We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of Old Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almond Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Almond Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Almond Tree Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Tripadvisor Discount
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersGold level
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A gem in the heart of Old Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I chose the Almond Tree Inn based on the numerous positive reviews of others', and I'm so happy that I did! Shay, Bill & Cheryl have put their hearts & souls into making the Almond Tree Inn a tranquil yet fun oasis for their guests. They are there to accommodate their guests 24/7, and serve a splendid, continental breakfast, as well as a complimentary Happy Hour every evening. The rooms are ultra clean, modern, and well decorated in Conch Republic style. The private cabana on the 2nd level was a perfect de-stressor at the end of the day. The best asset of the Inn is the location. It is within walking distance of Duval St. without the noise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    609
    122
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
120
407
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was totally renovated in October, 2012. It is absolutely gorgeous. My daughter and I were here the week of January 7, 2013. The location is perfect...just one block from the beginning of the quiet section of Duval. There is a CVS next door, too, if you forget something. The room had a microwave, refrigerator and Keurig type coffee maker.. The grounds boast a soothing koi pond and waterfall, pool and hot tub. There is a continental breakfast as well as happy hour and simple snack foods from 5-7. By the way, we did not rent a car and this lodging was perfect. There is really not much of a need for a car in KW. Parking is $8. Per night otherwise.
The hotel is only a 3 block walk to the Hemingway House and a 10 minute walk to the Butterfly Conservatory and Southernmost Point. It is a bit more of a walk, say 20 minutes, to get to the hubbub of Mallory Square. We were there when it was 80 and very humid, so we decided to take the walk slowly and savor the sights and sounds of Duval Street while heading up to Mallory
Square.
The air conditioning is adjustable and powerful and somewhat noisy,as is typical in a hotel room. The bathroom was generously appointed with towels, but not so much the soap and shampoo.
We were greeted by Cheryl at the front desk the afternoon we signed in. She cheerfully helped us look at a map of Key West and pointed out special places. She also served us at happy hour. Our morning breakfast was put out by Shea. She was able to order a taxi, that appeared in 5 minutes, the morning of our departure.
Some people are very fond of the typical Key West Bed and Breakfast scene. I am more of a convenience person and enjoy nicely kept, clean, and, if possible, relatively modern facilities.
The ultimate questions are these...do I regret my choice?....absolutely not! Would I stay again? You bet I would. This is a five star lodging in Key West!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was one of those rare occasions where all of the positive reviews and photos you read online actually are true! The Almond Tree Inn is a little, unpretentious jewel perfectly situated on Truman Avenue about a block away from the heart and soul of Key West, Duval Street. But the hotel and rooms are removed enough from the hustle and bustle so it makes you feel like you're in your own private retreat and its very calm and quiet. The room was modern, the bed, duvet and mattress were firm and clean, the shower was very strong (always a plus for me) all with free wi-fi and plenty of room amenities. The all-inclusive breakfast in the morning is a fantastic bonus with fresh fruit, juices, coffee, cereals, bagels, and breads and the complimentary wine and cheese at cocktail hour is the ideal way to start any evening in Key West. The hotel staff was warm, friendly and incredibly helpful at all times and really added that "delight factor" to the our stay in Key West. Although our trip was brief (only 2 nights), it was a memorable one due, in no small part, to our time at the Almond Tree Inn. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms near the back, near the pool and further away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Md
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our holiday vacation started off with the airlines misplacing luggage. The staff were very helpful.
From the time we checked in until we left we had an exceptional time.
I was pleasantly surprised Of the accomodation that was made for my food allergy; allowing me to enjoy breakfast.
Superb customer service, great accomodations, and lovely grounds!
Could not have asked for a better experiance.
We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Room Awesome, Location Awesome, Value Awesome, People Awesome, what more is there to say. Thanks. We really loved this place. Gave us a room on short notice. Particularly liked the people, did a great jog of looking after us.

Room Tip: No resturant or fitness center. The breakfast and afternoon snacks and the pool were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

this is a great place to stay, we were warmly greated by Sheryl and she makes you feel so welcome, thank you!
the rooms are small but big enough, efficient and very nicely modern decorated. The shower is great , the bed is very comfortable, deluxe ! Sufficient storage space.
rooms are very clean and the area outside has a Spa, small pool and some deckbeds.
the breakfast gives you a choice of different things (although we would prefer more truly healthy food which is a challenge in many places) and can be enjoyed outside in a cosy corner.
Location wise, this is in the middle of Key West, close to everything,but just away from possible noise from the main Duval street.
Overall, definitely great place, we would come back and surely recommend it.

Room Tip: not sure it matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I just spent three nights here, including New Year's Eve. The prices everywhere in Key West escalate dramatically during holidays such as this so we knew going in that we were paying too much but they allowed us a 3-night stay when many places require 4 or 5. The location is outstanding, walking distance to everything! The room was very comfortable, as well as quiet and dark when we wanted it to be. The service was good enough, though better on some days than others. They offer a complementary breakfast which we did not try, however we did briefly enjoy their little poolside happy hour on a couple of occasions. They offer on-site parking, a real plus if you drive down, as we did. We look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 105,in the single level area near the pool and office. We were happy with it but I imag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Almond Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Tree Inn

Address: 512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Tree Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Almond Tree Inn came to life this summer as construction crews worked nearly around the clock for four months to complete the project in time for the celebration. We pulled together beautiful, green minded, and Made in the USA products from the top manufactures and designers in the industry. The guest rooms feature custom made furnishings, amazing showers, the latest in technology, stunning wood floors, luxurious linens, and beautiful artwork by local artist.With the ambiance of a secluded resort you would never imagine Duval Street is just 50 steps outside our gates... "Ranked in the Top 5 Hotels & Resorts in Key West by TripAdvisor with over 400 five star ratings" Winner "Certificate of Excellence 2011, 2012, & 2013".Give us a call to book your stay and join us in Celebrating a New Almond Tree Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Almond Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Tree Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almond Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.