We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost Hotel to your Saves list
Southernmost Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Niantic, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is an excellent value.The rooms and pool area were recently updated.The staff are very friendly and attend to your needs. The hotel is very well maintained.The hotel is located in the most southern part of town which is the opposite side of town of Mallory square,if you don't like to walk this might be an issue.The big plus to being on this side of town is that it is quiet,you may like this once you have had enough of the madness of Duval street.We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    463
    96
    50
    41
See reviews for
336
832
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited the Keys last minute over the Christmas holiday and when we go to Old Town, Key West on Wednesday evening (12/26/12), we couldn't find a room anywhere. Then we found the Southernmost Hotel via tripadvisor and they not only found us a great room for that evening, they upgraded us the next night to a bigger room at the same price. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the room clean and spacious and the pool and amenities were simply fantastic. We will definately stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The pool side was great! If we had planned in advance we would have selected the beach side but sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great stay at this hotel, only down side was we only stayed one night! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, even though we arrived 4 hours before check in staff allowed us to use the pool and gave us access to changing room etc until our room was ready. Room was perfect, well sized, well equipped and the best shower ever seen. Pool area was great, nice setting next to the bar. If we are ever back in Key West this is where we are staying.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Went for my brothers wedding in the end of Nov. Beautifully decorated for the holidays
Amazing friendly staff that after 2 days knew us all by name especially at the beach bar. The cafe has great food it will be our new yearly vacation spot and I know that many people who attended the wedding feel the same. We might get a group together for next year! Can't wait!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Really nice hotel. It was clean and in a good place near the beach and downtown. You could walk everywhere. There were no breakfast, but it was available for 5-12 dollars at the hotel café. Pool area was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Recent updates to the hotel rooms here have totally changed my opinion of this hotel. Our trip here in 2011, the rooms were drab, old and nothing special. Still, for Key West and the limited amount of time I was in the room, I didn't much care.

This time around however, things were markedly improved. A TOTAL change that made our room much, much more than I was expecting. The staff is always great, and the I will have a great time in Key West no matter what, but the updates to the room made it perfect. They aren't huge, and there are no views, but the decor, furniture and amenities are great.

I understand prices are rising accordingly, so we will see if this little gem stays reasonable enough to warrant booking it instead of the larger more luxury venues, but I remain optomistic!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I drove down to Key West after a 7 day cruise. Worst part of the trip was going through Miami, but getting to the Southernmost Hotel definately made the trip worth it. Wife's already looking forward to going back, and we just got home. We were in room 166. While it wasn't on the beach or pool, it was very clean, comfortable, large room. We will definately be returning. Being it's right on the south end of Duval St, walking to all the shops was a breeze, but it's at the end of the street so it's pretty quite.

Room Tip: They are refurbishing a section with a pool that is suposed to be adult only. It's supposed to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Hotel

Address: 1319 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southernmost Hotel in the USA located on the world famous Duval Street and steps from the beach. 118 Guest Rooms, the Pineapple Pool and Bar, an adult only tranquility pool, poolside conference room, fitness center, spa services, and concierge. A member of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. Additional resort amenities include access to junior size olympic pool at Southernmost on the Beach, private tanninig pier, tanning beach and on-site activities. Come experience true luxury on Duval Street at the all new modern Southernmost Hotel. Stay in one of our freshly remodeled rooms that reflect the touch of Caribbean elegance you have been longing for. Bask in the sunshine at either of two newly refashioned pool areas. And, still be pampered with the amenities Southernmost Hotel has made its standard. The Southernmost Hotel – where stylish sophistication meets simple satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Southernmost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Motel
Southernmost Hotel Key West Florida
Southernmost Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.