We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, pleasant staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Save Saved
You added Southernmost Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 41 hotels in Key West
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, pleasant staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Southermost Hotel is a nice hotel with pleasant staff. The hotel is within walking distance of all the attractions of Key West. There are some nice restaurant and bars in the hotel nearby. And the Ernest hemingway home is nearby. Key West has beautiful streets with beautiful stately old houses. You can spend walking the beautiful streets a few hours. Key West is worth to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    896
    385
    76
    40
    34
See reviews for
272
692
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is at the end of Duval street, which is much more peaceful than the rest of Duval. I love the party atmosphere of Duval, but at the end of the night I really enjoyed the relaxing, quieter location of the hotel. It is a very short walk to the Southernmost point of the US. I loved that it is right across the street from Southernmost on the Beach, and I could use all the amenities of that hotel as well, without having to pay the price of a room there. I ate at the Southernmost Cafe, and the staff and food were good. We were easily able to walk down Duval Street and hit all the hot spots. We rented scooters and explored the entire island. The rooms are clean and good size. The staff were really friendly. There are 2 pools(1 adult pool and 1 family pool) which were nice. The only issue I had is that it rained one of the nights pretty hard, and water had come in through the bathroom ceiling vent. We had called the front desk, and unfortunately there isn't much that can be done at 1:30 am so we just used some towels to wipe up the water. It didn't last long. To our surprise the next morning at check out- the manager had generously adjusted our bill for the inconvenience. So if you are looking for a great hotel that is close to all the action, but yet you can go back to your hotel and have a relaxing night, with friendly staff that take care of the guests, and without paying for the cost of the sister hotel right on the beach but still enjoy the same amenities- then I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. First let me apologize for the unfortunate experience you had in your room. I am very relieved you mentioned something to our staff and that action was taken at the first possible time to fix the issue. I am also pleased to see that management took it upon themselves to rectify the situation immediately with the adjustment to your final bill. Exceptional customer service is the goal we strive for every day for every guest. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our property and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West and the Southernmost Hotel Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Only booked it for one night...and that's the only regrettable thing about our experience. Next time we'll spend the week.

Close to town to walk, but not too close. Beach and 3 pools to choose from. Great staff...from the front desk, the pool kid, the bartenders...everyone make us feel really good and you felt they really appreciated that you chose to stay there.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A truly beautiful hotel. We have just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel, and despite all of the attractions we did with our girls (11 and 7) in Orlando, Key West was their favourite place, and this is all due to this hotel. Our hotel was recently renovated to a very tasteful, high standard. Lovely comfy beds, pillows, and fluffy white towels, HD TV, very high standard of cleaning, with fabulous bathroom toiletries. We used most of the facilities in the Southermost collection whilst there. Pools at both hotels are great for kids and adults, the beach is fabulous, white sands, warm shallow water which was safe for the girls. The beach staff are so friendly, particularly Fletcher, who provide beds for your use (small charge for shades), come around with cool towels, frozen smoothies. Fletcher even took time to teach us how to paddle board. Despite all of the amazing restaurants in Key West, we seemed to end up eating both breakfast and taking a late lunch every day at the beach cafe, which is also part of the Southermost collection. The beach cafe is lovely and relaxing, looking over the ocean, fabulous fresh food, quick and attentive service - particularly Rob. The hotel has great location, for the beach and being at the quiet end of Duval Street makes for a nice walk at night to the crazy Key West nightlife. Great staff all round, from reception area, cleaning, bar, beach and cafe. Very talented musicians play by the pool each day. Was so disappointed to have to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Va
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night - as we were leaving for the Dry Tortugas the following day. The room was nice and cool. Everything abt the room was nice! We were situated on the first floor near the adult only pool. I would definetely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Southern Most Hotel for 3 days with my mom. We had a room w/ 2 Queen beds. It's a great location and the staff was very helpful & friendly. Everyone at the front desk, the house keepers, and Chad were so sweet. The rooms are well kept and clean. Our room seemed as though it was recently renovated.

The only downside is that our room in particular was really dark inside and the lighting was not good. It was ok because we were rarely in the room. If you stay here, I would suggest to ask for a room that has a lot of natural lighting, or at least w/ good lighting inside. In the end, it probably don't matter that much since you probably will be outdoors most of the time. It's just a minor suggestion.

Other than that, you can't beat the location. It's really just so convient to everything. We really enjoyed the Banana Cafe on the beach. It takes 2 min to walk there and the view is really great! The staff there are all very welcoming and just happy to take care of all their guests. We were there for either lunch or brunch every day. I would also suggest going to Louie's Backyard for dinner.
(http://www.louiesbackyard.com/pages/bar.cfm) You need reservations for the main room, otherwise you can eat upstairs which is nice bc it has a great view.

I would recommend the Southern Most Hotel, and I hope to go back next year! I will def stay there again :)

Room Tip: I would recommend a well-lit room. Or a room w/ lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

spent 4 days at this facility. The hotel is large and includes beach access two pools and an additional adults quiet pool. Beach Bar good food. close to Duval Street can walk to many shops and restaurants...Suggest the old town trolly to tour the city. hop on nad off makes it the best way to learn about history and fun parts of Key West.

Room Tip: best price overlooks street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southernmost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Hotel

Address: 1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southernmost Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southernmost Hotel in the USA located on the world famous Duval Street and steps from the beach. 118 Guest Rooms, the Pineapple Pool and Bar, an adult only tranquility pool, poolside conference room, fitness center, spa services, and concierge. A member of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. Additional resort amenities include access to junior size olympic pool at Southernmost on the Beach, private tanninig pier, tanning beach and on-site activities. Come experience true luxury on Duval Street at the all new modern Southernmost Hotel. Stay in one of our freshly remodeled rooms that reflect the touch of Caribbean elegance you have been longing for. Bask in the sunshine at either of two newly refashioned pool areas. And, still be pampered with the amenities Southernmost Hotel has made its standard. The Southernmost Hotel – where stylish sophistication meets simple satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Southernmost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Hotel Key West Florida
Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.