We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but attractive and freshly renovated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southwind Motel

Southwind Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southwind Motel to your Saves list
Southwind Motel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 96 Key West B&B and Inns
Ottawa ON Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Basic but attractive and freshly renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent value for the money in Key West. Friendly staff, calm location. Near the Southernmost Point. The pool was small but refreshing. Much better than I expected, and would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
15
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you're looking for a resort or spa experience this isn't your place but If you're looking for a place to sleep it's just fine. It's obviously older but very clean and well-maintained. The staff is very nice and I always felt welcome. My room was a large, one-bed efficiency with a refrigerator and microwave. The bed was large and comfortable and my room was thoroughly cleaned each day. There's even a very nice pool. The location can't be beat. It's on the eastern end of the island which tends to be quieter and you're close to the southernmost point. Really my only complaint is that they don't have an ice machine and there are no ice trays for the freezer in the room. If you like to be pampered in your room look elsewhere; but if you're looking for a nice place to sleep at a good price it's great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Cheaper than nearby places, has all the basic amenities. Very clean and conveniently located, close to Duval street and southernmost point. They have coffee 24 hrs, there is no breakfast option, we stayed for a night. Book way in advance for your Key West stay as hotels/motels become quite pricey down there. Safe to say that this was the most pricey during our new year Fl trip (close to 200 incl. Tax), but it was the cheapest option in all of Key West. They have wifi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

You're not in Key West to sleep or stay in your room, so this was a cost-effective place to crash for a few hours! It's older and average, but was clean and safe and located right in the heart of the old town just a few blocks away from the "southernmost" icon marker.

No ice machine (bummer) and few amenities, but for $89 was a good choice. There is a refrigerator in the room and wifi and free parking makes this a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new smyrna beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed here a few times. The people have always been good to us and very friendly. I don't need to spend, $200 a night for a room that I am only going to be in for 10 hours a day. Our first time there, we were checking out on a Sunday, and knowing that parking down there, can be a pain, we asked, would y'all mind if we left the car here and walked to church? They said, no problem. It's one block away from Duval Street, yet, quite. Park the car and Bring the bicycles. Location is great, and so is the price.

Room Tip: The first time we stayed there, we needed a room that slept 6, and they had it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is an older hotel that is extremely clean and comfortable. The first year we went to Key West we stayed at the CASA but soon realized for the price you are just not in your room enough to justify such an expense. The next year we found Southwinds. It's a older hotel but EXTREMELY clean and comfortable. We like to stay in one of the rooms that has a little kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, microwave etc... We have stayed here for the last 9 years and book as soon as we leave for the next year. We save tons of money and have a comfortable clean place to sleep and so close to Duval. We can financially stay anywhere we want but also realize the value of our dollar and would recommend Southwinds every time......as for Linda she's awesome!!!

Room Tip: One of the kitchenette rooms is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Southwind Motel is an older property but well maintained and extremely clean. Located on Simonton one block off Duval, on the ocean end of Duval in Old Town. Room had two double beds, a mini fridge and recently remodeled bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southwind Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwind Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Southwind Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Southwind Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwind Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.