We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southwind Motel

Southwind Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southwind Motel
Save Saved
You added Southwind Motel to your Saves list
1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Oaklyn, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here twice this summer. The rooms are simple, definitely no frills. Definitely not a place for those who like to be in their room the whole time. However, for those who like to go out and do things all day and just come back to a clean air conditioned room, this is perfect. Beds are a little rough as stated in other reviews but as long as you're staying less than a week, it's not so bad.Great location, one block from Duval street. Very affordable for the area.
Just to note, I would never look at this place and think to stay there, but dont be fooled by the exterior!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
15
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

When my husband and I decide on a spur of the moment weekend trip to Key West we have found that the Southwind Motel fits the bill. It is economical, and within walking distance to all of the Old Town attractions. Each time we have stayed there the rooms have always been clean and tidy, and the staff is always friendly. We stayed this past weekend and were pleasantly surprised to find that the rooms have started to be renovated and updated. Our room (#11) was quite comfortable and clean. Basic amenities provided, plus a refrigerator in room is especially handy. If you are looking for a plush resort stay, this isn't your place. But if you are in town to play for a few days and want to stay in a quiet, comfortable bare bones motel in heart of all of the activity that Key West has to provide, I suggest you give the Southwind a chance. The room was especially handy for the Hemingway 5K that we ran during our stay. The race started at the Southernmost Hotel across the street, and whose rooms ranged from $272-500+ per night that weekend. I'll take a $99 room any time!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if any are available. They are quite an improvement from the previous rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location, very close to the southern most point, and about a 20 minute walk to the bars on Duval.
Small rooms, VERY uncomfortable beds and pillows. Didn't get very good sleep.
The rooms were an awkward layout, it seems like it was a larger room at some point and they put a wall up to make it into 2 rooms.
The pool was probably the best part about the stay.
This hotel is ideal if you're just looking for a place to put your stuff and spend very little time in the room.
The staff was rather unfriendly, and be sure to bring your own shampoo and body wash, the hotel didnt even provide bars of soap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I found Southwinds the last time we came down in late January and decided to try for Memorial Day. Even for the holiday weekend, it was reasonably priced compared to the other hotels and motels on the island and the location to Duval Street is hard to beat. It is a bit of a walk to the opposite end of Duval with the bars and nightlife but it's worth the savings. If you're only using the room as a place to sleep and not spend the entire trip then I definitely recommend Southwinds.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were worried about finding a cheap motel in key west particularly as its a memorial day but came across this little gem at 89 dollars per night. Sure, it's old and basic, but it's at the heart of key west near too duval street and Bob the receptionist was lovely and helpfully.
Pool was great and was very warm.
If, like us, you,re not too fussy and just use a motel as a base, then this is cheap and ideal.
Only real downside is the A/C unit is loud.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We pre-booked Southwinds because of the difficulty in finding rooms in Key West at the last minute, even out of high season; and we were influenced by price in this expensive town. So we were not surprised to find that the motel presented a well-used appearance: bits of our room verged on the dilapidated. However, everything was clean and working: the lady at reception was chatty and helpful; and the sink & storage unit (which we scarcely used) had obviously been recently installed in our room. (We got this room as an up-grade, because our intended room had been taken for an extra night by the previous occupant.)
The location has many advantages, although it is a fair walk to the "business end" of Duval St. and Mallory Square.
All in all, we were happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Do not stay here...we paid inflated holiday prices only be be attacked by bed bugs and experience the most horrible night of our lives! Our room looked clean and simple and the motel nicely located, little did we know what lurked behind- it literally ruined our trip! Worse yet, the front desk manager (who looked and acted like a drug dealer) didn't want to deal with the situation. Luckily (after some rigamarole) the hotel owner refunded our stay when he saw the evidence...overall this was one of the most disgusting and traumatizing experiences of my life. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southwind Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwind Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwind Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.