We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Beach House Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Beach House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Hyatt Beach House Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, I went with low expectations but we were pleasantly surprised. Upon entering the room - it smelled fresh and looked clean which it was. We were on the top floor (3rd) and our unit provided us with a nice view of the pool and the bay side. Loved the screened in deck with rocking chair, love seat, coffee table and end table as well as a glass top table with 4 wicker chairs with cushions. We ate breakfast out there almost everyday. The dvd in the living room was blu-ray which was a nice surprise as we did rent movies. The Hyatt staff was accommodating when we arrived and acknowledged our questions that we had later on. The fact that this Hyatt was at the northern end of the island worked well for us as we arranged to have a rental bike (Island Safari Rentals-with free delivery) delivered to us at the hotel (my husband brought his) and everyday we had a wonderful ride along North Roosevelt Blvd into the heart of Key West - about 4 miles and didn't have to worry about driving our car and more importantly parking it. It didn't bother us when we were around but you did hear the noise from the pool area - but what is wrong with people enjoying themselves. And maybe being on the top floor eliminated some of the noise but our floor was carpeted. One other thing of note- the shower stall in the main bedroom was not in the confines of a typical bathroom it was in the dressing/sink area. The location may not be as convenient for some but it was fine for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    121
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
140
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

A 15 minute ride to downtown. Nice pool and beach area, but beware, there were a few little kids,and they scooped a "mess" out of the pool. Now I know why I don't go into the pools at these resorts. The room we had was a little worn, and the shower went from scalding to luke warm, so I just chose to use the second shower. The kitchen faucet also dripped, so I assume they do their own plumbing. From many of the screened porches you can see the ocean, the 3rd floor had a great view in A building. Everyone working here is very friendly.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved this resort so much we actually bought a unit for week 2 of every year here. Unfortunately we can't go this year and hate to see it not used. If anyone is looking for a great 2 bedroom 2 bath full kitchen with living room and screened in porch overlooking the water pls let me know. We love having the quiet to come back to after a fun filled day or evening on Duval. Great for couples or familes! Contact me if intersted for 2013 2nd week of January. Great zero entry pool as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but prefer 2nd floor rooms such as where we bought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

First and most obvious once you get here, the Beach House has no beach. Second and more disturbing, the noise between units was unexpected and is totally unacceptable for a timeshare. Why on earth would they put a tile floor above a bedroom? The scrape of chairs across the floor is like fingernails across a blackboard when you are trying to sleep, or trying to keep your kids asleep. I was glad not to be in a unit directly over a little swamp, which was sometimes stinky. And although this small resort is indeed waterfront, that view is obstructed by vegetation on lower, inner floors. Things they cannot help: constant very loud noise from the airport and Navy jets, isolation in a construction zone that is already about as far from downtown Key West as you can get. Pros: the staff was friendly and helpful, the unit was nicely designed and clean, and the resort and grounds are very pretty. The pool was great for small kids. Note that there is no restaurant on the premisis. Overall we enjoyed our stay but would not chose this resort on a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms along the north side have a waterway view from the spare bedroom. Rooms on the west ends have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Place is nice but misleading. No beach, just sandy area for kids to okay next to pool. Also I thought there was a restaurant based on website, but it is actually at the other Hyatt downtown. The units are nice, pool nice and heated. Need to travel to the action, we rented a car. Nice for young family. Seems well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

First I will say we are Hyatt owners, so what I am about to share is not easy. We have been Hyatt owners for many years, but I would want owners, guests, exchange guests and nightly guests to not accept anything but a perfectly clean room. First I will hit on the pros – then the hard cons.
Pros –
The rooms are as spacious and very well laid out. The bedding is comfortable, the kitchens well stocked, the layout is good for families. Each bedroom is on opposite sides of the unit. The average size is over 1100 square feet and feels very comfortable. There is a washer and dryer in each unit, there are beach towels and plenty of towels. All the TV’s are flat screen and they have recently replaced the sofas. The biggest pro is the beautiful views; all units have a view of the water due to the layout of the resort. The balcony is screened with table, chairs, love seat and rocker. Not all so clean – but that belongs below with Cons.
Cons –
The units are really starting to show their age, the kitchens need a major rehab, the baseboards were peeling paint, and the water heater was rusty.
But more than the obvious wear and tear on the unit – was that it was filthy. Our feet were BLACK within 5 minutes of walking in the unit. Even the area rug was not vacuumed, the side tables, the coffee tables, all surfaces had sticky spots, water marks – almost everything we touched was just GROSS!!! The fridge had dirt and sand in the unit, the kitchen was not really clean. I cleaned some myself, so we could at least stay the night.
But then I went to take a shower – oh my there was mold, mildew, sludge, unknown material on the walls – it was not as your normal Motel 6. We stayed at an Extended Stay Suites the weekend before for a sporting event – it was 100% cleaner then the Hyatt. I took photos, mailed to the front desk, called and they sent up a cleaning crew the next day.
The new resort manager inspected the room and declared it spotless, well I took one look at the shower and asked him to come back up to the room. They had mopped, but the Master bath was the same, the side tables, coffee tables, all surfaces still had not been cleaned. I told him to just bring me the cleaning supplies – I could not stay in this unit for a week. We pay huge fees to Hyatt for cleaning our timeshare or residence as they now call themselves. They have a long way to go before they reach the same level as Four Seasons or St. Regis. On the third cleaning, they finally got the unit clean.
PLEASE do not accept anything but a clean unit – you are paying for a clean room and deserve a clean room!

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. We liked the fact that it was away from all the noise in Key West and we did have a rental car to get around. The units are spacious and clean. Our only complaint was the occasional loud boat noises on the canal and the traffic noise from the highway. I believe the noise was attributed to the particular room we were in. Also the wood planks that surround the rooms make quite a noise when the Maid's roll their carts on them. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The maids were great and very good about replenishing towels and supplies. The grounds are very nice. Would definetely stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Beach House Resort

Address: 5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort, residential in nature, set on the east side of the island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Beach House Hotel Key West
Hyatt Beach Hotel
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.