We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Southernmost Hotel to your Saves list
Southernmost Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised by just how nice this hotel is, although I had read many good reviews. Our room was clean, bright, and big and overlooked the pool, but was very quiet. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony reading. The front desk staff is terrific. The group checking in ahead of us were loud and demanding but the staff kept their poise and were polite and as accommodating as possible. It's well worth the extra amount for a pool view room and you shouldn't expect an upgraded room if you are only willing to pay the standard price, which was the issue with this group. We will absolutely stay at the Southernmost Hotel on our next trip to Key West.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    463
    96
    50
    41
See reviews for
336
832
32
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Outer Banks NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

Stayed here 10 years ago and loved the location. Rented late so we had to take what was available, a pool view room. Turned out to be huge with a large queen size bed, large flat screen HD TV and huge bath with double shower. We were very pleased.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The tiki bar staff offered great suggestions on meals and activities along with cool refreshment. The pool (both pools) were clean and busy.
You can't beat the location on the eastern end of Duval St. Near some great restaurants, galleries and sites. A quick walk or ride puts you in the middle of the Mallory Sq./Duval St. bar scene.
WIll go back again and again.

Tip: plan to rent a bike or scooter to get around Key West. It is compact and you won't need a car unless you plan a trip up the keys. Parking is limited but everyplace as a rack for bikes. You will arrive more quickly, with less parking hassle on 2 wheels. Rent from the hotel or one of the many vendors in the area.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

Have stayed here about 8 times before and was pleasantly surprised at all the remodeling and upgrading which had been done. We were in a deluxe room which had new tile floors, huge bathrooms with granite counter, large armoire for clothing, fridge, Micro, new duvet covers on the beds and Very clean! Highly recommend the hotel and the Tiki bar is great + they have 2 pools and the beach is across the street. It is about 1 mile from the "party"end of Duval but we liked the walk and feel that the hotel is in the "nicer" section of town during the day.

  • Liked — Brand new upgraded rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

Good location, nice clean rooms, practical parking, I really have nothing negative to say about the Southernmost Hotel. But having visited Key West on many occasions, I find that it lacks charm, personnality, and most of all local flair. The real Key West experience is staying in one of its many typical B&Bs, which range from standard and budget to luxurious and expensive.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, MI
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2007

We stayed at the Souternmost Hotel a couple of days in Jan 2007. The rooms and experience did exceed our hopes. Rooms -clean, quiet, ours was recently remodeled with a large bathroom and adaquate size bedroom and full tile floor. Beds were comfortable. Pool area more than adaquate with a bar area. Hot tub jets did not work great. This hotel is well run and well cared for by a staff that wants you to be satisfied. My wife and I forgot a bag of laundry when we checked out. The hotel mailed it back to our home. We will be glad to stay at The Southernmost Hotel again someday. PL

  • Liked — Rooms clean and newly remodeled and adaquate size
  • Disliked — Hot tub jets did not work real well
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

Stayed here last year and it was just fine. we had a room with a view of the atlantic. its a regular hotel room but for key west it was perfect. 15 seconds off duval and about a 20 min walk to the major action on the other side of duval. 2 min walk to see a great sunset at the southernmost statue. would stay here again. paid under 200 a night.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

Hotels are just a place to recharge your batteries and sleep....That is how I usually feel about a hotel. We (a group of 8 people) found the Southernmost Hotel an oasis from all the hustle of Duval Street. It literally was one of the best values in lodging that we ever experienced. First of all price... Hey , you are staying at one of America's most unique Cities. Price is not an issue, especially at the Southernmost Hotel. It's actually an excepional value!!! Now as far as comfort, cleanliness, and amenities......you will probably find none better in Key West. The entire staff were friendly ,courtious, and very knowledeable about things to see and do in Key West. I have only one complaint...and it's that they ran out of mint leaves...so I had to drink Mohitos at other establishments, but their Bloody Mary's are what you want to wake up to. We will be staying there again!!!!!
Gary H., Lynn H., Donna H.,David H.,
Kim S., Bob S., Lynn K., Sam K.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Hotel

Address: 1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southernmost Hotel in the USA located on the world famous Duval Street and steps from the beach. 118 Guest Rooms, the Pineapple Pool and Bar, an adult only tranquility pool, poolside conference room, fitness center, spa services, and concierge. A member of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. Additional resort amenities include access to junior size olympic pool at Southernmost on the Beach, private tanninig pier, tanning beach and on-site activities. Come experience true luxury on Duval Street at the all new modern Southernmost Hotel. Stay in one of our freshly remodeled rooms that reflect the touch of Caribbean elegance you have been longing for. Bask in the sunshine at either of two newly refashioned pool areas. And, still be pampered with the amenities Southernmost Hotel has made its standard. The Southernmost Hotel – where stylish sophistication meets simple satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southernmost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Hotel Key West Florida
Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.