We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considering: it could have been better, it could have been worse.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southwinds Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Southwinds Motel to your Saves list
Southwinds Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Considering: it could have been better, it could have been worse.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I certainly thought I had done enough research, and considering we could have done worse, I guess it was okay. We arrived at 3:15 and the room was not ready so we left our phone number and went to eat. We went back to the motel at 4:30 and the room was ready, even though we had never received a call indicating so. I was a bit concerned when we were directed to drive off the property, drive to the next intersection, turn right, and go down the alley (which, as it turns out was really a street) and park in a very small lot at our room's door. My lovely bride was deeply concerned at the hair on the floor and in the shower, as well as covering the duvet on the bed. It was cleaned the next day after she mentioned it to the desk staff. I was somewhat dismayed by the tube TV (really?????). There was a small table and two chairs, a microwave, and a refrigerator. In order to get ice one must go to the office (between the hours of 8 a.m. and 10 p.m.) and ask the staff person to get some ice for you (they had to lock it up because people were filling coolers-------horrors!!) There was no coffee maker in the room and when I asked for one I was told that "oh, I think there's one in there, but the office has coffee in the morning." The two pools were clean and warm, but closed at 8 p.m. The continental breakfast was muffins and coffee (if you wait until 8 a.m. or whenever someone opens the door), The location was good, the cramped------heaven forbid that an SUV parks next to you) parking was free. The staff were pleasant and conversational. You can catch the Old Town Trolley across the street and walk to Duval Street. There are many dining options nearby, as well. Do some more research and consider all lodging options carefully before booking the Southwinds Motel, you could do better, you could do worse.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Southwinds Motel Guest,
Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business.

I apologize that you could not give us a better rating. If you give the Southwinds Motel another chance, I would encourage you to call me directly for your next reservation. I will assure you an excellent stay.

I will share your comments with the staff and assure we will follow up on the issues you had. Again thank you for taking the time to let us know.

Again and the Southwinds Motel staff would love for you to give us another opportunity and hopefully you will at your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean enough. There are plenty of pools (2). If you're lucky you'll be next to one. Offers a Kitchenette. The service is mediocre-good depending on who you're speaking to. Pools do close. Maid service does a fine job.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Southwinds Motel Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

W completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel on December 1, 2014. Thank you for noticing the enhancements we did to the motel.

The Southwinds Motel staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect place to stay in Key West! Who needs all the extra hotel frills when you are in paradise! The price was right, rooms were clean, and the staff was frendly! We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Key West!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Southwinds Motel Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

W completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel on December 1, 2014. You were one of our 1st guests for 2015! Happy New Year. Thank you for noticing the enhancements we did to the motel.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Southwinds Motel staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely recommend this place, fabulous friendly helpful staff.. We arrived too early and they let us park up, no problem. Brilliant location, 1 block from Duvall street and beaches. Beds super comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Southwinds Motel Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

W completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel just as you arrived. Thank you for noticing the enhancements we did to the motel.

As you know, we have a great location as well as our staff. Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Southwinds Motel staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Do yourself and your pocket book a favor by staying here--you'll be so glad you did for so many reasons! I had just had a rare bad experience at a nearby hotel, and this place balanced it out in every way! The staff was so nice, comforting and incredibly understanding, they all went out of their way to help me with many things, including getting my money back from the other hotel! Also know two things: 1) although it used to be called "Ocean Breeze," it has since been taken over by a new owner who has already spent a lot on renovations, etc., and constantly continues, so it now incudes much bigger rooms which feel as if you are renting half a cottage; and 2) only the "Spendthrift" motel across the street will be torn down, so no need to worry about the rest. The location also can't be beat, so enjoy this surprising treat!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Southwinds Motel Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

W completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel just as you arrived. Thank you for noticing the enhancements we did to the motel.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Southwinds Motel staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We frequently would stay at the ocean breeze and were the last guest to be there before the sale. We returned this week. Some improvements of fresh paint were done. No dresser in the room and 6 hangers. I did not like the pool area as they removed numerous plants around the area it looks sterile. Our room had a kitchenette (our request for this room) microwave was broken , they only have blinds up ( no black out curtains) and a spotlight outside that shine directly on the bed area. Did not really get any sleep. they report free coffee in the morning from 8-11am. I was there at 8:05 door locked 8:20 they were running late, returned at 10am for empty coffee pot. the next day i decided to go around 8:25 and they had "difficulties" . Not sure if I am going to return there or not.

Room Tip: room 37 is not a good room to choose if you are a light sleeper as there is a spotlight directly beh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Southwinds Motel Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Since your visit, we have completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel. Come see our newly remodeled motel.

Part of the renovations included cleaning up plants around the pool areas as well as the entire plan for landscaping at the motel. Most guests like the openness of the pool for sunbathing and views.
.
The Southwinds Motel staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We had tried to stay here for two nights but they were fully booked for the first night. The extremely helpful Andrew arranged for us to say next door at the Spanish Gardens for the first night, and we were very pleased to move because Southwinds was so much better for a similar price. the room had two windows so was light and airy seeming and the furniture was elegant and well chosen. There were no facilities such as tae and coffee making, or a hairdryer, although there was a fridge and a microwave and there was complimentary coffee and muffins in the morning - sadly no tea. All in all very pleasant, and convenient for walking into the busy part of Key West. We wish we could have spent our entire Key West stay here.

Room Tip: we had 9 - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaMariaGM, General Manager at Southwinds Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Southwinds Motel Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you return….soon!

Since your visit, we have completed our very extensive renovation at Southwinds Motel. Come see our newly remodeled motel.

Thank you very much for the 5 Star rating!

The Southwinds Motel staff and I look forward to your next visit to Key West.

Sincerely,
Steve Mungall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southwinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwinds Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Southwinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean affordable motel rooms only 1 block from Duval Street at the Southernmost point of the Island of Key West. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Southwinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwinds Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.