We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the Price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southwind Motel

Southwind Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southwind Motel
1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
new smyrna beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat the Price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed here a few times. The people have always been good to us and very friendly. I don't need to spend, $200 a night for a room that I am only going to be in for 10 hours a day. Our first time there, we were checking out on a Sunday, and knowing that parking down there, can be a pain, we asked, would y'all mind if we left the car here and walked to church? They said, no problem. It's one block away from Duval Street, yet, quite. Park the car and Bring the bicycles. Location is great, and so is the price.

Room Tip: The first time we stayed there, we needed a room that slept 6, and they had it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
15
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is an older hotel that is extremely clean and comfortable. The first year we went to Key West we stayed at the CASA but soon realized for the price you are just not in your room enough to justify such an expense. The next year we found Southwinds. It's a older hotel but EXTREMELY clean and comfortable. We like to stay in one of the rooms that has a little kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, microwave etc... We have stayed here for the last 9 years and book as soon as we leave for the next year. We save tons of money and have a comfortable clean place to sleep and so close to Duval. We can financially stay anywhere we want but also realize the value of our dollar and would recommend Southwinds every time......as for Linda she's awesome!!!

Room Tip: One of the kitchenette rooms is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Southwind Motel is an older property but well maintained and extremely clean. Located on Simonton one block off Duval, on the ocean end of Duval in Old Town. Room had two double beds, a mini fridge and recently remodeled bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Southwind. It started off very sour as there was a sign on the door with a "be right back". After a while of waiting we called the after-hours line posted on the front wall. The lady was NOT happy that we did that b/c it costs them. Well we asked the all-important question-why don't you have a phone number on the "be right back" sign. She said the owner doesn't allow it? After we got that squared away she lightened up a bit. We basically used the place to keep our stuff for our stay there...the beds were hard but that was expected. Maid service was very good, it's just small, but we were happy to get $99/night. Rent bicycles as it's about a mile I believe to all the action on Duval. Just don't expect much from this motel. Oh, we were told on the phone that they had an ice maker, they do not have an ice maker we had to go buy our own ice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaklyn, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here twice this summer. The rooms are simple, definitely no frills. Definitely not a place for those who like to be in their room the whole time. However, for those who like to go out and do things all day and just come back to a clean air conditioned room, this is perfect. Beds are a little rough as stated in other reviews but as long as you're staying less than a week, it's not so bad.Great location, one block from Duval street. Very affordable for the area.
Just to note, I would never look at this place and think to stay there, but dont be fooled by the exterior!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

When my husband and I decide on a spur of the moment weekend trip to Key West we have found that the Southwind Motel fits the bill. It is economical, and within walking distance to all of the Old Town attractions. Each time we have stayed there the rooms have always been clean and tidy, and the staff is always friendly. We stayed this past weekend and were pleasantly surprised to find that the rooms have started to be renovated and updated. Our room (#11) was quite comfortable and clean. Basic amenities provided, plus a refrigerator in room is especially handy. If you are looking for a plush resort stay, this isn't your place. But if you are in town to play for a few days and want to stay in a quiet, comfortable bare bones motel in heart of all of the activity that Key West has to provide, I suggest you give the Southwind a chance. The room was especially handy for the Hemingway 5K that we ran during our stay. The race started at the Southernmost Hotel across the street, and whose rooms ranged from $272-500+ per night that weekend. I'll take a $99 room any time!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if any are available. They are quite an improvement from the previous rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location, very close to the southern most point, and about a 20 minute walk to the bars on Duval.
Small rooms, VERY uncomfortable beds and pillows. Didn't get very good sleep.
The rooms were an awkward layout, it seems like it was a larger room at some point and they put a wall up to make it into 2 rooms.
The pool was probably the best part about the stay.
This hotel is ideal if you're just looking for a place to put your stuff and spend very little time in the room.
The staff was rather unfriendly, and be sure to bring your own shampoo and body wash, the hotel didnt even provide bars of soap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southwind Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwind Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwind Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southwind Motel to your Saves list