We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   200 Sunset Lane, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Compassrose89
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Cozy room, comfortable bed, tub and shower!Just steps away from Old Town and Duval Street! Had a great comfortable time! Very nice pool, location, location,location. Just wished they had some food to serve.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    61
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
41
102
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

These is not a hotel but a timeshare condo where you can sometimes trade in or buy days that are open. Most condo are set up as a two bedroom owner lockout (which means there is a door that can be locked and effectively making a two bedroom condo into a 1) one bedroom studio with no view) and 2) a one bedroom with full living room/kitchen/balcony. We have gotten the two bedroom for a week to past two years. The location is great, on the north west end of the island in the middle of old town but, happily, two blocks away from the noise of Duval. While the people noise is minimal at night the delivery trucks for the next door westin are a pain at least 2 of 7 nights when they seem to come between midnight and 6 AM, idling and running the truck lift. The front desk staff are extremely attentive (an upgrade since last year) but the conciergie is a bit of a ditz, albeit a friendly one. The Westin Marina is right outside the gate and offers tons of pricey activities (you are in vacation right?). No restaurant on site but you can easly walk to many, many restaurantd to make even the most picky foodie happy. The pool is decent size for key west where some other hotels and guest houses offer none or a postage stamp pool. Bikes can be rented right at the Westin wharf. Its a bit of a walk but the Fort Zachary State park beach can be walked to in 15 minutes ($2.50 park entry). No oven there is a convection/microwave combo. I understand the major appl;icances are updated next year. TVs are flat screen but super small and in all bedrooms and the living room. Area rug in the living room could be replaced. Overall, a decent value for a family where location is more important than updated rooms and space. The other Hyatt time share proprties are spacious and new BUT you will have to take a shuttle to get to old town! The Hyatt has a hotel but we'v enever stayed there.

Room Tip: The NE units are the quietest. If a bedroom has windows opening onto sunset lane it could be briefl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I travel to Key West every year for Lobster fest and normally stay at a B&B. This year we decided to stay at the Hyatt and we were very disappointed. Our room was small and had a door connecting the adjacent room, one of the Hyatt employees opened our door while attempting to lock the adjacent rooms door one evening while we were in bed. At 4am garbage trucks arrive and spend about 15 minutes making all sorts of noise. In addition, we were on the 2nd floor and at approximately 7:30AM the housekeeping staff rolls their carts around on the wooden hall way floors adding to the already noisy morning. This occurred both nights we were there. There is a parking fee and a resort fee, adding to the already costly room charge. We will definitely not return, for less money one of the many historic and beautiful B&B’s provide a much more pleasant and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff treat you like royalty and before you know it they are calling you by name. The suites are always impeccably clean and have a full kitchen for those days you want to just stay in. There is also a bar-b-que area and you can grill by the pool.
You can't beat the location, right in Old Town and steps from Duval Street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bqk
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rooms are due for an update somewhat, but it is clean-clean!! Staff is excellent and they love you as you are! Walk to damn near everything too!!!

Room Tip: No on site food or bar, but a lot of that is closely located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have been going to Key West for the last 7-8 years. Our last trip we thought we would try something different. We have always thought we would like Sunset Harbor, so we booked 4 days in June.

We were very pleasantly surprised, actually amazed at what a great property it is. Oh so convenient to most everything. Very clean, well maintained. Our accomodations were on the 3rd floor looking over the harbor. The sunset view was simply breathtaking.

The interior could use some updating, but seriously, do you go to Key West to sit in your room and look at the walls? There is no restaurant or bar on the property, but guest have access to Hyatt Vacation Club, which is just a few blocks away.

We are now considering actually buying there.

Room Tip: If at all possible ask for a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast, USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I can't think of a better place to stay on Key West. Location: right at the end of famous Mallory Square. Close to shopping and all the action without renting a vehicle. Facility: Superior. Big comfortable beds, full kitchens, living rooms. Keep in mind that most of the rooms have stairs to get to the bedrooms. If you have trouble with stairs it will present a problem. The pool was very nice and the best part was the limited number of children. The ones that were there were very well behaved and added to the atmosphere.

The only drawback was really no big deal. The hotel is located at the pier where the cruise ships come in often; they block your view of the ocean. They do leave before sunset.

Making our reservation for next year very soon.

Room Tip: You can see the sunset from nearly every room balcony. Make sure you get a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Address: 200 Sunset Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.