We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Beach House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place for a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Hyatt Beach Resort is off the beaten path. Located WAY at the top of Key West, you are very far away from the craziness of Duval Street. This is a double edge sword. It made for a fun jaunt on our rented scooters. You traversed most of the Key when out for an adventure. Cabs were a different story. As of August of 2013, it cost about 15 bucks per trip to the southern part of the island. When we had groups of 5, it was economical. With my wife and I, it made the distance from the action of Duval Street more apparent. The facility does not have a restaurant, nor is there one close. You can go to Stock Island (which is closer) and eat at Hogfish Bar & Grill. Otherwise, you are headed south for anything else.

Overall the property was very clean and quite during the night. The pool was spacious and they had cabanas you can get (First Come First Serve) poolside. There was a Tiki bar about 100 feet from the pool which was nice as it was hot as you know what in August. I am a Marriott Vacation Club owner and we traded via Interval International. I was satisfied with the trade. While the property has only 3 ocean view rooms, we had a nice view of the pool. Again, it was quiet at night, as they strictly enforce the pool being closed at 10 PM (trust me; I got tossed out of the pool area late night). The staff was courteous and minus the 10 AM check out time, we had a nice time staying here.

Room Tip: Don't have your heart set on a room with an ocean view. They only have 3 on the whole property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    121
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
140
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The rooms were amazing, all the amenities you could want! Had an issue with our dryer not heating up and it was fixed within 45 mins. Balcony view overlooking the pool. The staff was amazing. Giovanni, the Concierge, is the best source of what to see and do in Florida! No question this is a fantastic place to stay. Right next to the Marriott, where there is one of the best restaurants on the island, Tavern N Town.
I would come back here in a heartbeat. Check out the Tiki Bar too, fantastic food and the best mojitos I have ever tasted in my life!!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach/ocean, so you can't get a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wow is all I can say. Great resort. Clean and spacious rooms. Great balcony with view. Fishing piers. My nephew caught a baracuda about three foot long. You can register your boat. The pool is awesome with beach or zero entry. Low key. Great for families. Away from old town and quiet. No restaurant but the tiki bar serves food. Would recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: Choose third floor I believe A or F buildings are on the end with best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great time staying here, it wasn't in the heart of town but I liked that. The rooms were clean and with two bedrooms, two baths and a screened in porch we had plenty of room! My husband loves to fish and there is two piers on the property he spent a good bit of time fishing and caught a lot of fish!! Over all a great place to stay! Also there is a little tiki hut on the property and the food there was very good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Of the three Hyatt timeshares in Key West this is the one for boaters. It is right on the channel, near marinas and has parking for trailers. I saw boats pull up near the Beach House, drop off the family and then head off to a nearby marina to tie up for the night.

But, if you are in Key West to be in Old Town I don't think Beach House is the place to be. Parking, and paying for parking can be a hassle and driving to Old Town is too. Taxis and shuttles are very costly. Hyatt Sunset Harbor is the place to be in Old Town, it is just as quiet, tucked away in an exclusive residencial area just steps away from all the action. It is also close to the Hyatt hotel for fitness center and steps away from all of the many restaurants located in the Old Town area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great option when travelling with child. Our unit had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, balcony. My daughter loved staying at her 'home' away from home. It's about 10 minutes drive from the historic downtown. For us it wasn't a problem. I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great time at the Beach House. I love the location - you can view sunset from the dock. I guess you could say it's on the corner of the Gulf and Cow Key channel which is a nice area for kayaking. It was convenient to rent the kayaks from the bartender at the Tiki hut. We all enjoyed the pool and the beach area. It was nice that there was a toy chest containing sand toys and noodles for floating in the pool. The hammocks were relaxing. The staff was informative and friendly. We had stayed at Hyatt's Windward Pointe location a few years ago. I prefer the decor of the units at Windward Pointe. The decor and kitchen appliances in the units at the Beach House location are a little outdated. However, I prefer the location and amenitites offered at the Beach House resort and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Beach House Resort

Address: 5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort, residential in nature, set on the east side of the island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Beach House Hotel Key West
Hyatt Beach Hotel
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.