We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Quaint on Busy Duval” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wicker Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wicker Guesthouse to your Saves list
Wicker Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   913 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and Quaint on Busy Duval”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from Key West and we stayed at the Wicker Guesthouse with their stay 3, 4th free Summer Special. We absolutely LOVED this place!

First of all, the staff was SO helpful with everything! Friendly and informative, the two people we dealt with in the main office gave us suggestions about things to do and booked a few activities for us. They also let us keep our bags in the office since we arrived early and let us leave them there after we checked out because we had a late flight back home. They were great!

Second, the place is so cute and quaint. Like a lot of other reviews said, you don't even feel like your on Duval Street because its so quiet and peaceful. It feels like a little oasis off the main road. We stayed in a "treetop" room which had its own porch that we used quite a bit to sit and relax. Our room was VERY clean and comfortable and the bathroom was great with this beautiful walk in shower. We had a nice flat screen TV, a microwave and mini-fridge--a lot of amenities we didn't expect and were grateful to have!

The pool was a favorite of ours. We spent a lot of time lounging about around the area, whether for breakfast or just having a dip in the pool. The pool was utilized a lot by the other patrons but it wasn't cramped by any means. There were even a few times during the day when we had the pool all to ourselves.

The breakfast is a nice continental breakfast with bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, and pastries. They also had orange juice, water, and coffee/tea out as well. It was wonderful waking up and sitting by the pool for breakfast.

The location of the Guesthouse is perfect. Its right on Duval, very close to the "Southernmost Point." You don't really need a car or anything if you're staying here. We walked up and down Duval which is where all the action is. If you want to rent a bike, you can do so from the main office or walk 2 blocks down to Tropical Rentals for a scooter or golf cart.

Overall, we would 100% come back to the Wicker Guesthouse and would recommend this place to anyone looking to stay right in the heart of Key West.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    112
    47
    41
    30
See reviews for
59
164
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Hill, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed at the Wicker Guesthouse for 4 nights and 5 days for the destination wedding of dear friends. 19 of us took over half of the B&B and could not have been happier with our stay. Excellent service, clean, friendly (Yay Randy and the rest of the staff!), and all the rooms each had their own character with charming patina showing a bit of age, without compromising cleanliness. The pool/patio area played a large part of the wedding festivities and worked perfectly for pre-wedding events and reception. Breakfast was nothing special, but certainly adequate and tasty as a continental breakfast, as promised. Pastries, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. For those who want something more substantial, Denny's is 4 doors down on the same block.

I stayed in Room #1 which was above the front porch facing Duvall Street. I heard nothing as far as road noise and enjoyed the fact that the room was somewhat on it's own and private...with a fairly private porch. The king sized bed was so comfortable, and there was a large private bathroom and huge closet area. It was an adequately sized, but not large room, which worked fine! While I wasn't in the room much considering our busy schedule (including LOTS of time on a raft in the Wicker pool), I could easily see spending a rainy day bouncing back and forth with a book between bed and porch without feeling cramped.

After reading some reviews, it seems unfair to pick at some wear and tear. This is a bed and breakfast. But it's the most well appointed bed and breakfast with unexpected amenities (ice machines, guest kitchen, pool, beach towels) I've seen. It doesn't promise to be a hotel, but it sure is close! A great value for the money, and our group participated in a stay three nights and the fourth night is free deal.

Casual, comfortable, clean and convenient! I hope to return soon, but until I do, The Wicker will be my first suggestion for anyone planning a visit to Key West.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Spent one night (Saturday) at the Wicker Guesthouse in Key West. The property itself is quite quaint, and it's nicely located on the quiet end of Duval Street, but it's not maintained that well. The room itself (a king right by the pool) was nicely decorated, and the bathroom had recently been refurbished (I think). The bedding (duvet and cushions) needed to be cleaned (there were several stains) though.
I would have alerted the staff to this on our night of arrival but since we arrived after 5pm, we had to do a late check in on our own (service ahead of our arrival was good though, with the receptionist calling us ahead of time and giving us all the info necessary to pick up our key and instructions on how to get to the room).
The common area seems to be quite popular with guests and upon coming back to the hotel after dinner, there was a large group of people around the pool listening to music and having drinks. They turned the music off by 11:30, but stuck around for a couple more hours. The noise was not really a problem for me, but at breakfast the following morning the tables were still stained with red wine, and the whole set up was just not what it could be (it's a nice garden, and with some care sitting out there for breakfast could be a nice experience). Also the breakfast itself is very basic, and self service.
Moreover, we asked for an extra hour at check out, and were told this was impossible (not much flexibility, especially considering we'd done our own check in the night before at 6pm).
All in all I believe there is potential there, but staff need to be more present to ensure a more hospitable atmosphere, it felt a bit like being in an abandoned home, which is disappointing considering the rates (medium to high for Key West guesthouses).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night. Very nice. Beautiful. A little age on it but still great. Loved our room, pool,etc. Front desk gentleman was sweetheart. Continental breakfast could had a little more, maybe some protein. Lounge area with ice machine, fridge,mini kitchen was definately a plus. Would have loved to stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Found this place on line and it did not disappoint me on arrival. The room was more than adequate although I had a room on the side of a building that has a restaurant next door-can be a bit noisy late. Breakfast outdoors was a nice change of pace. All of the staff were most accommodating in all apsects. The location is great for easily getting to everywhere in Key West. Overall, it was a good deal for the price. I have already recommnded it to others

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Took my elderly mother to Key West and chose Wicker Guesthouse for it's location. It is within walking distance to many things and a short walk to the Trolly. We had a wonderful stay. The Wicker Guesthouse is an older, Key West style hotel. We found it quaint and relaxing. Our room was clean, and the bathroom had been updated and was very nice. We had a nice kitchenette in our room. Only complaint was water pressure. Sometimes the shower would run cold or hot on you. But not a big issue. The Continental breakfast was fabulous. They served it on grounds near the pool. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Somewhat pricey, but we found anything in Duval St. vicinity to be so. We had a wonderful stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: We liked our room on the 2nd floor in the back, called the Treehouse. You could see the pool from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you like to stay in a filthy place, then this is the right place for you!!! Our room had plenty of cockroaches, red ants, and bed bugs! We itched all night. A totally disgusting experience and place to stay. Also, there is no parking. So, if you are planning to have a nice vacation, don't waste your money on this place!!!! They will ruin your vacation. :(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicker G, Manager at Wicker Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
This family stayed with us for 4 days!!! If guests are ever unhappy with our guesthouse we offer them a refund the remainder of their stay so they can stay somewhere else if they so wish. They also received a FREE night through our Summer Special. We receive so many great reviews because we strive to make our guests happy and enjoy their stay. Two weeks prior to their arrival the room was redone. It received 2 new mattresses, a new AC unit installed, new bed comforters, new balcony furniture and a new door. We offered to show the guest these receipts when they complained. To address some of the things in the review:
- We do NOT have bed bugs! Vengeful people tend to throw around bed bugs this day in age because it's a scare tactic and just plain mean for a property that strives itself on bed bug prevention. All of our rooms have protective coverings/encasements around the mattresses and box springs. So, it's not even a possibility to have bed bugs since we protected every one of our mattresses and box springs.
- We actually parked their car for them 3 or 4 times. So, I'm not sure how parking was a problem for them. The wife said she wasn't comfortable doing it and the husband has vision problems so we offered to park their vehicle in the back for them (close to their room).
- They complained about ants. Within 45 minutes we had our exterminator here to check the room. When we checked the room with the exterminator they had soda spilt on the counter and an open bag of chips.
The guests told our front desk employee that he wanted to talk to our General Manager so he could, "straighten her out." After talking with our GM he said he would call every BBB, Trip Advisor, Yelp, Chamber, etc. until he got a full refund. After our GM said it wasn't a possibility he said he'd settle for a partial refund.
This guest just wanted a cheap (even free if possible) vacation and is using untruths to try and achieve it. It's sad when people hurt family run/local businesses like this for their own gain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wicker Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Guesthouse

Address: 913 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wicker Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Quiet Oasis in the Heart of Old Town Key West. Our peaceful hideaway lets you enjoy our tranquil island setting while right out your front door you’ll enter the excitement of Key West’s main street, Duval Street. If it’s browsing art galleries, shopping, watersports, enjoying the nightlife and entertainment or a beautiful sunset, it’s all within walking distance. A complimentary poolside continental breakfast, limited but free parking and all rooms have a private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wicker Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicker Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicker Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.