We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars - location aside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Beach House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“4 stars - location aside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked this through interval exchange, here's the +/-, family of 5 with teenagers

Pro's
Clean, well kept, grounds are spotless
The staff was friendly and super responsive. Requests for more towels, etc...were responded to in minutes.
Pool area was not crowded, we were able to get 5 chairs toether any time of day
screened in porch was best part of room set up
Tiki bar prices are very reasonable

Cons:
location - you will have to drive to eat, shop - do anything
No fitness center. You have acces to the Hyatt resort (a 15 minute drive) but have to pay for parking there so. This seems like an easy fix
Tiki bar has no food, extremely limited drink menu
The small manmade beach on the resort is dominated by trees so the water view is limited

Room Tip: Get 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    138
    51
    15
    11
See reviews for
159
72
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rouen, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel. The rooms have the typical Key West Caribbean style, with big terraces overlooking the swimming pool and the tropical garden. Our family spent a great time by the big swimming pool, beach and spa bath. This is clearly luxury, with every little detail well thought of. The only drawback is that the setting is a little far away from Key West restaurant area, so you need to take the car to dine out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Beach House resort is a small resort with all units surrounding the pool, with a few facing the Gulf of Mexico. We particularly enjoyed the large screened porch. The pool was very peasant, the beach small and not very inviting for a swim. There is no food service on-site, but since the units include fully equipped kitchens, that's not a big deal. There is a tiki bar on-site. The resort is on the other side of the island from Duval Street and the action of Key West...it's a ten minute car ride. If you want to be in the midst of it all, this is not the place for you. if you want to take in the action selectively, this will work. the staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly Joyce and Linda, the sister team concierge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am a Marriott owner and used to more amenities in a timeshare but even without a restaurant or outdoor grill or onsite convenience store, we had a lovely time. We were in a 2 bedroom on the third floor with perfect views of the water. No it was not on a beach but we knew that going in. There is an area with beach sand and very comfy cabana beds facing the zero entry pool. Behind us was a body of water. The unit had super comfy beds. But the screened in porch was wonderful to sit in the morning over breakfast or at sunset watching the sky change colors, The housekeeping was not great, floors were not clean, as evidenced by going barefoot in the unit. Concierge staff was helpful and arranged a sunset sail on the schooner Western Union. This was wonderful and well worth the 59 dollars. Not a vessel for party crowd but those are available too. So if you want peace and quiet and tranquility in a very pretty setting and are ok with a property that needs some updating and attention, this is a good choice, rent a car and enjoy all that Key West has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room facing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel with another couple for a joint bachelor/bachelorette weekend. It was absolutely perfect. It had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a balcony, kitchen, pull out sofa, relaxing pool area and right on the water. It was a perfect location. The bedroom in the master bedroom was huge. The hotel isn't in downtown (which I liked), and was only a $4 to $5 per person cab ride to downtown. This is a perfect hotel for familes or couples travelling together.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I'm an owner of this resort and it is now beginning to see the effects of time. The resort is at the end of the island away from Duval Street so is nice and quiet to get away from the "action". The cab ride or shuttle is inexpensive and quick. The desk staff is very friendly and helps with all your needs. On the downside there is no restaurant so you have to go next door to the Marriott to eat or walk a way to a closer restaurant. There is not gift shop or store to buy snacks etc. Just no food. The pool is very dated. It's very shallow and a wasted zero edge that's just very old fashioned. Again, next door, the Marriott has a much better pool.

Room Tip: Quiet Hotel but No Food or Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I took our two adult daughters here for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. Important - read the reviews to understand what you are getting into. There is no restaurant and no workout facility, but we knew that by simply reading carefully. Some reviewers have misplaced expectations. We found it to be very clean, the staff very helpful, and the pool area outstanding for relaxing.

No, it's not on the beach, but keep in mind this is not Miami - the beaches are very limited in Key West and created from imported sand. No, this is not in the heart of the action, but that was't what we wanted. If you want to walk to Duval Street and the bars, choose another place. We had a rental car and we got around just fine.

Thanks to the reviews here, we asked for and got top floor at the end, close to the dock. Perfect view, almost no noise, great breezes. Our room was quite large and the girls' room was adequate. We spent a ton of time on our screened in porch. For the money, and for Key West, where not much is large without a large price, it worked out very well.

We are very experienced travelers, and have stayed in many Hyatt properties. We would absolutely stay here again,

Room Tip: F33 or F34 is the room if you want peace and quiet...so long as you don't mind the extra steps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Beach House Resort

Address: 5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort, residential in nature, set on the east side of the island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Beach House Hotel Key West
Hyatt Beach Hotel
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.