We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southwinds Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Southwinds Motel to your Saves list
Southwinds Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Great location, very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This motel was better than expected. The price was high, but it seems typical for Key West. Everything is within walking distance: Duval street, beaches, landmarks. It was good for one night in Key West. We will definitely be back to check out this great town!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice Hotel in walking distance to Duval Street.
You get a nice, clean room with fridge and microwave.
You have a small pool.
In the morning you get coffee and muffins.
Wifi is a little bit slow.
The price is high but one of the best in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff is amazing, the girl at the reception was very welcoming and went out of her way to please us ! I'm really happy about my stay !
The room was very clean and pretty, it is a little small but we did not need anything bigger than that ! Plus the parking is free and they serve muffin with fruits in the morning !
I recommend this hotel for its accessible price and once again for its amazing staff !!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We reserved a room with some hesitation due to other reviews that we read and not knowing what to expect from an older motel.
Upon arrival we found that the staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Our room was not what we have grown to be accustomed to though we found it to be clean, comfortable, and charming.
Overall our stay was very nice. The bathroom was somewhat small, but shower was a decent size.
Because the motel is older and the air conditioning is by window units I would have like to had a ceiling fan.
We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Made a res.for Sunday night on Friday
Saturday I found a place. .so i called to cancel. .thinking I would have to pay something for canceling ...no refunds
With less than 2 weeks notice .
So I am screwed out the full price.
Time to call visa..

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this nice Motel in Key West for 2 nights. The staff at reception was very kind and helpful, although we did not realize that in the morning we could have a small breakfast offered (but certainly we have not got understand well - the understanding of the American-Inglese, although we speak English, was not easy! ). Overall, the services of the Motel are certainly discrete, to be classified as a structure with 2 stars. We get points not positive of our stay:
- The room we were given (number 19) was very pretty, but it was a refrigerator. Unfortunately it was not possible to control the air conditioning in autonomy, as the temperature and the power of the air you could control only by the reception (near to the room), as the system was centralized with the reception, as this room was the former manager's house (so told us the receptionist).
- We booked via Booking.com and despite our reservation was for 3 people (confirmed by the reservation and of the advance payment of the first night), when we got to the room, the double bed was ready, while the sofa bed for the third person was still closed but especially not ready (we had to prepare the bed by us!). This is not a service that you would expect from any hotel or motel. If the reservation is for 3 people in the room all the beds have to be prepared to accommodate 3 people!
- The room was not very quiet, because the outer wall bordered conditioner engine (very large) and not at all quiet. During the night it was inevitable not wake up to the noise.

We complained about the cold in the room, but the staff at the recption was not able to help us, because we were told that the air could not be turned off because would be off even that of the reception that could not be turned off to avoid computer overheating. They told us that they would leave a note for the manager, to solve the problem (or find a way out), but nothing has changed. Nobody told us anything, much less no manager has presented us with an apology for having stayed in a room where there were practically almost 15-20 degrees difference between outside and inside!

Considering that we have paid not a few money to stay at this Motel, I expected at least an apology as indicated: third bed not ready (and remade hurt the next day) and air conditioning very cold and not adjustable.

I think it's clear that the properties of the Motel, which also owns a resort not far, maybe it's more concerned with the clientele of the resort than the motel.

I would recommend this property, but not the room that we had!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our third time visiting the motel because we enjoy the retro style of the place. They've been re-doing the interiors for the past few years now and we always look forward to going there. It's only a block from the beach and a block from Duval St. For us, it's the perfect place to setup and go anywhere we want to. The staff is friendly and even with the few glitches we had with towels, everything else was perfect. Can't wait to go back there next time we're in Fla. & the Keys.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Southwinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwinds Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Southwinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean affordable motel rooms only 1 block from Duval Street at the Southernmost point of the Island of Key West. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Southwinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwinds Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.