We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what is advertised but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Beach House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Hyatt Beach House Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not quite what is advertised but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Place is nice but misleading. No beach, just sandy area for kids to okay next to pool. Also I thought there was a restaurant based on website, but it is actually at the other Hyatt downtown. The units are nice, pool nice and heated. Need to travel to the action, we rented a car. Nice for young family. Seems well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    120
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
140
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

First I will say we are Hyatt owners, so what I am about to share is not easy. We have been Hyatt owners for many years, but I would want owners, guests, exchange guests and nightly guests to not accept anything but a perfectly clean room. First I will hit on the pros – then the hard cons.
Pros –
The rooms are as spacious and very well laid out. The bedding is comfortable, the kitchens well stocked, the layout is good for families. Each bedroom is on opposite sides of the unit. The average size is over 1100 square feet and feels very comfortable. There is a washer and dryer in each unit, there are beach towels and plenty of towels. All the TV’s are flat screen and they have recently replaced the sofas. The biggest pro is the beautiful views; all units have a view of the water due to the layout of the resort. The balcony is screened with table, chairs, love seat and rocker. Not all so clean – but that belongs below with Cons.
Cons –
The units are really starting to show their age, the kitchens need a major rehab, the baseboards were peeling paint, and the water heater was rusty.
But more than the obvious wear and tear on the unit – was that it was filthy. Our feet were BLACK within 5 minutes of walking in the unit. Even the area rug was not vacuumed, the side tables, the coffee tables, all surfaces had sticky spots, water marks – almost everything we touched was just GROSS!!! The fridge had dirt and sand in the unit, the kitchen was not really clean. I cleaned some myself, so we could at least stay the night.
But then I went to take a shower – oh my there was mold, mildew, sludge, unknown material on the walls – it was not as your normal Motel 6. We stayed at an Extended Stay Suites the weekend before for a sporting event – it was 100% cleaner then the Hyatt. I took photos, mailed to the front desk, called and they sent up a cleaning crew the next day.
The new resort manager inspected the room and declared it spotless, well I took one look at the shower and asked him to come back up to the room. They had mopped, but the Master bath was the same, the side tables, coffee tables, all surfaces still had not been cleaned. I told him to just bring me the cleaning supplies – I could not stay in this unit for a week. We pay huge fees to Hyatt for cleaning our timeshare or residence as they now call themselves. They have a long way to go before they reach the same level as Four Seasons or St. Regis. On the third cleaning, they finally got the unit clean.
PLEASE do not accept anything but a clean unit – you are paying for a clean room and deserve a clean room!

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. We liked the fact that it was away from all the noise in Key West and we did have a rental car to get around. The units are spacious and clean. Our only complaint was the occasional loud boat noises on the canal and the traffic noise from the highway. I believe the noise was attributed to the particular room we were in. Also the wood planks that surround the rooms make quite a noise when the Maid's roll their carts on them. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The maids were great and very good about replenishing towels and supplies. The grounds are very nice. Would definetely stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed @ Hyatt Beach House 1st wk Nov (perfect weather). Staff friendly, grounds very pretty, pool & hot tub clean. This is a very attractive resort. They have sand around very shallow portion of pool, great for little ones to play in. Our unit was just great, had everything we needed and was definitely clean. Beds were extremely comfortable! This location is away from busy area of island, but you can walk to botanical garden! Shuttle to Hyatt Hotel, whenever we needed it, for $5 each way, was very convenient. Once dropped off there we easily walked down Front St to Duval, & This was our first trip to Key West, and we were glad to get back to Beach House each evening. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We overlooked pool - center of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Traded one of our unit in Old Town Key West for a week here. The Beach House is very nice but away from everything! Our unit was clean, had all the amenities of a timeshare and very spacious. Grounds were beautiful. Staff was friendly and helpful.If you are traveling with children and want to be away from the craziness of Old Town this place is for you. Shuttle will take you to Hyatt's sister resort in Old Town for $5.00 per person each way. Down side of resort, no resturants or entertainment within walking distance. Mattress and pillows were old and very uncomfortable.The Hyatt offers grocery delivery for $30.00 dollars for orders under a $100.00 or 30% of bills over $100.00. They use Faustos grocery that will deliver for only $5.00 anywhere in Key West. So save your money and order through Faustos website or call them.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We own this unit at Beach House - not the week that we went - we actually had our unit. We go to FantasyFest every year and have stayed at all the Hyatt's. Unit was clean, had all the anenities of a time share. Grounds were imaculate. Front desk people were super nice and helpful.

They had a shuttle ($5 person)every half hour into the city as parking is hard to get and EXPENSIVE for FantasyFest. $2 hour at the meters isn't bad. BUT $40 cash at municiple lots and $60 at private lots is robbery!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A great place to stay when visiting Key West. The resort is out of the center of town so it is quiet and yet easy to get to town when you want to. Grounds and pool are beautiful; porches are all screened in; units are spacious and clean. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sunset view...spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Beach House Resort

Address: 5051 Overseas Highway, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort, residential in nature, set on the east side of the island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Beach House Hotel Key West
Hyatt Beach Hotel
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.