We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great timeshare - best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   200 Sunset Lane, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Rochester, Michigan
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great timeshare - best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We own Hyatt and trade in to this property. As we love Key West, it offers us a superb location for our favorite activities - water sports, sunset sails, great restaurants and observing the cruise ships come and go. The pool is wonderful. This property has no amenities really - except it's fabulous location and pool. No beverage/restaurant service - which we are ok with as we reserve a 1 bedroom which comes with a full kitchen. We were disappointed with some of those "little" things that sometimes can make a difference. If you anticipate traditional Hyatt quality, this may slightly miss the mark for you. More attention to improving the furniture/care of rooms and an occasional white glove could really help!

Room Tip: Unless you need a handicap room - ask to be 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad you enjoy staying at Sunset Harbor and the wonderful location we are in and look forward to seeing you again!

Also, thank you for the great room tip! We do have 4 ADA rooms on property (2 Studios & 2 1-Bedrooms) & they are all located on the first floor! Great information for anyone who hasn't stayed here before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
41
102
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west palm beach, florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from hyatt sunset harbor, the pool was so fabulous and just right temperature. It is located right where the cruise ships pull up. so convenient to everything within walking distance, and mallory square. Next door to the truman house which we toured and was excellent also. small quaint property. loved everything! The pool has noodles for floating around. The front desk staff is extremely helpful & nice! Thank you for the wondeful workers!

The complimentary computer in the lobby is extremely SLOW, that is the only CON.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time here at Sunset Harbor! Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff, pool area and location in Old Town, Key West. You will also be happy to know that we are upgrading our internet this year so our lobby computer, as well as all guest room Wi-Fi connectivity, will be exponentially faster than it currently is. It will certainly be a welcome upgrade! Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Based on some of the negative reviews I read about this resort, I was growing weary of this visit. We had the opportunity of using a friend's timeshare to stay for the week. The Hyatt Sunset Harbor is very convientenly located to some of the most popular things to do in Key West, such as sunsets at Mallory Square, bar hopping on Duval St, as well as many other attractions. Parking is located directly across the street in the Westin's parking deck. A small fee was charged for the entire week.

We stayed in unit 514; a ground unit which appears to be comprised of two units (514A and 514B). When you first walk in the first door you come to is what appears to be an efficiency/studio unit (514A) with a king bed, two chairs and a nice sized bathroom with a jet tub. The toilet and stall shower are enclosed, but the jet tub and sink are open to the bedroom area. There is a large mirror on the wall next to the jet tub. The sink area has plenty of cabinet space for your toiletries, make up, hair products, etc. In addition the room has a small refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee pot, small flat screen TV, and a DVD/VCR player. The room looks out to the pool.

Continuing down the hall you can see the next unit (514B) which is a 1 bedroom unit with a full kitchen (minus the oven) and a living room. The living room combo has a sleeper sofa, two rattan chairs, and a mid size TV. The decor has a caribbean vibe with blues, greens and dark rattan furniture. Off the liiving room is a nice patio overlooking the pool and is also on the front corner of the building providing a veiw of Sunset Harbor. The patio fits a table and four chairs and is somewhat secluded by all of the beautiful foilage of the property. The harbor view is wonderful whether a crusie ship is in port or not. I personally find it neat to be able to watch the ships come in and out of dock, but this may not be for everyone.

The kitchen is a hotel style kitchen; small, but provides the essentials. There is a full size fridge, double sink, four burner stove with a built in microwave. The dishes and utensils that are provied are adequate for cooking less elaborate meals. There is a table with two chairs as well as booth style seating. In addition there are two bar stools at the end of the kitchen counter.

So, there are only two complaints I have about this unit the first being the bathroom; it's a little small for my taste, offering a shower stall, pedestal sink and toilet in a confined space. The shower stall is small and doesn't really offer the ladies an easy option for shaving while in the shower. There is not enough shelving/cabinetry for necessary toiletries, make-up and hair products. The second complaint is that there is not a full length mirror available in this unit (this would be a quick and fairly inexpensive fix for the property, so I will make sure to let management know before I leave).

The bedroom is of standard size, overlooking the pool area; has a queen bed night tables, closet and a built in cabinet offering drawers and shelves for your clothes and accessories. The closet contains a small safe (which I absolutely love). The two night tables on each side of the bed also have two rather deep drawers that offered additional storage space.

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They went over and above to ensure our stay was wonderful; even calling us the afternoon after our arrival to see if we needed anything, which in my book shows they have an excellent service standard. The resort and the grounds are kept unbelievably clean. Each morning the staff comes to the pool area to open the umbrellas, clean the grills, wipe down and set up the chairs and check trash. Management provides activities around the pool several times during the week (one day was a rum punch party with a DJ providing entertainment, another was a 'ritas and salsa party with a live singer, among other things). The pool area has two grills that are free for guest use. The front desk will allow you to "check out" (for lack of a better term) the grill utensils and the resort provides the propane. There is also a 0 entry chair for the pool providing handicapped accessibility. My understanding is that guests may also use some of the services offered at the Hyatt sister hotel, but I didn't check any of them out. My overall rating is excellent!! Even though I had two complaints their high service standards raised up the rating - I would recommend this place to anyone of my friends or family.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your thorough review! I am certain that these details of our property will be very beneficial and informative to others looking into our property in the future. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to watch the cruise ships coming and going. Depending on where you live, it's certainly not something you get to see every day! Thank you for your comments regarding our front desk as well. They certainly appreciate hearing that they are doing a great job! I know each and every one of them enjoy what they do and take pride in creating a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Thank you again for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

First and foremost, this property is a timeshare. It is an excellent place to stay. Which is why I stay here 4 to 7 weeks a year. The staff is excellent, friendly, and always wiling to help you with anything. And the location is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you, Clyde & Tammy! It was great seeing you again & great visiting with you during your recent stay. We'll see you again in December and the same time again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just returned from the Hyatt Sunset Key West and I can't say enough about how great this place is!! From the rooms to the decor and gardens, entertainment, pool, and excellent staff!! They were EXTREMELY accommodating to us (and the issue was our fault not theirs). I can't believe there was ever a bad review!! The place was clean, beautiful, fun, quiet, close to everything , great concierge, poolside entertainment and drinks daily,and did I mention the STAFF!!!! I will recommend this resort to everyone I can ! Thank you for making our vacation great! We will back and will bring our whole family..I will say if you rent from a timeshare owner be careful!! Thank you again girls at the front desk for all your help. Tom and Deb Swartz Harrisburg Pa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Mr. & Mrs. Swartz,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our resort! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and that we were able to accommodate you and your family. We hope to see you and the rest of your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston tx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love love love this place. I come back whenever I can. Superb location. Walking distance to everything worth doing on the island. Seriously. And if you're not a walking person. Rent the electric carts and get going. Right on the boardwalk. Yes the cruises show up but they're not bad. Get a third floor room if you like a view. Little palm Island shuttle is right below the resort.
Yes we own but we've never been tempted to buy anywhere else we love it here so much. Great for older couples or middle agers or families. We've been with them all. We kayak, swim, sail, shop, eat, do it all. Always clean, quickly resolves any issues you have if you just ask, beautiful rooms.

Personally don't get the studio unless as part of the other condo. Not a good view normally but it's a bedroom after all.

Take your car and head up the keys to some great places like the Square Grouper restaurant. Or isla morada. Don't miss fort Jefferson.

Hope you go. It's wonderful. Never in 20 years had a complaint.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our resort. I am so pleased that you enjoy our location and the activities Key West has to offer. There always seems to be something going on in our neighborhood and there are certainly a wide variety of cuisines offered at area restaurants. Thank you again for your feedback. I am more than happy you had another great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The studio is worse than an Econolodge. If you are OK with paying over $300 for a cave with a great location, then this place is for you. I doubt that the 1 BR would be substantially better since heating and ventilation desperately need to be replaced. The bathrooms are beyond tired and there is no poolside amenities of any kind. The location could not be better. We own at the Hyatt Windward Pointe and we would recommend that you stay there and drive downtown. Parking is convenient on both sides of down and Sunset Harbor charges you anyway - so what is the point? Stay away from this tired, noisy, out-of-date hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us at Sunset Harbor. To address some of your concerns, we did have our bathrooms refreshed last spring with a variety of upgrades and over the past several months we have been systematically replacing our HVAC units. I was pleased to hear that you liked the location of our resort, but wish that we could have done better at communicating the specific amenities and layout of our Studio units. I hope you consider staying with us again during your next stay in Key West. If I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Address: 200 Sunset Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.