We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   200 Sunset Lane, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 41 hotels in Key West
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

out of all hotels in Key west this is the best one for sure. close to all the action. great sunset view. best of key west. not every room has good view and some has no view but they are all in the best location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind endorsement! We certainly appreciate hearing about guests who enjoy staying at the Hyatt Sunset Harbor. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    52
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
35
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a time share property not a hotel so don't count on any type of luggage or other desk assistance although the staff is quite friendly.

I admit I'm not a fan of time shares, but even this one puzzles me as to why one would buy into it. I booked a one bedroom billed as an efficiency but it's not. It had a toaster and coffee maker but no coffee and no sink other than the bathroom sink. I guess it was part of a 2 bedroom sort of configuration. There was no view at all . . . maybe I got this room because I was only there for one night. I was on the street overlooking the loading dock of the Westin Hotel which translates into early morning loading/unloading of merchandise, garbage pickup and the unloading of passengers from a huge cruise ship and the noise of tour groups being organized.

I don't watch TV, but for those of you who do, the flat screen is 19" and very inconveniently placed into a wall unit. There is a small couch but no real sitting area other than the bed. The toilet and shower room has no sink. The sink is separated from that room by at least 7 feet. In between the shower/toilet room and sink is a bathtub/whirlpool which is completely open to the bedroom as is the sink. No privacy whatsoever. I guess this is OK for the single traveler or those particularly in love or lust.

There are no restaurant facilities on premises but the resort is located near Duval Street and a lot of restaurants, and a discount is offered at the real Hyatt Hotel 4 blocks away.

Oh yes, that reminds me. There's a mandatory resort fee and parking charge. The pool area looks nice, and this place might be better for those looking for a place to stay for more than one night. I was there on business, and this could be coloring my view of the experience. I'm a frequent visitor to Key West, and I can say that there are many better choices of hotels, resorts, and yes, even time share properties to choose from.

This property might be better suited to the visitor who is staying a week and more likely to get a room or apartment overlooking the pool or in a better location. This one just didn't do it for me and is not for a one or 2 night stay. If that's your intention, shop around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I sincerely apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay with us in November. Hyatt Sunset Harbor is a Hyatt Residence Club, so our property does not have the same type of amenities and services that a full service hotel does. However, we do have a very good relationship with our sister property, the Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa and our guests have access to their restaurants & spa.

In regards to your room, it sounds like you stayed in one of our Studios, which have a unique configuration, especially if you are expecting standard hotel accommodations. For the most part, our Studio rooms do not have views because they do not have balconies. In addition, I can personally assure you that you were not put in any specific room based on the number of nights you stayed.

I greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for your positive comments regarding our pool. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you are planning a trip to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Been an owner in Key West for 15 years - we LOVE this place! Not sure why people would write a negative review- Sunset Harbor is just a block from Duval St, and really not a long walk from many areas of interest. Although Sunset should be due for a modest facelift; we don't come to the Keys to lay around in our condo; we occasionally eat there and come back to our wonderful comfy beds to sleep. Otherwise we are at the pool, exploring, eating, drinking and having a grand ol' time in paradise. You want to sit on the beach drinking a Mai tai? Go to Tahiti...Key West is for FUN! There are few better locations; literally steps from Mallory Square, jet ski rentals outside the door, parks and attractions close by, and dozens of restaurants and bars within blocks (so it is easy to stumble back to the condo). Come to Key West at the end of April for "Conch Week"- a full week of wild and wacky activities. Doesn't get much better than this; brought friends to Sunset Harbor last year; they immediately bought a condo (timeshare week).

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have "views", but being on "Harbor walk" gives you the best sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the resort December 2-December 9. We knew this was where we wanted to stay, primarly based upon the location. The location is perfect, walking distance to everything! We had a 2 bedroom villa, clean, good location and the staff was helpful when asked. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Hyatt Sunset Harbor & look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape coral fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is by far the worst Hyatt ever....after having just stayed at the Hyatt Grand Aspen and the Hyatt Siesta Key, this place was a huge let down. The studio here was no better than staying at a Red Roof or Comfort Inn except for the wonderful location. Had to wash our dishes in the bathroom sink, can you imagine! No daily maid service, no valet parking, and no one to bring your bags to your room....you are on your own. Bathroom vanity was particle board which was falling apart...the whole room was very dated, dark and dreary. If you opened your shades you would be looking directly into the apartment across the way. No breakfast either. Coffee pot, sugar and coffee grounds were in the room but no creamer...after asking for some, we were told that they do not supply the creamer. This studio had no little dinette table or chairs...when we asked for one we were told they do not have any. Also had a little TV which was set into a hugh opening.....laughable for a Hyatt!!! Don't bother to book here...you will be very disappointed....shame on you Hyatt for letting this place get so rundown and for putting your good name on such an inferior hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
First, let me apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. If you have not stayed with us before, I can certainly appreciate your expectations in comparison to the Hyatt Grand Aspen & Hyatt Siesta Key. Each of our Hyatt Residence Club resorts offer a variety of services based on a variety of criteria, including length of stay, reservation type & resort type just to name a few. In addition to services, room types can vary as well. Based on your comments, it sounds like you most likely stayed in one of our Studio units, which is more comparable to a hotel room & does not offer the same accommodations, like full kitchens & dining areas, that our 1 & 2-Bedroom units offer. Also, you will be happy to know & we are certainly looking forward to a scheduled upgrade to our internet planned for 2013.

Again, I apologize for your experience with us & thank you for your feedback. We encourage all of our guest to give us their opinions, whether positive or negative because it is truly the only way we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpb
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been owners here for 15 yrs.,yes it is a timeshare but for the price and size of accomdations,you can't go wrong.Great staff,lovely grounds and pool,full kitchens 1 or 2 bedrooms and 2 blocks from the main part of Duval. The best is that generally you will find only adults
.Once there you have no need for a car, you can walk to almost all rests.,bars,shops,etc. If want quiet relaxing in the middle of everything ,this is for you.

Room Tip: Bldgs. 1,2,5 face west for sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I am a guest of an owner and I find the location to be perfect for anything you want to do. We have rented bikes for the week and either ride or walk to all our activities. The resort itself has a great pool, hot tub, and the rooms are nicely furnished.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Address: 200 Sunset Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.