We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wicker Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wicker Guesthouse to your Saves list
Wicker Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   913 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Riga, Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
“A good place to stay in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Few blocks from the action and noise, but very quiet and relaxing on the property. The room was great, a little small but very confortable and clean.Front desk staff was very helpful, especially Baiba, she helped us with all the activities and directed us where to go and what to see, also she gave us cupons for numerous places so we can get free drinks.
Over all we had an amazing time and we will definately come back to Key West again and stay at the Wicker Guesthouse!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    121
    54
    48
    45
See reviews for
67
184
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had a terrific experience here. The rooms are wonderful. The location is perfect. The price / value is excellent. There is a pool in the back. The hospitality is wonderful. Randy, the person at the front desk, is also great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here by myself midweek. I paid 150.00 per night. while that is not a lot to some, I didn't feel that it was worth the money.
The room I was given was very small with one queen size bed. It felt lumpy and softer- not too my taste. There was an awkward outdoor wicker table and two chairs on the other side of the room. NO decorations or personal touches in the room of any kind! (Very un Key West like.) To top it off, your front door, had little frosted windows with no curtain, so the sun came in early and woke me up each morning! No sleeping in here!
There was no closet, no phone, no clock of any kind in my room, no box of tissues, and no hair conditioner. (and if you want a hair dryer you have to go downstairs and get yourself.)
The complementary breakfast was ok, the usual toast and yogurt type situation. But the coffee was horrible! Try staying someplace else-wicker House is better left as a last resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am writing this review before I check out as we have just had a terrible night in this place.

We booked a quiet location in Key West so we could enjoy Duval street and then return to sleep later in the night. The Wicker Guesthouse must have been the sub agents for these apartments and we had to pick the key up from here. On arrival we were told there was a 'problem' with the other place and we would have to stay here in Duval Street.

Wicker Guesthouse were not full so, in retrospect, I hope this wasn't the reason the other place was suddenly unavailable and we had to stay here.

They assured us they had the internet. I am sending this via my mobile wifi as their internet is not working - yet again. In a month of travelling, this is the worst internet service we've had as it is virtually unusable. Seeing as my mobile WIfi works, I can't see why they can't sort out a service that is at least usable. We were located directly above the office so it's not as if we are a long way away.

Re wanting a quiet room. After being told of the change we stressed that a quiet room is what we wanted. We were assured that all the action was down the other end of Duval St. and this end was fine. Randy also said with the door shut, we wouldn't hear anything. The appearance from the outside was seductive with a beautiful big tree and a verandah surrounding the room. Being a Thursday night and not a weekend, we took him on faith.

How wrong could he be ! It was a disaster.

Drunken groups were noisily working their way up the street until about 3.30 a.m.; motorbikes with extra loud exhaustswere hooning up the street until very early this morning. There was a huge amount of activity - it was like a drunken party immediately outside our room. We had less than a half hours peace from 3.30 am and then the roosters started. When the roosters finished, the cleaning vehicles and delivery trucks moved in. As I type this, there is a large motor running nearby and a lo ud motor bike is roaring up the street.

I can't begin to imagine how noisy Wicker Guesthouse place would be like on a Friday or Saturday night as we were here during the week. Duval Street is not the place to stay unless you plan to be up all night.

To rub salt into the wounds, the toilet has stopped working this morning.

Don't get seduced by the photos or what personnel say about this place. Read the reviews carefully and between the lines you will find the real picture.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you need the internet or at least some sleep during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose this guesthouse for the location on Duval Street and for this we weren't disappointed. The location could not be better within walking distance of everywhere.

The rooms were more than adequate. However they aren't particularly sound proofed, so you might want to take ear plugs, particularly as some of the neighbouring guesthouses can be noisy. Bizarrely one morning about 8am they had decorators scraping and painting the outside of the room we were in and the staff never thought to give us notice that this was happening!

There also appeared to be some sort of housekeeping staffing crisis and the rooms were surface, rather than deep, cleaned. Also one day we had no cleaning staff at all, and another day I had to call reception just before the cleaning staff went home to get the room serviced. We were told that as we were there for 2 weeks we weren't due for a full service every day. Well I didn't get a reduced rate for being there for 2 weeks, so to me that is not good enough. I'd have rather they said sorry, you got missed it won't happen again, rather than attempt to deflect.

In fact the room servicing was so slapdash I never left a tip for the housekeeping staff, which is a first for me. My tip for them would be "clean the room next time". I think that the location of this guesthouse means that they really don't have to worry about repeat business, so this is why they weren't interested in our housekeeping issues.

The breakfast was OK but not worth getting up for (there was 1 toaster for all the guests apart from one morning when there were 2 and then back to 1 for some strange reason) as very little was put out at one time and it took too long to get it.

All in all this was a nice enough guesthouse in a great spot, but not good enough to make it a priority choice when visiting fabulous Key West again. There are a lot of other nice places just off Duval that will be as good if not better. It's a shame, because with a bit more thought and effort this place could be fabulous.

Room Tip: I think it's pretty much you get what's free - I would say poolside rooms would be noisy owi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had booked a reservation at the Wicker Guesthouse for my birthday and let them know it would be a special occasion. They took such great care of us; they upgraded us to a private villa called Heather's Villa and it was amazing! It was spacious, the decoration very reminiscent of Miami/Cuba, their sofa bed has got to be one of the most comfortable pull out sofa beds I've ever slept on, their bathroom is huuuge and the shower is awesome! We barely used the kitchen because of all the great restaurants that are really close but it was fully stocked with cups, plates, utensils and even pots and pans! Lots of towels and bedding so we didn't even need housekeeping to replenish anything! It rained terribly on both days we were there but the balcony is so comfortable and spacious that my family and I just ordered delivery and sat there, people watching. We had such a great time and our accommodations played a big part in that experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We chose the Wicker Guesthouse for their location, and we were extremely pleased! It's located right in the heart of the action of Key West. It's just a block and a half from the Hemingway House, a short distance from the Southernmost Point, and a nice pub crawl from Mallory Square.

If you are looking for a 5 star resort, stop reading and book elsewhere. The room we had was indeed small, but our plans only included sleeping. There is a pool that we did not use, but was clean and spacious. Breakfast was more than acceptable.

The overall security and noise, was just fine.

We left our car in their parking lot and didn't use it the entire visit in KW.

Great place to lay your head in KW.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wicker Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Guesthouse

Address: 913 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wicker Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Quiet Oasis in the Heart of Old Town Key West. Our peaceful hideaway lets you enjoy our tranquil island setting while right out your front door you’ll enter the excitement of Key West’s main street, Duval Street. If it’s browsing art galleries, shopping, watersports, enjoying the nightlife and entertainment or a beautiful sunset, it’s all within walking distance. A complimentary poolside continental breakfast, limited but free parking and all rooms have a private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wicker Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicker Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicker Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.