com adventure movie, as the cameras sweep up to see Dylan and I in a paradise of beautiful flowers, pools, fountains, turtles, lizards and the cutest cottages. We were even greeted by an old cat named Little Girl. Jim told us that sometimes she likes vodka and Dylan says she looked a little like Judi Dench. I knew I was at home.

It was nice to be off of my diet and eat the cute breakfasts they provided poolside. And the wine tasting machines in the main house were so much fun. I'd recommend just staying in one night and trying all the wines, stumble back to your room and enjoy the most comfortable beds I've ever been on.

The staff was so nice and also friendly, but not in a "it's my pleasure" sort of way, more like your favorite Aunt who knows what you like and will do whatever it takes to make you comfortable, but with some sass and a wink. Jim, Erika, Tippy, Alicia, Joel are now friends. That doesn't happen at the Marriott.

Overall, it was an amazing experience for the close proximity, the friendliness of the team, the cleanliness and comfort and the one thing you can't recreate at any other hotel: the energy of the people and the magic in the air.

Room Tip: The Eyebrow Cottage is secluded and quaint. We also stayed at the Master Suite for one night and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

People make the difference, and at the Gardens Hotel ALL the staff made a big difference in our feeling welcome and in our being well taken care of. This includes office staff, housekeeping, as well as the breakfast staff (a nice plus.....breakfast is included in the price.)

Our room was beautiful, but we really enjoyed sitting in the comfortable chairs outside on the private deck, where we could watch the rich foliage of the trees and shrubs moving in the breezes. Even though there were other people moving about the grounds (it is a small hotel, more like a bed and breakfast), it felt like we were in the backyard of someone's house.

And since the hotel is less than a block from the main street in Key West (Duval Street), it made for an easy walk to get to restaurants and tourists spots.

It is the kind of hotel that makes you want to return to it repeatedly!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while visiting Key West. This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Key West. Located a block off of the north end of Duval Street, it's close to all the action that constituted Key West. It 's just a short walk to Mallory Square and all that activity.

Our room was very comfortable with a private balcony overlooking the pool. They had a bar that was open from 2-8 which also served as a breakfast bar in the morning. In addition to the breakfast bar, they offered a hot entrée each morning.

My only word of caution; Key West was beastly hot, even in late September. Going back, we would probably go between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's been a few months since my husband and I visited Key West and the Gardens Hotel, but the memories made there were so fantastic, and are still so fresh, we are still talking about and looking forward to going back! The only negative I can say is we didn't have enough time! We were so busy seeing the sights, the next time, I would be just as happy to sit by the pool sipping cool drinks made by none other than Billy the Bartender, or sipping my way through the vineyards in their very own on premise wine tasting room!

The staff was warm and welcoming from the start! The Italian sparkling wine upon check-in, was a very nice touch. The grounds are historic, lush and tropical, and a beautiful peaceful retreat from the huslte and bustle of Duvall street, which is very close by but you would never know it. The other hotel guests and visitors added to the special ambiance. Fun, friendly, comfortable and welcoming is how I would categorize this gem of a hotel. We stayed in the Eyebrow cottage which I would highly recommend. It is very private yet you have access to all of the amenities. Loved every minute, and looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: The Eyebrow Cottage was wonderful! I don't know if all the rooms have the same beds, but ours wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The gardens is close to everything but, just off the main drag so it's quiet. We stayed in the cottage they offer. Everything was perfectly clean and comfortable. The setting is lush and serene. We were there on our honeymoon and truly enjoyed our time there. The pool there is perfect for a quiet dip. Breakfast was very nice and more than enough was offered.

The quietude of this place was perfect for our honeymoon.

We highly recommend this place. And, we'll be back.

Room Tip: The cottage is great for a honeymoon. Next time we'll opt for a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 17 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.