We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the action, yet peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   200 Sunset Lane, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 41 hotels in Key West
Long Valley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In the heart of the action, yet peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location was fantastic...just a couple minutes of scenic walking and you're in Mallory Square, on Duval street, or taking in the historic district. Stayed in a one bedroom, ground floor with great view of the fountain, pool, and tropical plant landscaping. Like the view of the marina and Gulf of Mexico from the peaceful pool area. Would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from boardwalk walkways throughout the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
IyhNJ,

Thank you so much for your review! I really think the title of your review really describes Sunset Harbor. We are certainly right in the heart of the action and yet peaceful enough that our guests feel like they are in their own little oasis, far away from the action on Duval Street. We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of the "island city" again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    53
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
86
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a very pleasant experience here. location is fabulous, walkable to everything in Old downtown. No view from building 2, (trees even cover the pool) and would caution building 1 too in the corner, but no noise, so sleeping was great! the décor needs updating, old appliances and furniture and bathroom is small & tight. also needs updating.

Room Tip: pick room 3 & 4th floors for views;; While not there would caution the studios - didn't appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
CtNoname,

Thank you for taking the time to write your room tips and review of Hyatt Sunset Harbor! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our location. I apologize we weren't able to exceed your expectations when it comes to our room decor, but hope you make your way back to us to enjoy another great night's sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a 2bd/2ba unit and felt so secluded, yet we were just a 5 minute walk from all the food we wanted to eat, shops we wanted to shop, drinks we wanted to drink, and most importantly, Duval Street! The pool is surrounded by mature tropical plants, with an all-night hot tub for late night cuddling. The room was immaculate, the staff was helpful (they got us bicycles & menus for local restaurants) I cannot say enough about this property or the friendly staff. This is the only place we will ever stay while in Key West!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Questor79,

Thank you so much for such a detailed review of Sunset Harbor! I'm so glad you enjoy staying at our little oasis off of Duval. I'm sure your description of the property and of your room will be more than helpful to others who are deciding where to stay here in Key West. I appreciate your comments about the team we have here. They certainly do work very hard to keep Sunset Harbor clean and enjoyable for all of our guests. You should also know that we are in the process of moving the TVs in our Studios to a higher position so that they are easier to see. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review of Sunset Harbor. We always appreciate and value any and all feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland RI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the week of Sept. 8-15. We both loved the place. We had a suite overlooking the Gulf. It was fun watching the Fury crews prepare for the days activities. Also enjoyed the cruise ships docking. It can get a little noisy at times but it didn't bother us at all. As far as the resort we were more than satisfied with all the amenities. We especially enjoyed the pool. It was never crowded and the other guests were respectful and friendly toward other guests. The suite was a little dated but Very Clean! We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We read other reviews and were surprised to see other guests had negative opinions toward staff. Maybe it has something to do with the guests attitude toward staff. "You reap what you sow"! Kathy at the front desk was one example of a helpful staff member. On the day of our arrival we were in KW early and our room wasn't ready. Kathy took our cell phone number and called us later that afternoon to let us know we could now check in. On check out day, again Kathy called a cab for us and when it seemed to be taking to long to arrive she called them back to inquire why.
We had the pleasure of meeting and talking to the manger Derek. He was pleasant to speak to and gave us some dining tips as well.
This was our ninth trip to KW and our first time at the Hyatt Sunset Key. We would have no hesitation booking another week here.

Room Tip: If your not an early riser you might not want the Gulf side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Moosexman,

Thank you so much for such a great review of Sunset Harbor! I'm so glad you enjoyed your room on the harbor side. Those are definitely the most sought after, so I'm glad we were able to get you into one! It was a pleasure meeting you and I hope you enjoyed the recommendations that I gave you for my local dining favorites. I have passed along your comments to our entire team and thanked Kathy for her friendly & efficient service. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts about Sunset Harbor. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Once again we await our annual trip to Key West and Sunset Harbot. This truly is paradise. we have been coming here for about 15 years and if my husband had his way, we'd never go home. Sunset Harbor has become our home away from home. The friendly staff is always there, with a smile, to help in any way they can. The location is terrific and the grounds are just beautiful. Lots of activities on the property during the week and, of course, only steps away from Duval and it's madness. We arrive at the same time each year as it is time for the Christmas parade and we enjoy it so much we have to be there. Looking forward to our time in KW.

Room Tip: building 1 is away from the street...bldg 5 is directly on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Judith M,

Wow! It's so great to hear from our owners and guests that have been coming to Sunset Harbor as long as you have. It always warms my heart to see the connections that people make while staying here. It really is a unique resort that has an atmosphere unlike anywhere else. Thank you so much for sharing your room tips and your fond reflections of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again and helping create new memories in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband's family owns two units here for a week in August. This was our second year visiting and we couldn't wait to get back down to Key West again this year after such a great time last year! We love the convenient location, walking distance to Mallory Square for the Sunset Celebration every night, short walk to Duval and even within walking distance to the Southernmost point, (a lengthy walk, but still walkable.) Our units face the pool so it was lovely waking up a few mornings throughout the week to watch the large cruise ships maneuver into port. They are so close you can hear what the Cruise Directors have to say about the area! The pool and grounds are wonderfully maintained. The hot tub is a welcomed amenity after a long day. The rum and margarita parties are fun throughout the week as in the drawing they do at breakfast on Mondays! We've won an excursion both years- last year a sunset cruise and this year the Dolphin Safari. The Concierge, Kate, lacks a little experience and personality though. She booked two of our excursions incorrectly and we had to pry information out of her as far as directions, hours and what not, but friendly none the less. The front desk staff is decent, but I would not go as far as to say service with a smile unfortunately. It took us three tries to get our car out of the parking garage because they kept giving us incorrect keys, they finally had to call the Westin valet to let us out. Overall, the property is beautiful and convenient, but the staff could use a little training in guest service. We can't wait for our return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
MissyV912,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic, heartfelt review of Sunset Harbor! I'm so happy that you and your family are part of the Hyatt Residence Club and enjoy returning to Sunset Harbor each year! I'm also pleased that you enjoy our weekly parties and were able to win adventures 2 years in a row! How lucky! Please accept my apologies for any of our team members' lack of friendliness or unwillingness to assist you. I have already passed along your comments and can assure you that we always strive to go above and beyond for all of our guests and owners. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences at Sunset Harbor. We look forward to seeing you again next year and hope you get another winning ticket!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night during labor day weekend. The front desk attendant, Sahara, was super friendly and offered advice on local hotspots and gave us 2 for 1 drink coupons to a bunch of places, which we really appreciated. The studio room we stayed in was nice and very clean - had a jacuzzi tub and a shower both. The location of the hotel is close to everything fun on Duval street.

Only downside was that the GPS wasn't able to specifically locate the hotel's address and guided us to the Westin (which is still really close) and we had to call to ask for directions to the hotel. Also, parking is $15 - that's somewhat reasonable for a resort area, but it caught us a little off guard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I_Travel917,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us over the holiday weekend and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I am delighted that Sahara was able to make your stay memorable and get you a few extra drinks at some of Key West's great local spots. I have passed along your compliments to our team, including Sahara and our Housekeeping Department! Thank you again for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Address: 200 Sunset Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.