We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quieter end of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Save Saved
You added Southernmost Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 41 hotels in Key West
Nottingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quieter end of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

When we arrived we asked to see the rooms available and all rooms where nicely furnished but the first room was very small and dark but would be ok if you wanted to keep the budget down and not spend much time in your room. We had a larger room and it was very nice with a balcony and bright and colourful. The staff was very friendly and the concierge helped us with restaurants which where very good. The pool was not heated but you could use the facilites at this hotel and the one on the beach which also had loungers on the beach to use but you would have to pay extra for an umbrella. We really liked this side of Key West as everywhere was in walking distance and there was a lovely deli up the road and it was free parking and nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    891
    380
    79
    41
    33
See reviews for
287
707
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at Southernmost Hotel during Fantasy Fest week. It was a great stay and our 1st stay at Southernmost Hotel. We usually stay at Southernmost On The Beach, but couldn't because we could not get reservations for our enitre stay. But we could with Southernmost Hotel. We were very happy with our decision to try Southernmost Hotel, the accomodations were outstanding as well as the staff. Everyone was pleasant and very nice. We couldn't be happier, we would definately stay here again. For the price it was well worth it. Plus you still have use of the Southernmost On The Beach facilities as well. Our bartenders were outstanding and always were on point when we asked for anything. Special kudos go out to Kevin, Rich and Heather were the best!!! As always we will definatley return next year. I highly recommend anyone stay without worry.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed 6 nights. We had a king size room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room was clean and large enough to meet our needs. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom seemed to be recently remodeled. The staff, especially Cindy, was very friendly and accommodating. The concierge in the lobby was helpful in booking a reef cruise and a reservation at Michaels Restaurant.
We used the pool at the Southernmost and the beach at Southernmost on the Beach.
The pool at the Southernmost is a very clean area with towels available in the office area, lounge chairs, Fish Chairs (Like Adirondack Chairs) and umbrellas available gratis and a Tiki Bar.
We also took a very short walk from our room across to street to the beach.. Lounge chairs are a courtesy and umbrellas are $10. The beach attendant brought iced towels, freeze pops and frozen fruit gratis, a nice touch. The Beach Cafe is convenient for drinks, snacks, etc.
Our flight out was late in the afternoon and we were given an extended checkout time.
We had two incidences where housekeeping did not leave facecloths and they were promptly delivered.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Service was excellent. A light bulb was burnt out when we first got to our room. I called the service desk and it was replaced right away. The room was spacious and comfortable. We loved the balcony over the pool. It is so close to the beach that you can walk to it in less than five minutes. We really liked having a safe in the room. The thing I liked least was the long walk to Mallory Square. This hotel is worth the walk, though. We are planning to stay there again next year!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

The hotel was great. Very clean, on the quiet end of Duval St but close enough to walk anywhere you want to go. Price is right. The pool was awesome. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Perfect location away from the noise of Duval. A great combo of off beach on beach sites , with a beach and resturant included. Perfect for what I needed. Had such a great time booked forthis New Years also.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Free parking is at a premium in Key West hence why I looked at this hotel! It was a ten+ minute walk to the busier end of Duval Street from the hotel but at least I didn't have to contend with the expensive parking in the city. My last memories of Key West were pouring fistfuls of dollars into parking meters! I felt safe wlaking back to the hotel alone in the evening.
The hotel was very comfortable. My room overlooked the car park however I only stayed one night so that wasn't important. I swam in the pool after returning from watching the sunset at Mallory Square which was fabulous as it was soooo humid. The pools (4 are on the complex) are open until late in the evening. It was a lovely place to stay - if slightly expensive (but a lot of things ae in Key West).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Hotel

Address: 1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southernmost Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southernmost Hotel in the USA located on the world famous Duval Street and steps from the beach. 118 Guest Rooms, the Pineapple Pool and Bar, an adult only tranquility pool, poolside conference room, fitness center, spa services, and concierge. A member of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. Additional resort amenities include access to junior size olympic pool at Southernmost on the Beach, private tanninig pier, tanning beach and on-site activities. Come experience true luxury on Duval Street at the all new modern Southernmost Hotel. Stay in one of our freshly remodeled rooms that reflect the touch of Caribbean elegance you have been longing for. Bask in the sunshine at either of two newly refashioned pool areas. And, still be pampered with the amenities Southernmost Hotel has made its standard. The Southernmost Hotel – where stylish sophistication meets simple satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter and Otel so you can book your Southernmost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Hotel Key West Florida
Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.