We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost Hotel to your Saves list
Southernmost Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Malaga
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value and location in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my family and had a fantastic time in key west. The room had 2 queen beds, a reasonably sized bathroom, more than suitable for my wife, 2 children and me for 5 nights. The hotel is literally on south beach, which has a restaurant, bar cafe on the beach which serves fantastic, well priced food and drink( as a hotel guest you receive a voucher for a free drink or shrimp starter). The beach is small but very safe and the hotel provides free loungers and towels to guests (the umbrellas cost $10 per day).
Highly recommended if you are planning a stay in Key West ( the hotel is at the opposite end of Duval st, away from the noisier end close to Mallory square, but still within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m so glad you and your family had a fantastic time with us while in Key West. We are fortunate to be located on the quieter end of Duval Street, a fact our guests really seem to value. Our award winning Southernmost Beach Café is just steps from any room on our property and offers a beautiful ocean front dining experience. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family the next time your travels bring you to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    425
    84
    44
    36
See reviews for
304
769
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently traveled to Key West for the first time for my girlfriends Bachelorette party and I am so happy we decided to stay at the Southernmost Hotel. Everything about the Southernmost Hotel is fabulous; the spacious/comfortable rooms, all the pools/pool bars, the live entertainment, the hotel activities (beer/wine school, wall-hooky, water aerobics), but it’s the Hotel staff that makes it such a special place to stay. Everyone was beyond friendly and was always offering to help us plan our daily and evening activities. On various occasions the hotel happily arranged reservations for shows, boat trips, dinners, and shuttle services for our large party which was so helpful considering it was the groups first trip to Key West. By far my first trip to Key West is one of my most memorable experiences and I will always stay with my friends at the Southernmost Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so glad you ladies had such a fabulous time with us for your bachelorette party. We love to celebrate our guests special occasions and I’m glad our staff made you feel special while assisting you in your adventures. Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service to every guest and it’s always so rewarding to hear when we succeed. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to having you and your friends back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just got back from our vacation to Key West. We stayed three nights at the Southernmost Hotel and we had a great time. We were extremely happy with the location of the hotel and it was very easy to use all the amenities at the Southernmost Hotel on the beach. Walking down Duval street was fun and it was not a bad walk each day. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Southernmost Hotel. As part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection all of our guests are encouraged to use the entire facility which includes the Southernmost on the Beach and our award winning Southernmost Beach Café. Our convenient location to Duval Street provides easy access to all of the fun activities downtown Key West has to offer while being far enough removed to be a peaceful and relaxing slice of paradise. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Southernmost Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, OH
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Going to go five stars like about everyone else here. Stayed in the junior penthouse suite, overlooking tranquility pool. Private entrance to these three suites, private balcony, kitchenette (which we did not know about ahead of time, so was a nice surprise), spacious, clean, updated.

While the desk staff seemed a bit indifferent (on arrival and departure, they seemed like they were 'putting out fires,'), everyone else was friendly and helpful. We are very low maintenance, so they were not too overbearing.

The beach cafe has above average food, and it's nice to grab a quick beverage from there while beaching it. The beach is smallish, but it's sand, it's the tropics, and even on the Fourth of July it was not overly crowded. We enjoyed the easy interaction and helpfulness of the beach personnel both days.

This is at the quiet end of Duval, but only a ten minute (interesting) walk from the heavy action on Lower Duval. So we alternated nights at the quieter wine establishments near this hotel with soliciting the Key West old favorites further uproar, like Willie T's, Caroline's, and Captain Tonys.

Tips:
*If you get this type of room, there is a corner grocery store on Simonton and South--right around the corner, which can fulfill lunch needs without breaking your budget ( though the grocery price is inflated )
*Concierge seemed helpful, but we found better scooter and jet ski prices independently
*Banana Cafe, a half block up Duval, is a nice restaurant
*Separate review for the best restaurant in Key West (IMO): Blue Heaven.

I know the hotels read these reviews. You did an excellent job!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our property. I am so glad you had such a wonderful time with us and enjoyed our recently renovated junior penthouse suite. The location overlooking our Tranquility Pool is beautiful and the distant ocean view offered from the balcony is stunning. Thank you also for letting us know that we did an excellent job for you while you were with us. Exceptional customer service is what we strive to provide every guest every day and I am glad we were able to do this for you. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Overall a very nice resort with all the comforts that you would expect at a vacation location /resort.
The service overall was very pleasant and the facilities well maintained. The location is the best and very convenient to everything. The room was ample and recently redone and offered all the amenities one would expect. WIFI was included and worked well.

The only dissonant detail would be the restaurant. I had dinner there on the day of arrival and the food was only so so and the glass for my beverage was dirty and should have never left the bar.
This detracted me from ever going back and made me choose a breakfast location within walking distance.
A nice respite after days on the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms and complimentary wi-fi. In addition to free wi-fi our resort also offers complimentary parking, beach towels, lounge chairs, the use of 3 pools, 3 bars, a fitness center and 2 business centers. I’m sorry to read that your experience at our award winning Southernmost Beach Café was less than perfect and I will be sure to share your comments with our Café management team. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to making your next stay with us exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our first visit to Key West. I read the reviews for the Southernmost Hotel and that was my deciding factor. We have had the best time and we actually are staying an extra night. We will tell our friends in Tampaand plan on making this a favorite destination. Thank you to the staff including Tanner at the front desk for a wonderful time. :-)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m so glad that the reviews of our property helped you decide to stay with us and that you enjoyed it so much you extended your stay. Key West offers many fine lodging choices and we are honored you chose our resort for your first visit. Tanner will be pleased to know he helped make your stay wonderful; he is certainly an asset to our team. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to making your next visit to our resort even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. I purchased two beers and tried to give the bartender a $10 tip and he said, "Ma'am that's too much. I could never take that much for serving two beers." Your I gave him a $5 bill and said "There - I need these 1's.". He laughed and thanked me graciously. My room was very clean and perfectly renovated. Parking was NO problem. I would recommend this place to my mom.

Room Tip: Rooms near Tranquility pool are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. It is certainly high praise that you would recommend our resort to your mother. I hope a future visit finds you and your mother both relaxing pool side enjoying an icy cold beverage together. While I am not surprised, I am so pleased to read about the exceptional customer service our bartender provided. In my opinion our resort employs some of the best people to be found anywhere and they truly make the difference between a nice vacation and an unforgettable one. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you and your mother the next time you visit Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Hotel

Address: 1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#4 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southernmost Hotel in the USA located on the world famous Duval Street and steps from the beach. 118 Guest Rooms, the Pineapple Pool and Bar, an adult only tranquility pool, poolside conference room, fitness center, spa services, and concierge. A member of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. Additional resort amenities include access to junior size olympic pool at Southernmost on the Beach, private tanninig pier, tanning beach and on-site activities. Come experience true luxury on Duval Street at the all new modern Southernmost Hotel. Stay in one of our freshly remodeled rooms that reflect the touch of Caribbean elegance you have been longing for. Bask in the sunshine at either of two newly refashioned pool areas. And, still be pampered with the amenities Southernmost Hotel has made its standard. The Southernmost Hotel – where stylish sophistication meets simple satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Hotel Key West Florida
Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.