We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Week In Quiet Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Beach House Resort

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 41 hotels in Key West
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Week In Quiet Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am a Marriott owner and used to more amenities in a timeshare but even without a restaurant or outdoor grill or onsite convenience store, we had a lovely time. We were in a 2 bedroom on the third floor with perfect views of the water. No it was not on a beach but we knew that going in. There is an area with beach sand and very comfy cabana beds facing the zero entry pool. Behind us was a body of water. The unit had super comfy beds. But the screened in porch was wonderful to sit in the morning over breakfast or at sunset watching the sky change colors, The housekeeping was not great, floors were not clean, as evidenced by going barefoot in the unit. Concierge staff was helpful and arranged a sunset sail on the schooner Western Union. This was wonderful and well worth the 59 dollars. Not a vessel for party crowd but those are available too. So if you want peace and quiet and tranquility in a very pretty setting and are ok with a property that needs some updating and attention, this is a good choice, rent a car and enjoy all that Key West has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room facing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    114
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
136
55
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel with another couple for a joint bachelor/bachelorette weekend. It was absolutely perfect. It had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a balcony, kitchen, pull out sofa, relaxing pool area and right on the water. It was a perfect location. The bedroom in the master bedroom was huge. The hotel isn't in downtown (which I liked), and was only a $4 to $5 per person cab ride to downtown. This is a perfect hotel for familes or couples travelling together.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I'm an owner of this resort and it is now beginning to see the effects of time. The resort is at the end of the island away from Duval Street so is nice and quiet to get away from the "action". The cab ride or shuttle is inexpensive and quick. The desk staff is very friendly and helps with all your needs. On the downside there is no restaurant so you have to go next door to the Marriott to eat or walk a way to a closer restaurant. There is not gift shop or store to buy snacks etc. Just no food. The pool is very dated. It's very shallow and a wasted zero edge that's just very old fashioned. Again, next door, the Marriott has a much better pool.

Room Tip: Quiet Hotel but No Food or Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I took our two adult daughters here for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. Important - read the reviews to understand what you are getting into. There is no restaurant and no workout facility, but we knew that by simply reading carefully. Some reviewers have misplaced expectations. We found it to be very clean, the staff very helpful, and the pool area outstanding for relaxing.

No, it's not on the beach, but keep in mind this is not Miami - the beaches are very limited in Key West and created from imported sand. No, this is not in the heart of the action, but that was't what we wanted. If you want to walk to Duval Street and the bars, choose another place. We had a rental car and we got around just fine.

Thanks to the reviews here, we asked for and got top floor at the end, close to the dock. Perfect view, almost no noise, great breezes. Our room was quite large and the girls' room was adequate. We spent a ton of time on our screened in porch. For the money, and for Key West, where not much is large without a large price, it worked out very well.

We are very experienced travelers, and have stayed in many Hyatt properties. We would absolutely stay here again,

Room Tip: F33 or F34 is the room if you want peace and quiet...so long as you don't mind the extra steps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, I went with low expectations but we were pleasantly surprised. Upon entering the room - it smelled fresh and looked clean which it was. We were on the top floor (3rd) and our unit provided us with a nice view of the pool and the bay side. Loved the screened in deck with rocking chair, love seat, coffee table and end table as well as a glass top table with 4 wicker chairs with cushions. We ate breakfast out there almost everyday. The dvd in the living room was blu-ray which was a nice surprise as we did rent movies. The Hyatt staff was accommodating when we arrived and acknowledged our questions that we had later on. The fact that this Hyatt was at the northern end of the island worked well for us as we arranged to have a rental bike (Island Safari Rentals-with free delivery) delivered to us at the hotel (my husband brought his) and everyday we had a wonderful ride along North Roosevelt Blvd into the heart of Key West - about 4 miles and didn't have to worry about driving our car and more importantly parking it. It didn't bother us when we were around but you did hear the noise from the pool area - but what is wrong with people enjoying themselves. And maybe being on the top floor eliminated some of the noise but our floor was carpeted. One other thing of note- the shower stall in the main bedroom was not in the confines of a typical bathroom it was in the dressing/sink area. The location may not be as convenient for some but it was fine for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

A 15 minute ride to downtown. Nice pool and beach area, but beware, there were a few little kids,and they scooped a "mess" out of the pool. Now I know why I don't go into the pools at these resorts. The room we had was a little worn, and the shower went from scalding to luke warm, so I just chose to use the second shower. The kitchen faucet also dripped, so I assume they do their own plumbing. From many of the screened porches you can see the ocean, the 3rd floor had a great view in A building. Everyone working here is very friendly.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved this resort so much we actually bought a unit for week 2 of every year here. Unfortunately we can't go this year and hate to see it not used. If anyone is looking for a great 2 bedroom 2 bath full kitchen with living room and screened in porch overlooking the water pls let me know. We love having the quiet to come back to after a fun filled day or evening on Duval. Great for couples or familes! Contact me if intersted for 2013 2nd week of January. Great zero entry pool as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but prefer 2nd floor rooms such as where we bought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Beach House Resort

Address: 5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Beach House Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort, residential in nature, set on the east side of the island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Beach House Hotel Key West
Hyatt Beach Hotel
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.