We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southwinds Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Southwinds Motel to your Saves list
Southwinds Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Key West
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I found Southwinds the last time we came down in late January and decided to try for Memorial Day. Even for the holiday weekend, it was reasonably priced compared to the other hotels and motels on the island and the location to Duval Street is hard to beat. It is a bit of a walk to the opposite end of Duval with the bars and nightlife but it's worth the savings. If you're only using the room as a place to sleep and not spend the entire trip then I definitely recommend Southwinds.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    87
    51
    19
    17
See reviews for
51
109
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niantic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Plus was that it was we had a big room with kitchenette and vanity area by the bathroom, and plaster walls so it was pretty quiet, but that was about it! Sadly, this place has a neglected feel to it, and could really be charming with some updating. The tile floors in both the main room and the bathroom badly needed replacing, the decor was a mismatch of things (from their other two inns?) with a curtain on one window and only rods on the other three! The mattressses need replacing, the headboards are not even attached to the wall, and the sheets were shabby and worn--no other way to describe them. I have never stayed in a place that has no one at the desk after 5:00 P.M. We had trouble getting into the lock box and someone else that same night had their air conditioning go out. There were numbers to call but we had to call several times. And the continental breakfast was nothing special--I wouldn't bother, not with all the great places like "The Banana" a short walk away on Duvall Street...

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were worried about finding a cheap motel in key west particularly as its a memorial day but came across this little gem at 89 dollars per night. Sure, it's old and basic, but it's at the heart of key west near too duval street and Bob the receptionist was lovely and helpfully.
Pool was great and was very warm.
If, like us, you,re not too fussy and just use a motel as a base, then this is cheap and ideal.
Only real downside is the A/C unit is loud.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We pre-booked Southwinds because of the difficulty in finding rooms in Key West at the last minute, even out of high season; and we were influenced by price in this expensive town. So we were not surprised to find that the motel presented a well-used appearance: bits of our room verged on the dilapidated. However, everything was clean and working: the lady at reception was chatty and helpful; and the sink & storage unit (which we scarcely used) had obviously been recently installed in our room. (We got this room as an up-grade, because our intended room had been taken for an extra night by the previous occupant.)
The location has many advantages, although it is a fair walk to the "business end" of Duval St. and Mallory Square.
All in all, we were happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room at the last minute for the Key West Songwriters Festival. When we arrived, we were immediately disappointed in the room. Paying over $200 per night, we were at least expecting Holiday Inn quality. We were sadly mistaken. The floor tiles were dirty and stained. The walls were cracking and the paint peeling in numerous spots. The shower was moldy. The roon appeared to not have been updated since 1995. Overall, the room was habitable but definitely not somewhere we looked forward to returning to at the end of the day. I can see the hotel has potential- the location is decent and the basics are there. It just needs a serious renovation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a small room in the back. Parking is a big plus but the spots are tight. It's a hike to Mallory Square if you decide to walk, maybe a mile.....rickshaws available all over the place. Room was very clean but not much room to put your luggage. Lucky my bag is softsided and was able to fit under the bed. Towels and bedding were very nice. TV was good for checking the news and local stuff on the key channel with info on stuff to do and places to eat. Pool was very tiny and was nice for a dip after a day in the ocean to get the salt off. Breakfast is served across the street at their sister B&B.....terrable layout since they put 2 tables to form a 90* angle and bunch everyone up in the corner. Toaster wasn't working properly, pastries were brought out on a small plate and gone in seconds. I suppose it was OK...but room for improvement. I didn't stay at the OBI for the coffee and the place was fine. I'll stay there next time I go without thought.

Room Tip: Avoid the coffee/restaurant place a block down....overpriced bad coffee. Walk down Duval street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Overall good place relative to key west prices! Large room, quiet, kitchen, etc. Close to everything and opposite end of Mallory Square, a plus. Pool is nominal but the pool area pleasant to hang for a couple of hours. The continental breakfast was not worth walking across the street to check out. Key system on arrival works well. That idea should be copied. Would stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southwinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwinds Motel

Address: 1321 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Southwinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean affordable motel rooms only 1 block from Duval Street at the Southernmost point of the Island of Key West. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Southwinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwind Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwinds Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.