We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Save Saved
You added Southernmost Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #8 of 41 hotels in Key West
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After spending our daytimes along crazy, crowded north Duval St. and Mallory Square, we were delighted to walk back at the end of the day to our hotel on the southernmost point of the US. South Duval offers quaint neighborhood coffee shops, quiet sunrises and a less crowded beach. We had an "economy room" but access to the beautiful pool area and bar and the beach. Our favorite breakfast spot was the cabana ON the beach, offering full breakfasts with an unbelievable view of the gulf. For those who don't like the walk up to north Duval, there is a tram that stops nearby, and scooters and bikes are available for rent across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    874
    374
    76
    41
    32
See reviews for
278
700
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked through Expedia so was expecting a poor room. Although the room was small it was fine for a one night stay and it had the best air con as it was 80+ outside, wish we had brought our trunks as the pool looked great . The hotel is compact but all looked clean new and well cared for. Much quieter than the other end of Duval St which we appreciated. Would stay here again if back at Key West.

John Cavanagh 2013. 8/10

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was the start of our 3 weeks USA holiday, and we decided to stay 2 nights at the Southernmost hotel and 2 nights at the Southernmost on the Beach hotel, as Southernmost on the Beach was fully booked for the first 2 nights.
I was expecting disappointment staying in the little sister hotel, but frankly, the rooms were better than the big sister on the Beach. Although there was no view, the rooms were brand new; we had a huge bedroom and shower room, very clean, very comfortable and very quiet.
We loved it! One tip if you want to save a little bit of money, hire bikes from across the road, they are much cheaper than hiring from the hotel.
Key West is just wonderful, great restaurants, beautiful sunsets, but only do Mallory Square once, it's a very touristy thing to do, instead, go to the roof top bar of the Plaza hotel on Duval St, amazing view from there! or better, get a hamac at the Southernmost on the beach on the lawn, and listen to the live music while sipping a cocktail and watching the stunning sunset, Bliss!!!!
Anyway, coming back to the Southernmost Hotel, if you're not fussed about a view, I would definitely book this hotel rather than the much more expensive big sister on the beach, the rooms are much bigger and nicer! Plus it's only across the small road, less than a minute away.
We had a Deluxe King.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is magnificent. The rooms are perfectly clean and of a high standard.
The pool area is well maintained and had plenty of space.
I would recommend sitting on the deck watching the sunset. It is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen.
However what lets this hotel down its the " I don't care wether you like it or not" attitude of the property manager Todd [--].
We loved the hotel so much we wanted to stay another night. We were given a price and asked to move rooms. We repacked and returned to the lobby only to be told that the receptionist had made a mistake and only quoted the upgrade rate not the actual room rate. We were upset at this, yet were told by Todd that we were in the wrong and quote "Anyone with common sense would realise the price was incorrect. Take it or leave it".
We left it and spent our second night at somewhere equally as lovely but this time with staff who cared about our stay.
Great hotel. Terrible manager.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. First I would like to apologize for the interaction you describe with one of our property managers. This is certainly not the type of behavior or service any of our staff members are known for providing. I have worked with Mr. Jones for several years and know him to be fair and just. I will speak with him personally on this matter. I would also like to extend my apologies for the confusion you experienced with our front desk staff and the misquoted rate for an additional evening. All matters will be looked into and if I can be of any further service please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Southernmost Hotel in November for 5 days. We had a newly renovated room which was amazing! The bathroom itself was so luxurious I could actually make this place my home! The room was large with a comfortable bed and french doors which opened to a balcony! Big flat screen TV, desk area, every comfort of home. Nice area of town (quiet) but within walking distance to all the fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here one night for a New Years Day wedding. The room was tastefully decorated and spotless. Staff was great, my room was still being cleaned when I arrived, they gave me a larger room so I could get right in. Would have loved to have spent more time enjoying the lovely ammenities, pools, beach etc...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise, the hotel is located at the quiet end of Duval street, just a 15 minute walk to Sloppy Joes. The rooms have recently been updated and are modern, bright and well equipped. We had a room at the front and it was fairly quiet considering, except for the cockerels, you have been warned.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southernmost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Hotel

Address: 1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southernmost Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southernmost Hotel in the USA located on the world famous Duval Street and steps from the beach. 118 Guest Rooms, the Pineapple Pool and Bar, an adult only tranquility pool, poolside conference room, fitness center, spa services, and concierge. A member of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. Additional resort amenities include access to junior size olympic pool at Southernmost on the Beach, private tanninig pier, tanning beach and on-site activities. Come experience true luxury on Duval Street at the all new modern Southernmost Hotel. Stay in one of our freshly remodeled rooms that reflect the touch of Caribbean elegance you have been longing for. Bask in the sunshine at either of two newly refashioned pool areas. And, still be pampered with the amenities Southernmost Hotel has made its standard. The Southernmost Hotel – where stylish sophistication meets simple satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Southernmost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Hotel Key West Florida
Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.