We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Go Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost Hotel to your Saves list
Southernmost Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

We stayed at the Southern Most Hotel over Christmas break last year. It was amazing! Our room was comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly. The pool and hot tubs were great (although it was rather chilly that week...bummer!). We were right across the street from the beach and the location right on Duval Street is key. We could walk (or moped!) anywhere from our hotel. We will definitely stay here again when we go back to Key West.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    425
    84
    44
    36
See reviews for
304
769
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

We had booked this hotel through our travel agency in Europe. It is located on the southern end of Duval street, the main touristic street in Key West, close to the Southernmost Point. There are 2 or 3 other hotels on the other side of the street (not Duval) that are Southernmost Hotels as well and guests might use all facitilities at all those places.

Approaching the Southernmost Hotel it gives a pleasant outside in light coloured wood and with white windowframes, doors and many rooms have tiny balconies, a very southern stylish building. There are outside corridors and a lot of free parking for guests around the hotel.The lobby is a small place and if you pass through you enter the pool area. Besides the lobby is the concierge desk where you can get pool towels and book some snorkeling or diving adventures and get some information about Key West.
All staff we were in contact with was extremely friendly and helpful, I have never encountered that anywhere before. We felt at home immediately and knew they would help us whatever we need. Front desk staff did explain us all about the Southernmost hotels and Key Wests attractions without us having asked for it. We got several maps. And we were allowed to check in shortly after 12 noon. Though we only had asked for permission to leave the car, the room had been ready waiting for us at this time. They have plenty of parking and the parking lots are surrounded by neatly gardened plants and trees. You will have to place a parking permit in your window.
Southernmost hotel itself has a few buildings with 2 floors, surrounding 2 pools and a Tiki bar. Southernmost Beach hotel on the other side of the street has another pool and a pier as well as a sandy beach and restaurant.
Our room was on 2nd floor, to be reached by stairs (no elevators). It was spacious for the two of us and we had a king bed. The room is nicely decorated with a wooden closet that does not fit in its brown colour to the rest of the furniture. The rest was more southern style furniture that looked like bamboo, in white and beige, as well as the closet and drawers were where the TV was hidden in. We got a fridge and in-room safe. The place looked very clean except the green colored carpet seemed to be old and worn and had stains.
We had several lamps in room that gave bright light in the evening. Aircondition was not very noisy and cooled the room perfectly.
We had a table and chairs, unfortunately with plastic seat covers. Looked and felt cheap.

The bathroom was on the very tiny side, but all tiled. The sink was tiny too and had no counter so it was a bit of a problem to put all our toiletries there. Water pressure was good but they need to buy those modern shower heads. There were enough towels provided and very nice toiletries in decorative small bottles. Bathroom has a real window, and lamps brightended the room well in the night.

The big problem for us was the bed, is was very uncomfortable, much to soft and probably old and uneven. We did not sleep much and did not sleep well. This beds will prevent me from staying here again unless they put new ones in. Whenever my hubby moved I felt like in a water bed swinging around.
The second problem for me was that the walls are very thin. Some of our neighbours watched TV until the early morning and then got up before 6 and talked and shouted loudely. I had to use my ear plugs. You will get some noise from the surrounding street as well if you have a room facing street (but having a room facing poolside might be noisy as well, as long the pool is open).

The pool in the courtyard was looking nice, there is a jacuzzi as well. Some of the pool chairs are looking really nice like big fish, are made from wood and are extremely uncomfortable. Most of the deckchairs are plastic ones. No covers, you have to sit on the towels. There is a lot of umbrellas for shade and the huge Tiki bar is right beside the main pool, you can have all kind of drinks there.

There is no complimentary breakfast included in our room. But it is only 3 minutes walking distance to the next cafe where you can have breakfast. The wireless internet connection was too weak to work. Sometimes the laptop found connection but did loose it very quickly again. We could not use internet.

Coffeemaker was missing a pot. There is ironing equpiment in the room as well as a hair dryer.

It is about a mile to walk to Mallory Square on the other end of Duval street, which is a pleasant walk along the historic district with plenty of shops, restaurants and small hotels. You can even use the trolley or conch train or hop on a bicycle carriage. You can even rent your own bike or moped at the hotel, if you want. There is no good parking opportunity in the historic district, some metered parking on Duval, some expensive parking lots on the border of the historic district. Better leave your car at the hotel and walk.

  • Liked — convinient location in Key West, architecture, overall nice furniture
  • Disliked — plastic seats on chairs, uncomfortable pool chairs
  • Tips/Secrets — get a room with balcony overlooking the pool
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

My girlfriend and I, along with another couple , stayed here the last week of August '06. It was our 3rd time in the Keys and I would have to say, I would definately stay here again!!

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The pool and tiki bar were the highlight of the hotel. The drinks are very well priced and very stiff as well.

The rooms are small but very clean and the a/c worked great.

The hotel offers scooter rentals as well as day tour packages. I wouldn't recomend renting a scooter from the hotel considering Tropical Scooter Rental is directly accross the street and is much cheaper.

I recomend booking this Hotel through a travel agent. Why? Our vacation was cut a few days short because of Hurricane Ernesto and if it wasn't for our travel agent we would have been in serious trouble. It seems no one at the hotel could help us figure out what to do when we got evacuated. I guess Jimmy Buffett was right, you should "never reason with hurricane season."

  • Liked — The pool area and Tiki bar
  • Disliked — the front entrance was roped off due to roofing constuction
  • Tips/Secrets — Book with a travel agent and book tours & trasportation through venders along Duval Street
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

While working on some Key West wedding plans, we stayed at this hotel with my sister and her husband. While two couples in one room wasn't ideal, we were on a budget and the Southernmost worked out great. The beds are tall and fluffy and the room size is very nice, even for four adults! The only thing I wished they would have had was wireless internet. But then again, while in Key West you should be vacationing, not playing or working on the internet.
We have been to Key West three times this year making wedding plans and this was by far, our favorite hotel. The rooms are nice and the rates are very reasonable in Key West pricing. We even booked a room block here for our wedding guests.

  • Liked — The rooms & the staff
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

We stayed for three nights in October, 2006, for a relaxing Key West long weekend, our first time at the Conch Republic :-)

The rooms were fine - clean, nicely decorated, no real complaint about the rooms other than the bathroom needs a little TLC (caulking around the shower and tub, cracks in the porcelain, etc.)

You have access to the beach at the Southernmost At The Beach, and all of the pools on both properties. It's located on Duval street, a block from the famous Southernmost Point and a mile from Mallory Square, which is a nice walk we did about a dozen times in three days.

The front desk is open 24 hours, and they have a nice travel department inside that can book anything you want to do in town.

We'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, nice decor, location, pools, and location!
  • Disliked — No internet, bathroom could use a little TLC
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay on second floor if you have trouble moving luggage on stairs :)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

Travelled to Key West for a couple of nights on a fly drive holiday. Long journey through the Keys but worth every minute for the fantastic views. Hotel very clean and well maintained and in an excellent Duval Street location. Visited during bike week so lots of interesting Harley riders!! Nightlife quite colorful and lots of excellent shops, bars and places to eat within easy walking distance. Staff helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

The Southernmost Hotel ,Le Mer and Dewey house are absolutely wonderful! The grounds are lush and tropical, pools are spotless and the rooms airy and immaculate. Because it is located at the end of Duval Street there is no need to take your car anywhere. Of the 7 times we have visited
Key West 5 have been at the Southernmost Properties.

I would not consider another place........

Hats off to all at the Southernmost!! You made our stay delightful.!!!!


b and t,massachusetts

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Hotel

Address: 1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southernmost Hotel in the USA located on the world famous Duval Street and steps from the beach. 118 Guest Rooms, the Pineapple Pool and Bar, an adult only tranquility pool, poolside conference room, fitness center, spa services, and concierge. A member of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. Additional resort amenities include access to junior size olympic pool at Southernmost on the Beach, private tanninig pier, tanning beach and on-site activities. Come experience true luxury on Duval Street at the all new modern Southernmost Hotel. Stay in one of our freshly remodeled rooms that reflect the touch of Caribbean elegance you have been longing for. Bask in the sunshine at either of two newly refashioned pool areas. And, still be pampered with the amenities Southernmost Hotel has made its standard. The Southernmost Hotel – where stylish sophistication meets simple satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Hotel Key West Florida
Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.